We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great time was had by all!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Ranked #9 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Rowlett, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great time was had by all!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2011

We booked this hotel for a convention of a group of developmentally challenged young adults. Everyone had a great time and all of our needs were met by the very friendly and helpful staff all hours of the day and night. We never had a bad experience during the 5 days we were there. It was very conveniently located on the Riverwalk near all of the activities and excursions we had planned. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone planning a trip to San Antonio, as a group or just a family vacation. Lots of things to do closeby for couples or families with young children. The breakfast buffet was fabulous as well as the "Kickback" evening dinner and drinks.

Room Tip: Our first room was on the 5th floor and on a corner. It was kind of loud at night, but after I was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmarshall18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,657 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,718
    684
    166
    52
    37
See reviews for
882
961
62
366
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (586)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

My daughter and I spent two nights at the Drury Plaza Hotel which is located on the Riverwalk and convenient to so many downtown attractions. It is about a 20 minute drive from the airport and costs about $28. We were quickly registered and given our room keys. I asked for a recommendation for a Mexican or Southwestern restaurant within walking distance of the hotel and was directed to the Iron Catus which is a block and a half from the hotel. The only problem is that we were told to go out the front door cross the street and go to the first stairway to go down to the Riverwalk. We should have been directed to the basement of the hotel where the back entrance takes you immediately to the Riverwalk. It is an interesting walk and you can view a hugh vault that was part of the this old renovated bank building. We made our way to the 15th floor and found our room clean and perfect for our two night stay. We were amazed at how quiet the hotel is. Since it is a renovated building the walls must be think and you do not hear a thing, so it is a great hotel for a good nights sleep. The morning breakfast is more than just cold cereal and coffee. There was sausage, pancakes, bagels, toast, eggs, yogert, muffins, and a choice of fresh fruit. Coffee was not as good as a Starbucks. I do not like Ronnoco coffee, so I had to stop at Einstein Bagels (right on Riverwalk) for a really good cup of coffee on our way to the Alamo. The Alamo is about a 5 block walk along the Riverwalk and is very interesting. Don't waste your time on the Mall unless you need some clothing for business or travel, it is like every other Mall in America with the same stores. The hotel is also conveniently located just about 7 or 8 blocks from the Market Square. A neat little place to find all kinds of souvenirs and wonderful restaurants. Wish we had gone to Mi Terria Cafe and Bakery two times. It is has great food and a bakery 365 days a year 24/7. The hotel also arranged for a car service (Alamo Taxi) to take us to our meeting on Tuesday and then arrange for pickup to the airport. The staff and service are terrific and I highly recommend this hotel for family and business travellers.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbara_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

This was our sixth visit to SA and we`d stayed in several different hotels previously, as none of them had been perfect. Chose Drury Plaza on TA recommendations and, as usual, they were spot on.
Excellent locaion on a quiet part of the Riverwalk, but a five minute stroll takes you to all the action. Good sized room - wouldn`t bother asking for a view of the Riverwalk tho` as it was a long was down from our 19th floor window. Kick back drinks and complimentary breakfast were good. We ended up taking our drinks back to our room as there were very few seats available over the weekend, but this worked out fine.
Hubby was a bit disappointed with the outdoor pool at first tho`, as it`s not for those who dislike heights. On the 22nd floor and surrounded by glass walls! (I enjoyed it) Then we discovered the indoor pool on the sixth floor of the other building and he was happy again.
Very helpful staff.
All set in a lovely building that used to be the Alamo Bank.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mabbsy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa
Level Contributor
316 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

We booked this hotel based on Tripadvisor reviews. It is a beautiful property with direct access to the Riverwalk and only 5 minutes from the heart of the action. The street level location may look a little rough, but it is safe and friendly and only minutes from the Alamo, El Mercado and the big mall. Our room was nice and big, ask for the Alamo Tower, better access to everything. The roof top pool and two hot tubs are great and were not overly busy while we were there. The breakfast is basic, but very convenient and filling. The afternoon happy hour is a bit odd, 3 free drinks, but with no atmosphere, better to take them back to your room or to the pool. The food is what it is, hotdogs and mac and cheese. Good if you have kids. There is a bank in the lobby and security excellent.
The staff are wonderful. Ask them anything about San Antonio.

Room Tip: Higher floor, Alamo tower, Riverwalk side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JazboOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

The oversized room was great with my two kids 2 and 4. They can be loud at times and I worry about the noise level, but the rooms seemed very quiet. The only thing we heard was an occasional door close late at night. The service was great. The 5:30 drinks and snacks were awesome before we ventured out to the riverwalk. We used the pools and loved them both during the day and at night. It was a great stay overall.

Room Tip: Ask for the oversized room. It was a great view of the city and good sized for a downtown hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dantoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2011

Good Hotel with nice clean rooms in a good location on the riverwalk! The corner suites are quiet and spacious! The free breakfast , snacks and drinks are also a plus! Loved the two pools and the staff is always very nice! Never had a bad experience with the staff! Great for a short trip!

Room Tip: Corner suites are bigger and nicer!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BigCountryBoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
33 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2011

My husband and I recently stayed at the Drury for four nights, and we were extremely happy we chose it. Our room was really lovely, and it was very cozy, clean, and quiet. Also, the rooftop terrace is definitely a must when the weather is good.

I was pleasantly surprised by the free breakfast. The food was not fancy, but it was far better than any other "free" hotel breakfast I've had, and there were more choices than I expected.

The location is great too; the back of the hotel is on a pretty and quiet spot of the Riverwalk, and it is right by lots of bars, restaurants, shopping etc (check out SoHo and The Esquire if you want a cool vibe and great cocktails). A general warning - cabs don't seem to be too frequent in San Antonio, however the staff will happily call you one if needed. In fact, all the staff was very friendly and helpful during our stay.

All in all, we were really happy with the hotel and would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alinum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#21 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,459 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Contessa
#11 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,034 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#10 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,880 reviews
East Side
Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk

Property: Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Address: 105 South Saint Mary's Street, San Antonio, TX 78205-2810
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Downtown , East Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#9 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#32 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk 3*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk is located on the San Antonio River, walking distance from shops, restaurants and entertainment. Relax in the sun on the deck of the rooftop pool, which also has two whirlpools! Formerly the Alamo National Bank, this 24-story renovated skyscraper features 50-foot ceilings, travertine flooring and stained glass windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Drury Hotels Company, LLC, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Plaza San Antonio
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing