We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Sushi”

Godai Sushi Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #188 of 4,625 Restaurants in San Antonio
Price range: US$20 - US$25
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: North Central
Santa Barbara, California
Level Contributor
593 reviews
292 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 415 helpful votes
“Great Sushi”
Reviewed 19 May 2013

Best sushi in town. The review could really end there. I think the only down side is the changes to the saki and wine list a year or so back. More expensive and not as good quality.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank kuwells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    24
    1
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Best sushi in san antonio”
Reviewed 10 May 2013

We've been stationed here in san antonio for 3 yrs and we've tried several sushi places and Godai has been one of the closest to authentic as you can get. The food is fresh and we always try something new from their menu plus you get a better deal for the price!

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cyan501
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Ramon, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fort San Houston after bootcamp”
Reviewed 4 April 2013

No reservation needed. Food and service were great. Lots of selection on the menu. My daughter wanted to try out a different sushi place in San Antonio to eat and I found it on the website by luck.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ANGEL C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okinawa Prefecture, Japan
Level Contributor
151 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Best in San Antonio”
Reviewed 16 March 2013 via mobile

Best by far. Great service. They don't overdo it with mayo sauces on everything, or cream cheese, which seems to be the MO for sushi restaurants in Texas. I will be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank RK O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, California
Level Contributor
94 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Sushi good, staff not welcoming”
Reviewed 6 March 2013

We looked at reviews to find a nice sushi place while visiting the San Antonio area. The picture on the review looked nice and the food was rated highly. The picture on the review did not look anything like the actual place for the record. The servers were a bit rough and not very welcoming. They were busy, but borderline rude to us as we politely asked for water. I felt like we were imposing on them to eat there. On the positve side, our food came quickly and was all very good. Everything was very fresh. The maguro sushimi was not quite as high of quality as it should have been, so I would stay away from that, but otherwise good food. Not sure if I would go back though, as the attitude from the serving staff made it slighly unpleasant.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NorcalGrls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Godai Sushi Bar and Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Godai Sushi Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing