We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good times at Waxy O'Connors” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Waxy O'Connors on the Riverwalk

Waxy O'Connors on the Riverwalk
Ranked #6 of 135 Nightlife in San Antonio
Attraction details
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
140 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good times at Waxy O'Connors”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stop by each time we visit San Antonio. It's fun, laid back with typical Irish pub food. They also carry the Jameson Blue Whiskey.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank aethomso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    24
    13
    4
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Irish and amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

So super good! Shepard's pie and fish and chips are to die for!! Very good prices very nice staff!! Highly recommend!!

Helpful?
1 Thank grilsweekendgetaway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kokomo, Indiana
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Lots of restaurants and shops”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

We stayed blocks from the Riverwalk. There is an excellent selection of restaurants and shops to be found all along the river.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Debbi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Cruces, New Mexico
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fun, fun, fun”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Never had the food but it is a fun pub for drinks and music. Both times that I've been here, they have had live music, the kind you will be singing along to. It's odd to find an Irish Pub on the Riverwalk but I have had a blast here 2 times!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank AggieGalinNM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
117 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“For drinking, meh.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2014

We randomly stopped here on our trip through Texas as we just wanted to see what the water walk was all about. We ate food at another place, but wanted to cap the night off by catching up on basketball scores and some beer. The staff was fairly attentive despite a night rush coming in. The place served food late and it looked amazing, but the beer selection was rather limited.

This is a tourist place, beers were $6.50 a piece, that is rather crazy when my wife was drinking domestic beers. The atmosphere is pretty nice with your typical Irish Pub paneling and use of wood. The back area has an excellent private area with a comfortable leather bench to sit and play darts around.

The food seemed rather affordable on the menu and I heard plenty of customers rave about it. I would definitely come back for dinner, but probably venture elsewhere for some alcoholic beverages.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisS817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Waxy O'Connors on the Riverwalk also viewed

 

Been to Waxy O'Connors on the Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing