We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great bang for your buck!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Ranked #8 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great bang for your buck!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012

This hotel is great! The extras that come with your room is a reason to keep coming back. Each day of your stay there is a breakfast buffet complete with, eggs,hashbrowns, sausage, pancakes, biscuits, gravy, cerals, pastries, bagels and juices. AND there is also an evening reception that offers 3 alcoholic beverages per person along with hot foods like hot dogs, nachos, mac and cheese, meatballs, pasta, salad and chili. What is extra special about the hotel are the many terrace and roof top spots to enjoy. We visited 3 rooftop spots, there may have been more. The staff was very friendly and helpful. This hotel is on the Riverwalk, you just take the access from the lobby, downstairs and around the corner is the most lively part of the area. We will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank divavee1030
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,620 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,695
    678
    161
    50
    36
See reviews for
871
948
62
356
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (578)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2012

A neat hotel that was converted from a bank. The decor in the lobby is and lower conference area is neat. This one also has direct access to the Riverwalk which is nice. I liked how they gave guests access to soda, water and popcorn for several hours of the day. They also have a nice happy hour with alcoholic beverages included with your stay. Also, the breakfast the next morning is nice as well. Be careful you don't over eat when you stay here though, especially if you want to try out some of the local food. I ended up eating too much the first night so I didn't have an appetite for local food.

The rooms were nice inside, there is very much an old "office" feeling from the elevator to the outside of your guest room. We also used the gym which is very clean.

I thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. My only gripe was the bed was too soft and I sunk into the bed which was a little uncomfortable for my back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view and it is likely they'll accommodate you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seasontravelergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

We stayed in room 927, a wheelchair accessible room, and were happy to have it. We'd booked the last available room weeks in advance. The hotel is beautiful, with incredible architecture. It was the former Alamo Bank and you can actually see the huge safe on the lower level. Very impressive! The staff is polite and helpful, the complimentary breakfast was great, happy hour was a huge bonus, the roof top terrace was wheel chair accessible and had a great view.

My only complaint is that the wheelchair accessible room is soooo far from the lobby. We had to get on the main elevators and go to the sixth floor, get out of that elevator and go down the hall to another set of elevators, take that elevator to the 9th floor, wheel down the hall and then up 2 ramps, then push to the end of the hall to the very last room. Are you kidding me? Who decided to put a handicap accessible room in the this location?! I would love for the manager to get in a manual wheel chair or use a walker and attempt navigate himself this distance. I can't even imagine how an elderly person could navigate that distance. They really need to rethink this room location.
The bed was much too high for a wheelchair transfer but the staff quickly resolved this problem by removing the frame and putting the foundation and mattress on the floor. This made it very accessible.
The Riverwallk is under construction at this time. If you use the hotel elevator to get to the Riverwalk level you will not be able to go more than a few feet as the walkway is closed at this location. Wish we had known that before we booked. It left us with a lot of extra pushing.
We had a room service menu in our room but when we attempted to order we were the hotel does not offer room service or have a restaurant. The complimentary breakfast is served until 10 and was a nice meal. Hot dogs, loaded baked potatoes, salad and veggies with dip were all served at the happy hour. Drinks were very good and you're given a punch card for 3 drinks per day. These were very nice perks.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warner Robins, Georgia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

Love that the history of the building is preserved. We were in a deluxe 2 room suite. I loved the terrace and over-sized jacuzzi tub. The room amenities were as stated and it was very clean - huge closet. The valet parking sounds expensive, but I think it's a must for the area. It was convenient to have the car when we wanted it, and to know it was secure otherwise. The Quickstart breakfast was good. On the hot side, they had pancakes, sausage, eggs, sawmill gravy and biscuits, potatoes. I'd prefer bacon to sausage, but the food was good and always warm. They also had bagels, cereal, etc. We stopped in for one of the free drinks during the Kickback one evening and could have made a meal, but opted to eat on the Riverwalk. The only issue is we were in the San Fernando Tower and had to follow a maze and take 2 elevators to get to our room. The Riverwalk access is great - even though the city is currently working on the sidewalk to that area and you have to either get a river taxi or walk up street side.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Waiting_on_summer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Paso, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 October 2012

Sea World and Six Flags were closed during the week because apparently San Antonio people are the only people to visit these parks. (Kids were back in school) Ridiculous! What made up for this awful trip was the hotel. Breakfast in the morning, Popcorn and fountain drinks at 3:30, Kick back dinner and free alcoholic beverages? Did I mention the indoor and outdoor pool, and beautiful rooms overlooking the River Walk? The staff was outstanding! Will definately return to The Drury Plaza Hotel!

Room Tip: Upgrade to the suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Arlene C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
90 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

This hotel is quite lovely and has an impressive lobby, and is located in the old Alamo Bank building on the Riverwalk in San Antonio. All cars are valet parked at $19 a day, and although they are in a garage directly beside the hotel, you cannot go to the car if you forget something you need. Do yourself a favor and take everything with you to your room. The rooms are clean and the beds very comfortable. We had a nice suite with a separate bedroom, bath, kitchenette and den. All were spacious and the fridge full-size. The bathroom was very nice and well-lit, with plenty of counter space, bath linens and (most importantly!) a soap dish by the sink so no messy soap/water mess there. The first problem there was that the ice bucket and cups were in the bathroom! Why, why, why do hotels put these things in the most unsanitary room in a hotel suite?! It should be a violation of sanitation codes to do so, especially when there is a kitchenette in the suite. I immediately moved it to the top of the fridge, and we did not use it during our stay. The second problem with the bath was no fan or ventilation, so it was hot and fogged up even though I do not take a very hot shower. Breakfast is included with the room, and is located on the 2nd floor. It is a "cut above" the normal Drury Inn breakfast, and was good. The area is large so service is fairly fast and it's not crowded. The hotel desk clerks were all very friendly and helpful, and we asked for a late checkout the day of departure and received it with no problem. Also, the hotel has a back access directly to the Riverwalk, and it's only a quick block or so to the Riverwalk from the front entrance of the hotel. There are several good restaurants located on the Riverwalk very near the hotel. I'd stay here if visiting the area again if wanting to be on the Riverwalk. I wouldn't stay here is my primary area to visit in San Antonio was elsewhere. The rooms, although a bit pricey, are not as expensive as many other Riverwalk hotels. You should heed what others have said and ask for rooms on a higher floor to avoid some of the street noise in the area in late evening if you are a light sleeper or wish to go to bed early.

Room Tip: Higher floors give better view and quieter evenings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sittingonready
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Drury Plaza Hotel Riverwalk for a weekend. The valet parking although not preferred, was convenient. The room was very clean and in great condition. The only qualms we experienced was the food in the morning buffet was subpar. Most of the food was cold and there wasn't much of a wide variety. In short, it's a hotel that is great to stay in if you don't want all the bells and whistles your standard luxury hotels have.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JourneyGriffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,389 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Contessa
#9 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,003 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#12 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,825 reviews
East Side
Holiday Inn Riverwalk
Holiday Inn Riverwalk
#16 of 353 in San Antonio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk

Property: Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Address: 105 South Saint Mary's Street, San Antonio, TX 78205-2810
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Downtown , East Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#9 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#32 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk 3*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk is located on the San Antonio River, walking distance from shops, restaurants and entertainment. Relax in the sun on the deck of the rooftop pool, which also has two whirlpools! Formerly the Alamo National Bank, this 24-story renovated skyscraper features 50-foot ceilings, travertine flooring and stained glass windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Drury Hotels Company, LLC and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Plaza San Antonio
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing