We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Georgeous Location right on the river walk”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Contessa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Contessa
Ranked #11 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Atchison, Kansas
Level Contributor
83 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Georgeous Location right on the river walk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Traveling to San Antonio for a wedding and wanting to stay right on the river walk. The staff was excellent, and the patio/bar on the river walk was exceptional. Granted, this was my first trip to San Antonio, so I really don't have much to compare with. I would stay again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MotorBikeDude73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,042 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,033
    633
    189
    103
    84
See reviews for
784
1,003
68
668
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (851)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Grand kids had a great time, so did Granny and I. Staff was most helpful and the hotel is very nice. A little street noise in the mornings, but all in all very good. we will book our next stay at the Contessa.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tonymackz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

The Hotel Contessa was the best hotel we stayed at on our vacation to Texas. The staff went out of their way to make sure we a fabulous time. We have never been treated so well by hotel staff. The hotel itself was great. The rooms, location, service, and atmosphere were all great. The hotel and its staff made our visit to San Antonio a wonderful experience. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a view of the river walk that runs directly behind the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
94 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

This is a great hotel with a cool and modern atmosphere! We spent the weekend there walking on the river walk and eating and drinking.

The room was very nice - I really like having a living area and not having to sit on the bed for everything!

The pool was fantastic for a roof top pool, only downside was the amount kids going crazy (no parental supervision). At one stage there was over 30 people in the pool, many more on lounges.

All of the staff were really nice when checking in it was my birthday and under the door in a few hours was a card with some chocolates - big thanks

The location is great great for both conference or holiday

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Crazyfoodlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Angelo
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

This is the first time we have stayed at Hotel Contessa. The rooms were great and the staff was the absolute best I have ever dealt with. Every single person we came in contact with that worked there was very nice and very helpful. The door men and bell hops went out of there way to help us every time we saw them. I would definitely go back again!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RJDupre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dickinson, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

I would hesitate to choose the Hotel Contessa when our family visits San Antonio again! Great location, beautiful hotel with a very attentive staff. We had a few VERY minor issues during our stay (wet tissue box, slow coffeepot, missing breakfast vouchers) and every single concern was immediately addressed by the staff. The rooms are very spacious with a separate living area to relax in or play games. We booked the room/breakfast package and it was very nice to come down to the restaurant each morning and be greeted by friendly staff and enjoy the great food and lovely view.

Any negatives about the room are very minor...there is no microwave and no full length mirror...but there is a big mirror in the public restroom downstairs if you really need to see all the way to the floor.

Parking is limited in San Antonio and it is common to pay to park ....even at the mall! The hotel has its own valet parking for a daily fee and I had not originally intended to use it. However, it was very convenient to park at the hotel and have the car brought to the front when needed. One day we got back to the hotel in the rain and four valets opened all our doors and parked for us...that day I was really glad we used valet parking! Just be aware there is no free parking at the hotel...but that is common in San Antonio. The hotel valets are always ready to give you a water bottle or directions....they even retrieved forgotten hats from the vehicle. Very helpful fellows ...but they all were! ,,,,the bellman, Mando, and the front desk staff too...everyone was very friendly and seemed to genuinely care that we were there! My reservations agent, Jaro, went above and beyond to make everything just right. All in all.....a great trip, a friendly city and a wonderful hotel! I'd stay at the Hotel Contessa again in a heartbeat! A little pricey, but all the riverwalk hotels are...and this one is worth every penny!

(Note: My suggestion about getting around town is to use the trolley system as much as you can & leave your car at the hotel when possible....the trolley is inexpensive and fun! However, we did find a $5 all day lot at Market Square. For your information....the distance from the hotel to the Alamo by street or to the River Center Mall area via the riverwalk is about 3/4 mile.)

Room Tip: We had two rooms for our stay... a double suite with 2 windows and the king suite had 1 window...bot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dianna R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conroe, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Hotel Contessa was perfect from the time I checked in until I left. Friendly staff, clean hotel, comfortable rooms. The rooms are spacious, free wifi, sitting area made it feel less like a hotel. Highly recommend and I will be coming back for sure!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,480 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#10 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,376 reviews
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Contessa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Contessa

Property: Hotel Contessa
Address: 306 W Market St, San Antonio, TX 78205-2953
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Green Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#13 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Contessa 4*
Number of rooms: 265
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Contessa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Contessa Hotel San Antonio
Contessa San Antonio
Hotel Contessa San Antonio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing