We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding hotel - clean and hospitable!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Ranked #9 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Outstanding hotel - clean and hospitable!”
Reviewed 29 July 2011

Great hotel! We stayed with our children (5 and 7) and found the hotel to be VERY clean, room very clean and comfortable. It was over 100 degrees the whole time we were there, and the A/C worked great! Also the room had a ceiling fan which was nice.
We stayed on the 18th floor and it was VERY quiet. Staff was always pleasant and helpful, and management does a great job also (the general manager was clearing tables and helping serve breakfast one of the mornings we were there). As far as the pool, the rooftop one was very clean, and the "green" the other reviews referred to is because the tile on the bottom of the pool is not blue like most other pools. It is more of a "sand" color and that reflects back up as a green-like color, like the sea. We were at the pool everyday and in the evening it did look more green; however, at 3PM in the afternoon, when the sun was shining, you could see clear to the bottom and it was clearly a "sand color-like tile". The indoor pool was also nice - water in that one was colder than the outdoor pool, but that's because it was over 100 degrees outside! Both had a good supply of towels, and when that got low they were replenished in a timely fashion. Valet parking was quick and easy, all of the guys there were helpful in making sure you had directions if you needed them. This hotel is great - the free internet worked great and was no problem to get up and running. Check out this hotel if you are in San Antonio, you will not be disappointed!

Room Tip: Upper floors are quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrvlrM0M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,654 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,715
    684
    166
    52
    37
See reviews for
880
960
62
366
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (584)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
TAYLOR, TX
Level Contributor
77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2011

In an old bank building and right by the riverwalk stairway. convience store right across the street too. also a bus stop nearby for those who need public transportation. the nightly snacks and drinks along with the breakfast are an awesome perk. nice rooms and we had a great time

Stayed January 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank christi_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

A broken air conditioner on a 100 degree day sent us to the Drury Plaza in downtown San Antonio. It was a fabulous experience! Everyone was very friendly and helpful and the place is just beautiful.
The lobby is nice and open and has a lot of activity - a lot of families milling about which is nice - makes the place seem alive. Check in was smooth. The hallways are a bit odd as they still have that office building feel. However, our room was just lovely! It had some personality as it wasn't a rectangle - again, due to the building's original purpose I guess. The walls have a nice stucco like texture and the colors and fabrics in the room are very warm and soothing. There was even a ceiling fan! The bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was huge!
On the second floor, they offer popcorn and sodas during the day and I believe appetizers and drinks in the evening. We went for popcorn and sodas - YUM!
The rooftop pool was fabulous! I've been in a lot of the rooftop pools when the bottom seems to move with every car that comes through the garage - not here. This was a nice, sturdy pool with incredible views.
The location is perfect - my son and I walked to the Market to have dinner at Mi Tierra. Then we walked around the riverwalk to the Hard Rock.
In the morning, I begrudgingly took my son down to the free breakfast buffet. These things usually really just gross me out - they're dirty and the food sits out ...not the case here! This is the first free hotel breakfast buffet that I have eaten and enjoyed. The staff does a great job of keeping it clean and continuously checking on the food. I was really impressed - there were a lot of people eating! They had omelets and pancakes and fruit...nice job!
We had a great time - I would visit here again and recommend it to any friends visiting San Antonio!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdwag6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We stayed at the San Antonio Drury Plaza in late July. We arrived late afternoon to find. The hotel staff at a near-meltdown. Apparently the hotel had a turnover of over a thousand guests, and housekeeping was having trouble getting the rooms ready quickly enough. Rosanna at the front desk invited us to the second floor for refreshments or the use of the rooftop pool while the rooms were completed. Her professionalism went a long way in keeping us happy. We decided to partake of some complimentary soft drinks and popcorn for the kids, and also enjoyed their 5:30-7pm "Kickback" which included light cocktails, soft drinks, chicken tenders, nachos, baked potatoes, salad, hot dogs, macaroni & cheese, etc. When we finally checked in at nearly 7pm, Rosanna comped our valet parking. Wow.
The hotel room was very comfortable. We had a king suite which included a separate bedroom, a queen foldout couch, bath, refrigerator and microwave. This is the most comfortable bed I have stayed on.
The rooftop pool was very nice, although it could use the services of a good pool man. Water should not be green - my guess is that it was over chlorinated at some point and needs some conditioner to bring back the blue. In any case, the view of the Alamo City at night from the pool is absolutely dazzling.
There is easy access to the Riverwalk from the bottom floor, and the hotel is right in the middle of downtown. You are five to ten minutes from any destination on the River Walk.
Breakfast was nice - scrambled eggs, hotcakes, sausage, biscuits & gravy, pastries, cereal and fruit were all available, as are juices, coffee and tea. A very nice spread in this buffet, served on real dishes - not plastic or foam plates.
This hotel offers a big bang for the buck. This is a great property and is well run by a professional staff. While it's not perfect, I have yet to stay in a hotel that is. It is a lovely OLD building that has been converted to a hotel. Elevators are slow at peak times, and in some places it clearly shows its age. However the quality of the staff and the quality of the "extras" make this a place I will return to on business and for family holidays.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rambotuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We have stayed here twice, the first time was awesome. Our recent stay back in October was not to good. I guess it was the wrong weekend to be there, hotel was over booked there where a ton of ladies there for a western dancing convention. The hotel offers great breakfast, snacks, and cocktail drink card which is good. The last stay the lines where long for the breakfast, by the time we got to the food all of it was almost gone. There where no tables, had to wait till someone got up. So ended up not enjoying the whole experience. The room was clean and they are nice. Don't get a room by the main street we had room 1008 and all you hear are the loud trucks and party people going down the street all night. Expect to pay at least 18.00 for parking plus tax, they park it for you. Great view from the swimming pool on the top floor, they also have a indoor pool. Overall its a good hotel if its not over crowded. Will I go back I dont think so, we stayed at another hotel the next day and almost payed half the price and was a great stay. But you might have better luck than me and it wont be as crowded, then its worth it.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank advisefrommetoyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galveston, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

Valet parking of 19 dollars was a little over the top but besides that...perfect. We swam on top of the hotel with the most beautiful view of San Antonio lights. Two very nice hot tubs, super friendly and helpful staff. You negotiate your room price if you mention Priceline prices first. We got our King suite with a balcony cheaper than the original basic room price. Don't have to check out til 12 and can leave vehicle in garage as long as you need so you can check out the River Walk. It's great and very worth it!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cjzmom2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weatherford, Texas
Level Contributor
64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2011

We stayed here for a long weekend with our children and grandchildren. The rooms were clean and roomy and very comfortable. The breakfast was great and the evening cocktail hour and food was very nice - could really make a dinner with all the goodies served. Hotel was centrally located on the Riverwalk and very convenient to everything.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fwlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#21 of 354 in San Antonio
3,458 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Contessa
#11 of 354 in San Antonio
3,032 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#10 of 354 in San Antonio
2,878 reviews
East Side
Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk

Property: Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Address: 105 South Saint Mary's Street, San Antonio, TX 78205-2810
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Downtown , East Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#9 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#32 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk 3*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk is located on the San Antonio River, walking distance from shops, restaurants and entertainment. Relax in the sun on the deck of the rooftop pool, which also has two whirlpools! Formerly the Alamo National Bank, this 24-story renovated skyscraper features 50-foot ceilings, travertine flooring and stained glass windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Drury Hotels Company, LLC, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Plaza San Antonio
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing