We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Great stay with exceptions” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Ranked #9 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great stay with exceptions”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012 via mobile

Check in was quick and easy after an eight hour train ride. The initial room we had the TV remote didn't work, after four requests and two maintenance no shows we were moved to another room. The stay from that point on was wonderful.
Breakfast and 5:30 kickback was good but very crowded. The front staff were nice as well. The lower level leading to the riverwalk was nice seeing the vaults and pictures was a surprise. I would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deemark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,556 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,647
    667
    158
    49
    35
See reviews for
853
918
61
350
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (565)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

This stay was incredible it had a lot of amenities and freebies. It offered a full hot breakfast and in the afternoon had popcorn and sodas and later also hot snacks and drinks for adults they were so ..not one but two pools to enjoy and the rooms were spacious clean and comfortable..valet parking wad so convenient and staff was so helpful and friendly..best of all it was right of the river walk

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrodrig16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montgomery, Texas
Level Contributor
75 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2012

This Drury property is just great. It is on the river, the staff is great and the building, a deco-era bank converted to a hotel, is pretty cool. Breakfast is very good, social hour is just so-so. It has a roof-top pool that the kids really like and the price is very good. Overall, we really, really like this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GetUsROI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fraser, Colorado
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2012

We took our 2 girls for the weekend and were very impressed! The staff at the hotel was beyond phenomenal and super helpful! The on-site valet parking is worth every penny. Our room was a king suite with spa tub in the new San Fernando tower and was so big and comfortable! The tub was the size of a small pool! The free hot breakfast was ok, but not worth it for non pork eating people like myself. Kickback at 5h30 was well worth it! The only bad things I have to say is that the elevators are very busy and congested and that we found a dirty sock underneath the bed. Other than that, perfect if you have kids and if you want to be close to the action!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LunaLii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Stockton, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012 via mobile

We stayed 3 cays and 2 nights and had a great time. The breakfast was great as was the kickback. The front desk kept the ice packets for my insulin cross for me. If we had any problems, the manager was quick to take care of any concerns. Quick to the river walk and Alamo.

Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank ccircleb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2012

Loved the history attached to this renovated hotel and enjoyed seeing the old bank vaults and pictures on display from the once Alamo National Bank. The stained glass in the lobby is worth visiting even if you do not stay here, but why wouldn't you, the rooms are spacious and exudes the charm of old Texas style meets modern day conveniences.

Although you can access the river from downstairs, I suggest heading across the street (street level) to the old Aztec Theatre and using the stairs as an access point to the river. Here you will find a quick walk to restaurants and the river boats.
If you head out from the hotel on the river and turn right, you will be disappointed if you're looking for a string of restaurants and bars nearby, I felt that this side was quite peaceful and a long walk to the main strip on the river.

It took me about 10 minutes to stroll the Riverwalk to the Riverwalk Mall.

If on a budget for your trip, consider eating dinner/snack at the 'Kickback' offered from 5:30 to 7 pm on the second floor. Nachos, hot dogs, mac and cheese, chicken strips, veggies, as well as sodas, wine, and mixed drinks were offered each night. No restaurant at the hotel otherwise. Breakfast was good, basic offerings of pancakes, eggs, sausage patties, cereals, fruit, muffins, yogurt and drinks.

Valet parking was $19 a night, valets were extremely helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: The room was perfect on the inside but very close to the elevators and could hear the 'ding'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fishnips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012 via mobile

I stayed here for one night while touring. I am a veteran international traveller having travelled around the world multiple times and being used to taying in four star accomodation, so I know standards and appreciate what staff can do for travelers.

The hotel was a pleasant stay and all facilities were of a high standard. The location was good with a direct access to the Riverwalk. The "Happy Hour" was adequate though I wondered about the baked potatoes as a snack! The only problem was the crush, it seemed as though hundreds descended as soon as the lounge opened and there was inadequate seating for all. Having said that, the three free drinks were a pleasant surprise and the bar staff were great.

Breakfast was good and the crowded experience of the "Happy Hour" was not repeated.

All the staff I came across were pleasant and extremely helpfully.

Overall I would recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to stay in San Antonio.

Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank AussieTrevor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#21 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Contessa
#11 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,918 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#10 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,731 reviews
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk

Property: Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Address: 105 South Saint Mary's Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Downtown , East Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#9 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#32 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk 3*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk is located on the San Antonio River, walking distance from shops, restaurants and entertainment. Relax in the sun on the deck of the rooftop pool, which also has two whirlpools! Formerly the Alamo National Bank, this 24-story renovated skyscraper features 50-foot ceilings, travertine flooring and stained glass windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Drury Hotels Company, LLC, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Plaza San Antonio
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing