We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant stay”
Review of Hotel Contessa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Contessa
Ranked #8 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 30 August 2006

We stayed there the weekend of August 25th. Although it was hot in SA it was cool in the rooms and throughout the hotel. The suite was a very nice size and pleasantly decorated with a decent sized bedroom, bathroom and living area. We were annoyed that the shower didn't get hot right away or drain very quickly, but that problem happened only once. I had a problem with the safe resetting and an engineer came upstairs immediately. The room was clean and serviced by the time we came home in the late afternoon. Great location at a quiet part of the riverwalk. Staff was very courteous, especially the concierge and front desk. I would not pay the extra money for the Riverview suite since you look down on just a partial view of the river. Other places such as La Mansion and Watermark really have a better river view and position.

  • Stayed: August 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Jneen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,215)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Contessa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3,138 - 3,144 of 3,215 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2006

Stayed in the hotel for 4 days.
Despite other peoples reviews our room was quiet. We slept like babies. We also woke up as hungry. We ate the Spanish Frittata it was good. The staff was friendly and attentive.
When we arrived at our room we asked housekeeping for extra towels and she brought us extra towels. As we walked from the elevator we saw a woman yelling at a woman who worked as house keeping. She pointed her finger at the house maid and seemed intimating. We entered our room and changed into more relaxed clothes so we could see the Alamo. As we left our room we saw the same housekeeping maid crying. We asked her if she wanted us to call security, she said no. She told us that nothing can be done. We asked another housemaid who is the woman that did all the yelling. The woman who yelled at her was the supervisor named "Rebecca". We ate dinner at a restaurant called "Cafe Ole" it is only a few walking steps from Hotel Contessa. Our next, day we ate breakfast at our hotel. Again we saw the supervisor "Rebecca" this time yelling at another employee. I spend hundreds of dollars and I like quality and service, which the hotel has, and peace which my wife felt threaten when she passed " Rebecca" in the hallway. We are owners of our own business and have several employees and managers. When we see a situation that involves lack of professionalism such as Rebecca displayed to us, we pull the employee or manager aside and speak to them.
Our third day we headed for the majestic theater and returned for a couple of drinks from "Dario".
The air-condition was great it kept our room cool and was very pleasant. Our room was non-smoking and everything was clean. Overall from a score of 1-10 I give this hotel a 9. The only flaw was how they threat their housekeeping employees with lack of professionalism.


Stayed: July 2006
10  Thank Truth111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2006

just so you know i had a company outing and was booked at this hotel when i arrived i was told that even though i had reservations they had no room for me and there was not a room available with in 100 miles and basic just my bad luck after about two and a half hours in there lobby they finally found a room in a dump about 20 min. away. this not only an in convince me that caused me to miss my company function but i definitely go the impression they just really did not care. to make things worse when i returned home i sent a email to the hotel that stated how unhappy i was with the way i had been treated and asked that someone contact me and have yet to here word one from them! this only confirmed that they did not care!

richard lisenbe

  • Stayed: July 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Service
3  Thank searichie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2006

With the price of this hotel (we got a rate of $169 per night), we were surprised at some of the oversights. Most of these were related to housekeeping and the pool. Our room was still not ready at 4:30 and we had to wait about 5 minutes longer until they released it to us. When we got to our room, Room Service or Housekeeping had not removed the previous occupant's food/dirty dishes from beside our door. In the bathroom, we found a washcloth that had been dried and in place so long over the shower curtain, that it held the shape of the rod. I also didn't find it sanitary that they do not line the wastebaskets in the bathroom or living room. They just empty them. We expected the rooftop pool to be something it wasn't. The only way you could see the city, was to go stand in front of one of 3 windows. The pool was very small. It only went from 3 foot to 4 foot. While we were there, 14 children ranging in age from around 7 to 17 were all in the pool with one group. They played chicken, splashed, and ran into us. The hotel staff never made a check of the pool while we were there. We finally gave up and left the pool to the wild kids. The second night, they were out of towels and we had to come back to our rooms wet. The service from the staff, the size of the room, and the style of the hotel was very, very nice. We had looked so forward to relaxing in the rooftop pool, I think that not even being able to stand in the corner of it without getting kicked or splashed by the kids was a huge disappointment.

Stayed: June 2006
3  Thank staronabudget
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Humble, Tx
11
Reviewed 18 July 2006

We stayed here for Memorial weekend and the service and staff were wonderful. Absolutely loved to valet service.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2006

Just returned from a trip to SA, Texas with girlfriends from highschool, celebrating our 50th BDs. We stayed at the Hotel Contessa, where our rooms were not connecting, and did not have 2 DBL beds, as promised. Due to this, and after some lengthy discussions, they reduced the rate by $50/night/room, and gave us comp valet parking and a BF buffet for each. The rooms were huge, clean and wonderful. The beds and pillows were the best we've ever slept in, and the BF was awesome. The concierge was very helpful with off-site restaurant reservations, as well as taxi service, and the "bellboys" were the most polite, friendly, and helpful we'd ever seen! We became known as the "Fabulous Fifties" ladies, and enjoyed our stay immensely! On the negative side...there were 25,000 youth in town for a convention, and many stayed at our hotel. They loitered the halls in the wee hours and were very noisy! Had to report this to the front desk to get sleep! Wonder where the chaperones/parents were?
We dined at La Fogata--fantastic food & margaritas, beautiful atmosphere, with lush gardens, flowers, etc. Enjoyed the Market, Riverwalk, and the ambience of San Antonio. Ended the trip with BF at Panchitos Downtown, the BEST mexican breakfast ever (homemade tortillas!!!), were serenaded by a local woman wih a Birthday blessing and wish for us (she heard it was our BD), then attended church together, before parting to return to our homes. Overall, it was a perfect, memorable celebration and "reunion" of best friends!!

4  Thank momf356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2006

My wife and I decided to take an overnight trip to San Antonio from our home near Ft Worth. We decided on a stay at The Contessas. The Contessa was a beautiful hotel. Right from the start it lived up to the price of the room.

The Valets were very friendly and attended to our luggage with a smile. One of our only draw backs was that our room was not ready when we arrived. This we chalked up to a Lutheran Youth Conference being at the hotel. The concierge was quite happy to store our one bag while we walked the Riverwalk and took in some of the early sights while we waited for our room to be prepared. The front desk also extended our check out time for our troubles.

Our 12th room floor was excellent. We were booked in a city view room with a king sized bed. Our second and last draw back was the noise that still filtered up to our room. The stereos from passing cars was very loud, especially the bass.

On Sunday morning we had breakfast from the hotel cafe. We chose to sit on the riverwalk. The food was excellent. The orange juice fresh squeezed and the service on the spot.

I would definately recommend The Contessa to anyone going to San Antonio with one caveate: get a riverwalk view.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Menwen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#6 of 358 in San Antonio
3,093 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#21 of 358 in San Antonio
3,849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#20 of 358 in San Antonio
3,103 reviews
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 358 in San Antonio
1,520 reviews
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Contessa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Contessa

Address: 306 W Market St, San Antonio, TX 78205-2953
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Green Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#13 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: £148 - £276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Contessa 4*
Number of rooms: 265
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Contessa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Contessa Hotel San Antonio
Contessa San Antonio
Hotel Contessa San Antonio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing