We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Previously undiscovered gem!”
Review of Hotel Contessa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Contessa
Ranked #7 of 356 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Houston
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Previously undiscovered gem!”
Reviewed 6 July 2010

We visit San Antonio 2 or 3 times per year and try to stay at a different hotel each time because there are so many of them to choose from! On a whim, we decided to take off for the 4th of July weekend for a quick getaway. I put a bid on Priceline and this hotel came up. I had never stayed there before so that was a treat. It is a small-ish, all suite hotel in a low-key building. We had to circle the block once to find the entrance since our GPS put us at the loading dock. :-) Our room was on a corner and I have a feeling it was one of the smaller ones (being a last minute thing) but it was still excellent. I loved the brick walls in the "living room" and huge, deep sofa that pulled out into a bed. There is a flat screen TV in both the living room and the bedroom, with a desk and chair in both places, along with a separate chair with a reading lamp. The bathroom is in the hall between the living room and bedroom and was adequately roomy, but not huge. There was a bar/refrigerator area outside in the hall. I agree with another poster that it would have been nice to have water in the bar area to fill the coffee pot while someone else is taking a shower, but that's a minor complaint. If you take the elevator to river level, you can step right out onto the Riverwalk, even though the hotel is in a quieter area, it's easy to get to all the restaurants and shops just around the corner. I highly recommend this hotel and plan to stay there again if I can get the super rate I was able to get from Priceline! :-)

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank QueenSandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCGM, General Manager at Hotel Contessa, responded to this review, 15 July 2010
We appreciate your compliments about all our staff and your comments have been shared with our entire staff. I am very impressed with the level of detail you have provided in your review. WE appreciate your suggestions and comments about the suite. Thank you for taking the time to write all that you did and for providing a full view of your stay from beginning to end.

We look forward to having you as guest again in the future.

Sincerely,

Wende Blumberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,141
    650
    192
    105
    87
See reviews for
828
1,051
68
690
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (892)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin TX
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2010

Love the "smallness" of this boutique hotel on the Riverwalk. The rooms are well-appointed decoratively and functionally while being most comfortable - the bed was one of the best. My husband loved the, not one but two, flat screen TVs....the fold out couch would have been perfect for an extra person, but we wanted the whole place to ourselves!! Really enjoyed the breakfast downstairs every morning and being greeted by the waiter extraordinaire, Joshua!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborahsister
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCGM, General Manager at Hotel Contessa, responded to this review, 15 July 2010
We are very pleased that we exceeded your expectations and have shared your wonderful comments with Joshua in the restaurant. We look forward to having you as guest in the future.


Regards,

Wende Blumberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Louisiana
Level 6 Contributor
84 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2010

Staff and management were helpful and pleasant. Lobby, restaurant, and lounge are nice attractive. Nice view of tree lined riverwalk from patio. Rooms large, clean and very comfortable. Enjoyed seperate living area and bedroom .... gives nice open feeling.
Daily vallet parking fee a bit high but worth it.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martymonk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCGM, General Manager at Hotel Contessa, responded to this review, 15 July 2010
We appreciate and thank you for taking the time to write all about your wonderful experience while staying at Hotel Contessa. We have shared your comment with our staff.

We look forward to having you as guest again in the future.

Sincerely,

Wende Blumberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange,Tx
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2010

We recently spent 5 days in San Antonio and stayed at the Hotel Contessa. It is a great hotel from start to finish. We drove up and the valet parked the truck and retreived it many times. The room service was great and the being right on the riverwalk was good for shopping and resturants. We ate the La Margarita in the downtown market and it is a must eat place for mexican food. We went to both Sea World and Fiesta Texas and if I had to go to one it would be Fiesta. But again the the Hotel Contessa is a beautiful place with the roof top pool and ho tub to the workout room and the patio restaurant bar. We will definity stay here again. Our room had two plasma/lcd tvs and came with 2 queen size beds plus the couch was a hide-a-bed also. With two teenage boys it made it nice for us to have our own room.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mncwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCGM, General Manager at Hotel Contessa, responded to this review, 15 July 2010
We appreciate and thank you for taking the time to write all about your wonderful experience while staying at Hotel Contessa. We are very impressed with the level of detail you have provided in your review. I thank you for your praise of our staff and the excellence they displayed. We look forward to having you as guest in the future.

Regards,

Wende Blumberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baden-Wurttemberg, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2010

Stayed at HC over weekend in Feb. Upon arrival, used valet parking offered by hotel. I wish I had realized that we could have self-parked in one of the nearby garages and saved some money there, but it wasn't outrageously expensive. Room was nice; king suite overlooking the Riverwalk and Wedding Island. The bed was comfortable and the living area nicely furnished. Noise from the hotel can be heard in the living area, however, as the halls are open to the lobby and bar area below. There is a rooftop pool area, spa, and small gym. The hotel has a wine bar and restaurant on the Riverwalk level, and would often by busy in the later hours of the evening. I would suggest this hotel for couples/families that don't mind the nightlife. Overall Positive experience and I would return again.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RockyTheDog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCGM, General Manager at Hotel Contessa, responded to this review, 15 July 2010
We appreciate and thank you for taking the time to write all about your experience while staying at Hotel Contessa. We have shared your comment with our staff.

We look forward to having you as guest in the future.

Regards,

Wende Blumberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2010

Our stay here was great, we found a deal through expedia so the room was half price. The bed was awesome, highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Five4Fighting
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2010

An incredible hotel in a great location, and at a great price.

The staff were helpful and accomodating.

Pool and hot tub were great.

Rooms were bigger than most apartments, and the Aveda toiletries were awesome.

Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kekbaldw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCGM, General Manager at Hotel Contessa, responded to this review, 15 July 2010
We appreciate and thank you for taking the time to write all about your wonderful experience while staying at Hotel Contessa.We are very pleased that we exceeded your expectations. We look forward to you staying with us again.

Regards,

Wende Blumberg
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#5 of 356 in San Antonio
3,052 reviews
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 356 in San Antonio
3,727 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 356 in San Antonio
1,477 reviews
East Side
Hilton Palacio del Rio
Hilton Palacio del Rio
#12 of 356 in San Antonio
2,843 reviews
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#19 of 356 in San Antonio
3,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Contessa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Contessa

Property: Hotel Contessa
Address: 306 W Market St, San Antonio, TX 78205-2953
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Green Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#13 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Contessa 4*
Number of rooms: 265
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Contessa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Contessa Hotel San Antonio
Contessa San Antonio
Hotel Contessa San Antonio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing