We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay in Downtown San Antonio”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Ranked #10 of 356 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
East Texas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Stay in Downtown San Antonio”
Reviewed 9 August 2011

This was my 3rd trip to San Antonio this year, and my 3rd stay at Drury Plaza Riverwalk. This time I reserved a 2-room suite in the original hotel tower.
The room was great---very comfortable & roomy. Bed was excellent, and it was nice to have 2 flat-screen TV's in the room---one in the bedroom & one in the living area. Also nice was the full-sized fridge/freezer (great for storing ice for drinks & freezer-paks for the ice chest). The A/C in the room was WONDERFUL---we kept cool the entire time in the room. Can't say as much for the lobby/elevators/dining area---they were uncomfortably warm this visit. (It was 106-108 degrees in S.A.!!) We were really sweating at breakfast & 5:30 "kickback" time ! Also, the wait for elevators was longer during our stay; at least one lift was out of commission this time.
The front desk people & garage attendants were wonderful to deal with; it's nice to know they appreciate you staying at their hotel (which is a refreshing change from many hotels who couldn't care less if you stayed with them or not !)
Only 2 things didn't meet my expectations this visit: 1. the carpet in our suite was due for a replacement--it was pretty "shop-worn" and showing lots of wear & soiling, and, 2. the bath towels are STILL those 86% cotton 14% polyester blends---which just push water around, but not dry. The bed linens/pillows and bath toiletries are top-notch, why not the towels? It's time to step up to the plate & go for 100% cotton bath towels. This would really put the Drury Plaza Riverwalk Hotel on the "top-shelf" !!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fastcheapandeasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,755 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,788
    703
    172
    53
    39
See reviews for
921
981
63
390
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (614)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2011

We stayed here for 4 nights. Chose this hotel because of the price, location and amenities.

The room was nice. We had a king room. The hotel is really nice and they showcase the history of the building. What a great lobby! Nice roof top pool that noone was using. Watched a great sunset from there.

The free breakfast had plenty of food. Eggs, biscuits, pancakes, sausage, toast, bagels, fruit, etc. The free happy hour had 3 drinks per person and a lot of finger foods(hot dogs, nachos, chips, salsa, pretzels, popcorn, chicken, etc). Be sure to try a Tequila Sunrise.

Location was great. Right on the Riverwalk. We walked the whole Riverwalk. Had many great meals there. A really nice place.

We will be staying here again. No complaints!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank METAL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Granger, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

I wanted a nice hotel along the Riverwalk for one final couples outing before our kiddo was born. It needed to be nice, have a big whirlpool tub, and be on the Riverwalk for easy access to the walking path along the river. The Drury Plaza Hotel fit the bill. It's in the old San Antonio Bank Building and the lobby has been restored to its former glory. Loved the art deco!

The room was smallish but nice and the bathroom was huge, as was the tub. At nine months pregnant it really fit the bill, we could both fit in the tub together to relax. The hotel was packed with families so the two pools were just too busy for us to enjoy them, but the upgraded room with the tub was 100% better than any pool would have been. There was a large sink and nice walk-in shower.

If you don't like kids, I'd probably avoid this hotel during the summer tourist season. There are probably less during the school year. However, if you are a family looking for a good value, this is a great stop. They offer free breakfast buffet and a free happy hour with 3 drinks for adults (beer, wine or cocktails), free sodas, and a buffet that would please most families. We are pretty picky eaters (food snobs - all organic, sorry) so we didn't part take but they had nachos, chicken fingers, hot dogs, and other items. Many families were making a meal of it to save $. I did enjoy my rum and Cokes (and my wife's too since she couldn't drink!). The coffee was not so good. The in-room coffee was a little better.

You can get to the river walk from inside the hotel if you go to the bottom floor and follow the signs. There are some cool old photos and bank vaults down there as well.

The staff was very friendly and the hotel clean. I enjoyed our stay and would consider it again. Definitely a family value.

If you follow your GPS to the hotel front doors, know that is not the entrance with the valet parking. It's around the corner.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jburatti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Our Family stayed here weekend of 8-4 thru 8-7 for a family reunion. We had a suite in the San Fernando tower on the 14th floor and it was very nice, no complaints at all. The a/c worked great and we weren't bothered by outside or hallway noise.

The hotel was very busy when we were there. There were lines for the breakfast and the evening Kick back. It looked like alot of people were taking advantage of the kick back food not only there on the 2nd floor, but also taking back heaped plates to their rooms. We did take advantage of the breakfast, but the kickback was just too hectic and crowded to enjoy.

We enjoyed some time at the roof top pool and were surprised how few people there were up there. So, you might check this out if you stay here.

The elevators in the main building are terribly slow and crowded. They are tiny elevators to begin with, so that doesn't help. To get the the San Fernando Tower, you had to take the main elevator to the 6th floor and then another elevator in the Tower to our floor. We usually took the stairs when going down from the 6th floor to the lobby so we wouldn't have to deal with the crowd and the wait for the elevator. When were were checking out, we had to wait almost 15 minutes and then finally took an elevator going up and then took it back down to the lobby.

If you are a family with children, this might be the place for you as it will definately help with your overall budget. But, if you are adults travelling together, you might want to check elsewhere to avoid some of the things I mentioned. The Drury Plaza doesn't have a bar or a restaurant on site as many of the other hotels do in the area.

Would I stay here again, probably not.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank justheretohavefun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DruryHotels, General Manager at Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this review, 12 August 2011
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay and accommodations on your recent stay with us. We are very thankful that our hotel is a very busy and popular location for families on their summer vacations. You are correct that our guest do take advantage of the value of the free hot breakfast and our 5:30 kickback. Even though there can be large volume of guest at times, the small lines do move very quickly. Hopefully you will give us the opportunity to show you our hotel during different periods of the year as well as the summer when the volume of vacationers can be much less.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cypress, TX
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2011

My husband and I stayed here one night on our trip back from Fredericksburg. Although the building is old, the history behind it being a bank is very much intact. We enjoyed that aspect. Also, the pools and terraces were VERY nice. We stayed in room 959 in the San Fernando Cathedral part. It's quite a maze to get there, but you get a great view. While you do see the riverwalk below, you're so high it's really not of much consequence. But, you see the cathedral directly ahead and it's quite beautiful. There is a lot of road noise when you're on the balcony from the busy street below. But, the balcony seems to be one of the biggest. The room is HUGE. The bedroom and living area are completely separate...very nice.

We were amazed by the perks of this place! Not only do they offer a full breakfast for free, but they also have a "Happy Hour" with 3 free drinks per person. They also had snacks, but it seemed to me that some families were making this a full meal for their families. If you like ballpark food, you would be fine with this buffet.

All in all, it was very nice. The staff were very friendly and helpful, but there does seem to be some confusion with the valet services.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luvmyfam3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

I have stayed at many of the Riverwalk hotels over the years so I can say this hotel ranks about in the middle. I understand why it gets rave reviews because the freebies (breakfast and happy hour) are great for the budget minded. The food is standard budget hotel fare as well, nothing special about breakfast or happy hour meals. I did have breakfast each morning and it was very adequate...I thought the scrambled eggs were very good. There is no variety from day to day so it did get old quite quickly. Maybe they change from time to time but never saw any bacon or ham or different fruits, etc during my 4 day stay.

Happy hour was a nice get together but again, only one choice of beer and low end liquors and wine...just the facts here, I understand it is complimentary and wasn't expecting anything else.

The main draw of this hotel is the fact you can save some cash if you take advantage of the complimentary food. This is great for families and people on a tight budget for sure.

The room was quite big and I thought housekeeping did a great job each day. The flat screen TV had a bucket load of popular TV channels. My room had a ceiling fan as well and the bathroom was huge.

The Drury is what it proclaims to be, one of the best mid-level hotels with minimal service. It is not a luxury hotel and there are few services beyond the necessary. Its best feature is the well trained staff, the location, and the beautiful decor which remains from the old Alamo National Bank.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gehrig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horizon City, TX
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2011

The staff were very helpful, the free breakfast was great. Overall, we had a great experience during our 3 night stay in July. We had a corner suite on the 21st floor, near the rooftop pool, exercise room and observation deck, with easy access to the best area of the Riverwalk. A truly relaxing and enjoyable experience! The only slightly negative part of our stay was the food during the free afternoon "kickback" - hot dogs with stale buns and buffalo chicken nuggets that wern't too appetizing, but hey, it's free. Also, there were a few stains on the carpet in our room - on the other hand, we noticed the carpet cleaning crew on duty several times during our stay so I guess it was just a matter of time before they get to each room. We love San Antonio, and the Drury will be at the top of our list for hotel choices in the future!

Room Tip: We booked the room far in advance because it tends to sell out
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Duane_Alan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#7 of 356 in San Antonio
3,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Contessa
#8 of 356 in San Antonio
3,178 reviews
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#23 of 356 in San Antonio
3,727 reviews
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#18 of 356 in San Antonio
3,010 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk

Property: Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Address: 105 South Saint Mary's Street, San Antonio, TX 78205-2810
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Downtown , East Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#9 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#32 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk 3*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk is located on the San Antonio River, walking distance from shops, restaurants and entertainment. Relax in the sun on the deck of the rooftop pool, which also has two whirlpools! Formerly the Alamo National Bank, this 24-story renovated skyscraper features 50-foot ceilings, travertine flooring and stained glass windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Plaza San Antonio
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing