We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go ahead and book this one, you won't be sorry”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Ranked #10 of 356 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Go ahead and book this one, you won't be sorry”
Reviewed 2 October 2011

We had planned to spend three nights in San Antonio in August and after reading many reviews on this site decided on this hotel. I am so glad we did because we loved it. Our room was in the San Fernando tower and had a spectacular view of the cathedral from our balcony. The building itself is charming and retains many of the features of the former bank building that it once was. Although it is a bit of a hike to get to the tower rooms, the rooms more than make up for it. Our room was huge and consisted of a living area with lovely furniture, a huge bathroom and separate bedroom with king size bed. There was plenty of wardrobe space, an iron an ironing board, kitchenette and coffee maker and mini refrigerator. We loved being able to sit on our balcony taking in the view. Each day that we went out it was so nice to come back to a beautifully cleaned, cool room. The building has an indoor an outdoor pool and we made use of both. There was also a great terrace on our level of the building but it was just a bit to hot while we were there to take advantage of it. All the staff were courteous and helpful. The breakfast buffet provided more than enough choice of the usual fruits, yoghurt, cereals, pancakes etc. The evening reception was ok if you were looking to save money but the food offerred didn't change from one night to the next and was predominantly fried, fast food type fare. There was a basic salad though. Each guest was entitled to three free alcoholic drinks which seemed quite generous. I suspect it could get very busy at peak times of the year but while we were there it wasn't too bad. The riverwalk area was much smaller than I had imagined and this hotel had direct access to it. We liked that security of the hotel in that you had to use your room key to operate the lift. When we travel we don't feel the need for valet service, hotel restaurants, room service or a stocked bar fridge as these all add to the cost and we would rather spend our money on other things.So if thats what you are looking for another hotel might suit you better, but for us the Drury Plaza was perfect.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mchnurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,755 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,788
    703
    172
    53
    39
See reviews for
921
981
63
390
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (614)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2011

We spent four days at the Drury and have nothing but god things to say about it. The location was perfect for our needs. It was only a short 10 minute walk to the market and less than that to the shops at the Riverwalk. Our room was nothing short of excellent. The bed was soft and comfortable, the room was spotless, linens were fresh, flat screen TV, good AC, and excellent maid service. The free breakfast was outstanding - sausage, eggs, biscuits and gravy, etc. The 5:30 kickback was nice also. Three free drinks per person along with hotdogs, chips, chicken fingers, etc was a great way to take a break from the heat outside.

However, the best part of our Drury experience was the service. I ave stayed in many hotels all over the world but have never had better service. Everyone from the manager to the housekeepers went out of their way to be polite. I was asked numerous time if their was anything else that would make my stay more enjoyable to just let them know. I want to give a out out to Hector especially for going out of his way make out trip special. We did not use the rooftop pool but it did look nice. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steelmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, FL & worldwide
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2011

I spent six nights in one of the suites in the San Fernando Tower area of the hotel. My trip was for a week long photography workshop, so we also used the meeting area in the hotel. The staff kept the coffee bar and water well stocked and the room cleaned up each time we took a break. The lobby in the hotel is quite impressive as it was converted from and old bank. The comfortable couches made it a great place to lounge and people watch. The 1 king bed deluxe room itself was quite large with a nice sized living room with large sofa, leather ottoman and lounge chair, end tables, a great desk for working and kitchenette with full size dining table, microwave, fridge,2 large flat screen tv's, and more storage space. The oversized bedroom has a seating area, with a large walk in closest. The suite had more storage and closet space than my first apartment. Off the bedroom was a lovely little balcony that looked down on the city. Even with the windows closed there was quite a bit of noise that came through from the street below, but if you are used to city life that should not be a problem. The bathroom has a 2 person whirlpool tub and separate shower. AC kept the room nice and cool. The hotel has free wireless internet throughout, great if you are traveling for business. The breakfasts are good with a choice of breads, cereal, eggs, pancakes, biscuits with gravy and fruit. The cocktail hour is enjoyable with their daily "Kickback" selection. The menu rotates with a selection of hot food and a nacho bar. You also get a choice of drinks including beer, wine and mixed drinks. The "Kickback" does get PACKED with people, especially close to closing time ~ so go early. The free soft drink machine, coffee and popcorn during the day is quite nice. The staff at the hotel were always pleasant and helpful. They helped with direction around town, and other suggestions as well as being friendly and accommodating. The rooftop pool area is just gorgeous with lovely views of the city. There are 2 hot tubs on the roof and people do use them, even in the heat of the summer. The indoor pool has floor to ceiling windows overlooking the city and another whirlpool making it an attractive and inviting place to swim if you don't want to be on the roof. The gym is well equipped and a great place to exercise while on vacation. The office center in the lobby is well equipped with computers and prints ~ great for printing your boarding pass. The location of the hotel is perfect for exploring San Antonio as just about everything is within walking distance. I would definitely stay here again and hope to next year.

Room Tip: The San Fernando tower is the newer portion of the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StehmanPhotography
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayr, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2011

We visited this hotel on Labor Day week-end so it was full to capacity, it did push the staff and facilities, long queues for breakfast and drinks. We weren't too impressed by breakfast as it was poor quality, too much cheap carbohydrates! Coffee in paper cups (but that seems standard in US hotels) was drinkable.
We had a room in the older part of the hotel- very 'tired' room, could be cleaner! Housekeeping was obviously not coping with full capacity either!
The hotel is in a great location though- straight onto the Riverwalk, ten minutes walk to the Alamo and we loved the rooftop pool and Jacuzzi. The guest laundry room (near the pool) was very useful- sunbathing while I did the washing!
The reception was impressive with soaring ceilings and a vintage car! The reception staff were very friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for the new tower and a refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dolphin57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
Level 6 Contributor
141 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We spent a 4 day weekend in one of the suites in the San Fernando Tower area of the hotel. The room was just massive...giant living room with large sofa, leather ottoman and lounge chair, end tables, hugh desk, kitchenette with full size dining table, microwave, fridge,2 large flat screen tv's, and more massive storage. You can get lost in the oversized bedroom, again with more storage than the average apt. The bathroom has a 2 person whirlpool tub. Rooms are certainly bigger and better in this Texas hotel! Great AC.

The hotel has free wireless internet throughout. The breakfasts are good. The cocktail hour is enjoyable. The free soft drink machine, coffee and popcorn during the day is quite nice. The staff at the hotel are like something out of Disneyworld. They are sooo friendly and accommodating.

The rooftop pool area is just gorgeous with lovely views of the city. The water is chilled so that even in 100 degree temps the water is cool. There are 2 hot tubs up there, and people use them...although I don't know how they stand the heat! The indoor pool has floor to ceiling windows overlooking the city and another whirlpool. Very attractive.
The gym is well equipped. You can print off your boarding passes in the free office center in the lobby.
There are far too many positives to this establishment to mention. We would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank blanche&milver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scotland, UK
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2011

had a really good stay at this hotel...room spacious and bed comfy.
right out the door onto the riverwalk FAB , also short walk to the Alamo

was not impressed with food even though it was free..very very basic.
The 3 free drinks were better.
we stayed in the tower rooms overlooking the cathederal, view was good you were also looking down onto the river walk

Room Tip: a room with a balcony is a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PETER w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
notts
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Great for families and couples alike. food and alcohol from 5.30 to 7.30, breakfast, popcorn and sodas included in price. Lovely reception area and friendly staff made for a comfortable stay. Room and beds were really of high quality. Excellent value, great location. Recommend this hotel and wouldn't look for anywhere else if we visited again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bettertotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#7 of 356 in San Antonio
3,052 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Contessa
#8 of 356 in San Antonio
3,177 reviews
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#23 of 356 in San Antonio
3,727 reviews
East Side
Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk

Property: Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Address: 105 South Saint Mary's Street, San Antonio, TX 78205-2810
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Downtown , East Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#9 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#32 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk 3*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk is located on the San Antonio River, walking distance from shops, restaurants and entertainment. Relax in the sun on the deck of the rooftop pool, which also has two whirlpools! Formerly the Alamo National Bank, this 24-story renovated skyscraper features 50-foot ceilings, travertine flooring and stained glass windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Plaza San Antonio
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing