We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Perfect!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Ranked #9 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2014

I read review, after review, after review on hotels on the riverwalk before settling on this one. Every place I looked at had had plenty of extremely unhappy guests. After staying here, I can't begin to imagine what problem anyone could have with this place. The staff was beyond accomodating. We arrived very late and they got us checked in quickly and easily. The place is very clean, in an old bank building with beautiful stained glass, ornate moldings & fixtures. Really beautiful. It's on the quiet end of the riverwalk so, no late night noises. We had a terrace so, definitely a little noise from traffic and street cleaners but, slept very well. Comfortable beds and linens. We were in a suite in the tower. It took a little while to get to the room from the riverwalk but, such a relaxing place to get to that it's worth the trip :) Rooftop pool & cathedral terrace are great additions to the atmosphere. The free breakfast was great, in a big area overlooking the lobby with windows to the outside. Also here they have free cocktails and appetizers every day at 5:30. You could make this a meal if you wanted to. There's plenty of good, hot food. We didn't end up going for supper until about 9. The staff helped us with cabs, our rental car, directions, everything we needed. They even called us to see if our visit was meeting or exceeding our expectations. I did think it was expensive. I've never paid over 200 dollars a night for a hotel room. The taxes and fees everywhere in this area are rediculous. There seemed to be a lot of people cleaning and maintaining the area so, I'm sure the money is used to keep everything nice. Nevertheless, I would recommend this place to anyone. I was ready to leave the riverwalk but not the Drury!

Room Tip: I think the tower has the newest rooms. The higher up you are, the less noise you'll get from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank eeboz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DruryHotels, General Manager at Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this review, 24 February 2014
We were extremely excited to read and share your review with our team. Thank you for the research you completed on TripAdvisor prior to selecting our hotel and thank you for the time spent writing the posted review of your experience. Please know we appreciate it! In fact, each manager will utilize your feedback to directly reinforce the behaviors you experienced while a guest in our hotel. We can’t thank you enough for your input and can’t wait to welcome you back on a future visit!

Warm Regards,
Matthew H.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,556 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,647
    667
    158
    49
    35
See reviews for
853
918
61
350
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (565)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2014

I stayed at the Drury Plaza in February for 1 night. The staff is incredibly friendly, professional and very welcoming. The hotel is well maintained keeping in mind that the building is very old.
However, walking into the hotel gives you a San Antonio feeling. A city filled with history and very ancient. I have no complaints or anything negative about the Drury Plaza. It was worth the one night stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cecilia c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014 via mobile

We took a much needed break from the brutal winter we've been having "up-north" and decided to spend a week in San Antonio. Having been a fan of the Drury hotels in other states we were excited to stay at one of the historic use hotels. Absolutely loved this particular hotel - stunning interior lobby, fantastic room in the San Fernando tower and the pool and hot tubs on the roof were breathtaking. So many of the extras that you just don't find anywhere else added to our ultimate get-away!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank skyecameron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oro Valley, Arizona
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

My overall review of the hotel is positive and I would stay here again. They are very committed to making sure you are not nickel and dimed to death on small things like Wi-Fi and room perks and that is very much appreciated. The daily morning breakfast and evening snack/cocktails are very nice to have as well, but I did not use them everyday.

The room was very clean and nicely appointed. I had a suite that had a full-size fridge which was also convenient. My only complaint about the room was the street noise. My first night was on the 10th floor and the noise from the multitude of buses that go through the St Mary's corridor awoke me frequently. I asked for a different room for the rest of my stay and they moved me to the 17th floor (same room side of hotel), and the street noise was then bearable, but I could still hear it. I normally bring a fan when I travel to drown out noises, but did not have room on this trip and there was no ambient noise (like a fan) in the room. Anyway, that was my only complaint about the room.

The rooftop pool is very cool, but since it is on the roof, it is also subject to winds, which made it not so comfortable. The fitness center is also not very good if you want to lift weights. Very old and not so well maintained equipment made a decent workout pretty much impossible and they do not have any agreements with local gyms like other places I've stayed in San Antonio.

I was also not very happy that when I asked for a late checkout, the best they could do for me was noon. Even though I spent 4 nights there and am a Gold Key Club Member. I thought this was not very acceptable. They did store my baggage for free for the afternoon, however.

Room Tip: Not on the St Marys Street side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AZTrojan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DruryHotels, Manager at Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Thank you for selecting our hotel on your recent visit to San Antonio. It was our pleasure to serve you. We appreciate the time dedicated to writing your review and the great comments directed towards our housekeeping team. We will be sure to share your comments with them in our morning meeting.
Further, please accept our sincere apology for the road noise you experienced on St. Mary's. Although the majority of city buses cease operation at 11:00pm, there could be a private tour bus arriving late to a nearby hotel. Also, thank you for your opinion on our fitness center. Our team will take an in-depth look at the workout experience we offer and ensure it is of the same high quality you are accustomed to at Drury Hotels. We truly appreciate your loyalty to our company as a Gold Key member and regret we were not able to honor your request for a later checkout; generally we are able to honor such requests.
Thank you again for visiting us at the Drury Plaza Hotel Riverwalk. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Matthew H.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
319 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 327 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

My family and I stayed at the Drury River Plaza in November 2013. We absolutely loved this chain of hotels. They really do treat their guest very well.

The property is located downtown San Antonio, directly on the River Walk. Chase bank is on the property and there are plenty of shops, restaurant and entertainment a very short distance on the River Walk. All of the staff at the hotel are great. They were all very friendly, and helpful. They went out of their way to make us feel special.

The property is the former Alamo National Bank. There is the 22 story Alamo tower and a 15 story San Fernando Tower. The hotel has a wonderful 1960 era feel, and decor. The lobby is very grand. The old bank teller area is now the guest check-in area. There is an outdoor pool on top of the Alamo tower, and an indoor pool in the San Fernando tower. There is also a very functional gym and a jacuzzi. There are 2 coin-op laundry room with 2 washers and 2 dryers in each room. It’s $1.50 to wash, and $1.50 to dry, detergent and static cloths are $1 each. There is also a semi-private computer room with 4 computers and 2 printers which are free to use.

The serve a great free breakfast daily which includes; eggs, sausage/bacon, pancakes, potatoes, biscuits and gravy, cereals, breads/pastries, and juices, milk. They also have a “Kick back” every day from 5:30 - 7:30pm which includes; 3 alcoholic drinks, 3 entries such as hotdogs, pasta and meatballs, chicken nuggets. They also serve veggies, salad, chips & dip, and sodas. They also have free popcorn and soda every day from 3-10pm.

The elevators on the ground floor all require a room key to operate for security. There is free WIFI in the lobby with a strong signal. You must valet your vehicle and the cost is $21 per day with in/out privileges.

We stayed in a one room suite, with 2 queen beds. We found with room to be of medium size, and had very classy decorations, was clean and well maintained. The beds and pillows were very comfortable. The room had plenty of drawer and closet space. There was free in-room WIFI with a very strong signal. There was no room safe, but it was easy to use the safety deposit boxes at the front desk.

The front room had a desk, and reclining lazy boy (loved this chair), a medium sized HD flatscreen television with lots of cable channels and free HBO channels, a microwave, a refrigerator, coffee maker, iron and board. The bedroom had the 2 queen beds and another medium sized HD flatscreen television.

The bathroom had the sink, toilet, tub/shower all in one room with large windows that provided great views. The bathroom was medium sized, very clean, and well maintained.. There was also a blow dryer.

I love this hotel chain because they do not nickle and dime their customers, in fact it’s just the opposite, they include many freebies in the price of the room. This is a fantastic hotel, especially for families. The next time I visit San Antonio, I couldn’t imagine staying anywhere else. I would highly recommend this wonderful hotel to all of my family and friends. I’m looking forward to my next stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SNAFU23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
st. paul, mn
Level Contributor
56 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

We stayed here for two nights with family for a quick vacation to see San Antonio. The hotel was fantastic. The location on the riverwalk made it easy to access all of downtown San Antonio. The staff was great. Everybody we encountered was very pleasant and helpful. It's obvious that management takes the time and spends the money to properly train their staff. The breakfast and happy hour were very nice perks. Rooms were large, clean and well appointed. We will definetely return to this hotel on our next visit.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank trveler50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

Old Bank renovated to hotel... great atmosphere right on the river walk. you get the feeling it is an old office environment, but behind the doors are nice rooms. a little snug, but well appointed. Great place, great time.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#21 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Contessa
#11 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,918 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#10 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,731 reviews
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk

Property: Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Address: 105 South Saint Mary's Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Downtown , East Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#9 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#32 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk 3*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk is located on the San Antonio River, walking distance from shops, restaurants and entertainment. Relax in the sun on the deck of the rooftop pool, which also has two whirlpools! Formerly the Alamo National Bank, this 24-story renovated skyscraper features 50-foot ceilings, travertine flooring and stained glass windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Drury Hotels Company, LLC, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Plaza San Antonio
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing