We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Ranked #9 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
69 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Delightful!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2011

This hotel was great! Very large room in the new tower. Frig and microwave. The hotel has free cocktails and appetizers 5:30-7:00pm. Free breakfast in the mornings. Right on the river. As with all city hotels you do pay for parking. The staff was very nice. I will stay here again if we get back to San Antonio.

Room Tip: New tower room 968 looks onto a roof top patio and planter. During the day people can not see throug...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingnonni99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,662 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,723
    684
    166
    52
    37
See reviews for
883
963
62
368
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (588)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, TX
Level Contributor
74 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

This hotel is an older hotel but still modern. The architecture and the inside décor is quite unique and eclectic. The rooms are nice. They offer a full hot breakfast in the morning and happy hour in the evening. Guest get 3 free drink along with snacks. They have a pool and hot tub but I didn’t get a chance to use them. The gym was small but fine as long as there weren’t that many people in there. The conference rooms were large. However the snacks given weren’t great. The cookies were hard. The hotel does have a direct route to the river walk. There is added security after 5 pm where you are required to have a room key to get into the hotel.

Overall a great hotel.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gixxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, VA
Level Contributor
145 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

I picked this hotel because of the wonderful T.A. reviews and again, was right on point. We were so impressed with the building and history. The staff was super friendly and made the stay comfortable. The room was clean and spacious with a fridge and microwave. The free breakfast and evening reception was awesome. Also they have fountain drinks, coffee, hot chocolate and water most of the day and nite, along with fresh popcorn in the afternoon. The location was perfect, the elevator in the hotel will take you directly to the riverwalk. The hotel is centered to all of the activities and bus stops. They have a pool on the 22nd floor along with two hot tubs. Even if you don't swim, go up and take in some Texas sun and views. We would definitely stay her again and have recommended the hotel to our family for their future stay

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KSaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee WI
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

We had a comfortable, clean & quiet corner room on the 12th floor. Breakfast each day was good. (scrambled eggs, sausage, pancakes, oatmeal, fruit, muffins, donuts, cereal, yogurt). and the evening kickback was a nice break to the day. We would come back to swim each afternoon & then go to the kickback... The food choices weren't the greatest, (maybe ok for families with young kids) but the free drinks were good ~ we usually shared a plate of nachos with our drinks!

The location was great, we were within walking distance to The Alamo and Market Square. The hotel's lower level exits right onto the Riverwalk. Very Convenient. Also it felt safe since room keys were required to enter the hotel through the Riverwalk level and to use the elevator on the lower level & 1st floors.

My only complaint is the hotel does not provide daily maid service. I did see the card in the room about not changing the sheets daily (which was fine) However, I do want fresh towels and trash emptied daily. After calling the front desk on the 2nd day to inquire, I was told "We don't provide daily maid service,... WAS there something that you need??"

In summary, the Drury Plaza will provide a wonderful stay ! Be sure to call for clean towels :-)

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room, lots of windows (that have total black out for sleeping) lots of space and ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wags02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbury, Minnesota
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2011

So many good reviews and I agree with them. Only a couple things to add from my experience. You enter the Drury Plaza into a beautiful two story lobby of an old stately building. The hotel has extras like the free drinks and food, rooftop pool, outside terraces etc.. We were very happy with our room even through it was a bit of a hike to get there. It was in a different building that you go to through a short skyway (cathedral wing?) And you had to take a second elevator to get there. Up one elevator to the 6th? floor, get out walk across the skyway, get in another elevator and go up to your room. The first time I was sure I'd get lost but after a couple of times it really wasn't an issue. The advantage I think was that those rooms were very large with tall ceilings. We had a King w sofabed and both were very comfortable. The valet parking was not my favorite (I'll carry my bags and park my car, thank you) but it did have in/out privilege and given the congestion of the area it was probably worth it.
If you're looking for a "premium" hotel with top notch everything go somewhere else and pay the price. This is a great family stay, with comfortable accomodations and extras that are above the norm along with outstanding service. Great place for the price. They go beyond the mark for their target market. Enjoy.

Room Tip: If you're visiting Trinity College ask about discounted rates.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GGGmn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rowlett, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2011

We booked this hotel for a convention of a group of developmentally challenged young adults. Everyone had a great time and all of our needs were met by the very friendly and helpful staff all hours of the day and night. We never had a bad experience during the 5 days we were there. It was very conveniently located on the Riverwalk near all of the activities and excursions we had planned. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone planning a trip to San Antonio, as a group or just a family vacation. Lots of things to do closeby for couples or families with young children. The breakfast buffet was fabulous as well as the "Kickback" evening dinner and drinks.

Room Tip: Our first room was on the 5th floor and on a corner. It was kind of loud at night, but after I was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmarshall18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

My daughter and I spent two nights at the Drury Plaza Hotel which is located on the Riverwalk and convenient to so many downtown attractions. It is about a 20 minute drive from the airport and costs about $28. We were quickly registered and given our room keys. I asked for a recommendation for a Mexican or Southwestern restaurant within walking distance of the hotel and was directed to the Iron Catus which is a block and a half from the hotel. The only problem is that we were told to go out the front door cross the street and go to the first stairway to go down to the Riverwalk. We should have been directed to the basement of the hotel where the back entrance takes you immediately to the Riverwalk. It is an interesting walk and you can view a hugh vault that was part of the this old renovated bank building. We made our way to the 15th floor and found our room clean and perfect for our two night stay. We were amazed at how quiet the hotel is. Since it is a renovated building the walls must be think and you do not hear a thing, so it is a great hotel for a good nights sleep. The morning breakfast is more than just cold cereal and coffee. There was sausage, pancakes, bagels, toast, eggs, yogert, muffins, and a choice of fresh fruit. Coffee was not as good as a Starbucks. I do not like Ronnoco coffee, so I had to stop at Einstein Bagels (right on Riverwalk) for a really good cup of coffee on our way to the Alamo. The Alamo is about a 5 block walk along the Riverwalk and is very interesting. Don't waste your time on the Mall unless you need some clothing for business or travel, it is like every other Mall in America with the same stores. The hotel is also conveniently located just about 7 or 8 blocks from the Market Square. A neat little place to find all kinds of souvenirs and wonderful restaurants. Wish we had gone to Mi Terria Cafe and Bakery two times. It is has great food and a bakery 365 days a year 24/7. The hotel also arranged for a car service (Alamo Taxi) to take us to our meeting on Tuesday and then arrange for pickup to the airport. The staff and service are terrific and I highly recommend this hotel for family and business travellers.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barbara_2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#23 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,469 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Contessa
#11 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,039 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#10 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,886 reviews
East Side
Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk

Property: Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Address: 105 South Saint Mary's Street, San Antonio, TX 78205-2810
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Downtown , East Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#9 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#32 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk 3*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk is located on the San Antonio River, walking distance from shops, restaurants and entertainment. Relax in the sun on the deck of the rooftop pool, which also has two whirlpools! Formerly the Alamo National Bank, this 24-story renovated skyscraper features 50-foot ceilings, travertine flooring and stained glass windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Drury Hotels Company, LLC, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Plaza San Antonio
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing