We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Notch Waitress”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of BRIO Tuscan Grille - CLOSED

BRIO Tuscan Grille
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$24
Cuisines: Italian, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Visit us at The Shops at La Cantera for a pleasant and tasty experience. The best Italian grille, Italian dishes, and drinks are found at BRIO Tuscan Grille! Join us at BRIO Tuscan Grille, the best Italian restaurant near you!
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
842 reviews
565 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
“Top Notch Waitress”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2014

We had not been here for a while and went for a special occasion. Upon entering we were immediately greeted by 3 people at the hostess podium and seated quickly. The restaurant is very upscale looking, large and beautifully decorated. There are mostly tables but some large center booths. The grill/cooking area in back is visible so can watch the flames as meals are prepared. Our waitress, Charlott, acknowledged us quickly and was SUPER delightful and engaging. The menu is varied with lots of choices. Pricing is average for this type of restaurant and the location at an upscale shopping center, La Cantera. We ordered the Grilled Mahi Mahi ($17.95) and Tuscan Grilled Pork Chop ($16.95). Their complete menu is online. The house wine was very nice and everything we requested was politely attended to. It does take a bit to get the food but it is prepared fresh and good temperature to enjoy. I was asked to cut into the chop to make sure it was cooked properly which I did. All the food was very tastily seasoned. The chop was large but once I got the portion closest to the bone I found it was not cooked through at that point but this was very little amount as the rest of the chop was perfect and tender. My Brio Rewards works nicely too and they offer a free entree up to $15 for you birthday. We did not have dessert, although it was offered to us, but saw the dessert tray and again lots of choices. The atmosphere is quite and a perfect place for a romantic dinner or gathering. The entrees for dinner range from around $13.95 on up. If you get a chance to go to Brio's I think you will enjoy it and ask for Charlott as she is an excellent waitress and so pleasant.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LAH28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    75
    36
    16
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Katy, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Amazing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

We ordered mainly from their new "lighter side of Tuscany" menu to check it out. The 5 oz. filet brio was spectacular with the sweet potatoes that were just right! Who new steak at an Italian restaurant could be so great? The mahi mahi and salmon dishes were awesome as well. The winning dish of the night was the caponelle carbonara... Everyone just wanted a bite! The green salad, Caesar and lobster bisque where hits as well... And well who doesn't love dessert? We got butterscotch and raspberry cheesecake... Our kids devoured them! The night ended even better with their minty-chocolate-M&m-like candies at the end. BRIO IS THE PLACE TO BE FOR HAPPINESS WITH THE FAMILY. TOTALLY RECOMMEND IT!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JennDoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
265 reviews
208 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“A delightful experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013

We went here last week and took friends today, they loved it as much as we do. The food choices are so varied it is hard to decide but everything we got was a HIT. I loved the idea of the small dessert, you get a taste of sweet but not huge and each person could get a small ? of their choice. The bread and the crackers are just wonderful, comes out warm. We will be back again and again and take friends again, like the way it is decorated, it is casual elegant, clean, great service. they were really busy but we didn't lack for anything so happy we found this place at La Contera Mall. You get a really nice size meal well prepared and attractive presentation..and so yummy..check it out.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank skylanders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
58 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“European-style crusty bread and lava cake save the day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013 via mobile

I came with four friends for a late dinner. We had a hard time choosing what to order because everything on the menu was appealing. Our server brought some amazing hot sourdough bread while we were still poring over the menu. Good thing because it took forever to get our food. The restaurant, for some reason, was really cold, so cold that we kept our coats on and we saw other diners wearing hats and scarves. My main course was ok - I had artichoke crusted beef served with mashed potatoes and mixed vegetables. I liked the vegetables, but they were over-seasoned so they tasted like seasoning, rather than vegetables. Our dessert was stellar - a hot chocolate lava cake topped with vanilla ice cream and raspberries.

Our server was really nice and kept our water glasses filled (we didn't drink that much because it who drinks ice water when you are freezing?). She also brought us more hot bread while we waited for our dinner. She did some investigating when we mentioned how cold we were and said the temp had been set for a full restaurant earlier in the evening and never got readjusted. The bread and the dessert made the cold endurable, and I would probably come here again, but never in a hurry.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank ErinRu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

We always enjoy the food at Brio’s and the service is most often very good. On our last visit the service was exceptional. Our server Kim was friendly, but not intrusive. She paced the meal perfectly so that we had time to relax between the wine, salad and entrée deliveries. It was a very nice evening

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike-Stacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed BRIO Tuscan Grille also viewed

 
San Antonio, TX
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing