We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Historic building, great location, awesome staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Ranked #9 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Jackson, Miss.
Level Contributor
442 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 347 helpful votes
“Historic building, great location, awesome staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Our family of three visited San Antonio in March for spring break, and we stayed at this property. What a find! The hotel is in the old Alamo National Bank Building, right on the Riverwalk, and much of what you'll see inside the lobby is original to the structure. A beautiful stained glass window, gold leaf moldings, original brass/bronze fixtures and gorgeous marble have either been painstakingly restored or recovered. The vault is even still in the basement! Not only that, tons of extras are included in the (very reasonable) room price: free hot breakfast buffet, free snacks and drinks each evening, and free sodas/popcorn each afternoon. We splurged a bit on a king suite with a balcony and a gorgeous city view. Our room was spacious, with two televisions, a king bed, a fold-out couch, and a mini-fridge/extra sink. (And the staff was soooo friendly and went out of their way at every opportunity to help us. I've rarely felt more welcome in a property. Two HUGE thumbs up for this hotel.)

Room Tip: We stayed in the San Fernando Tower and had a gorgeous view of the cathedral from our balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bradshawgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,662 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,723
    684
    166
    52
    37
See reviews for
883
963
62
368
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (588)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Comstock Park, MI
Level Contributor
274 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Room was amazing, we got a room with a cry view and it was great. Of course the "extras" are always a huge bonus at Drury. Pricing is in line with the area. Hot Breakfast and great hors d'oeuvres and drinks in the evening. Relaxing quiet and perfect location. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enid, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

Great valet parking. Very friendly staff. Great happy hour and wonderful coffee in the morning. Hotel has loads of character. Really enjoy the black-and-white photos on the way to the lower level Riverwalk access.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank BeachBums16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington State
Level Contributor
170 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014

The Drury is in a great location. Right on the Riverwalk, and really in the prime part of it. It also has some great views. We stayed in a suite in the San Fernando Tower. Amazing views. It was so nice to sit on our balcony and watch the sun go down. The San Fernando Cathedral is beautiful, especially lit up at night. It also offers the free breakfast and a free food and drink time in the evening. The breakfast was pretty good breakfast fare. Hot food. The evening time meal was fine, and it was nice to be able to relax a bit after walking all day. The process for getting everyone fed is efficient and easy to use.

The staff were mostly helpful. The valet and front desk were the most helpful. We made several requests for our room which were ignored. Such as requesting a few more creamer and getting the lotion replaced after we used it all. Another thing to know would be that the toiletries they provide are really poor quality. I usually just rely on the hotel's shampoo, conditioner and lotion. I had to go buy some travel size toiletries. And I am not picky about such things!

The rooms are on the shabby side but fine, and basically clean. Noise travels through the walls quite nicely.

The other item is a bit hard to write down without sounding uppity. But in the interest of letting people know what they are getting into.......offering freebies such as the breakfast and evening alcohol/food is great. But it can also attract a certain type of traveler who is out for all they can get. We ran into many families who we're gorging on the free food, running down the halls in their bare feet or returning from the pool soaking wet and getting water everywhere. They tended to be loud in the halls and clueless about being considerate of others.

All in all, this hotel has a lot to offer. I think the biggest problem is that we were not well-suited to it.

Room Tip: Make sure to bring your own toiletries.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elle1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DruryHotels, Manager at Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Thank you for selecting our hotel for your visit to San Antonio along with the extra time spent to write a review of your experience. While we are not satisfied with anything less than a perfect stay for our guests, we appreciate the feedback to assist in immediate improvement - Specifically, responding to guest requests for additional amenities. It is our goal to honor every guest request in an acceptable time frame. Further, you will be happy to know that Drury Plaza Hotels are in the midst of upgrading all of our bathroom amenity products. Last, we understand your comments about unruly guests and together with our security officers we will ensure basic rules like quiet hours, running in the hallways, and water from the pool are attended to immediately.

Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to a Drury Hotel in the future.

Sincerely,
Matthew H.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Franklin, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

Great location, friendly staff, clean rooms and good food. The front desk was always very friendly and helpful when we ask for information. The breakfast buffet was always clean and well stocked. The evening kickoffs had a large selection of snacks.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Macon, Georgia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

I recently stayed at this hotel as a solo traveler. I really appreciated the commitment to safety and security. There were strong locks on the doors and a room key was needed to either operate the elevators or enter from the Riverwalk.
The hotel has a beautiful atrium. The hallways were rather dreary and could do with an update though.
I was pleasantly surprised that the afternoon kickback offered mixed drinks as well as beer and wine.

Room Tip: Request a room on the quieter side of the hotel. But you are downtown!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BlondeTraveler16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lubbock
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2014

Best place to stay. Walking distance to everything in downtown San Antonio. Price is great for the river as well. We will definitely be staying here again and telling our friends and families. Great afternoon drinks and snacks. Great breakfast loved that they had multiple serving stations to get ed. Beds were a little soft for me but after a day of walking around downtown we were tired enough to fall asleep.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tbear1Lubbock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#23 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,464 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Contessa
#11 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,034 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#10 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,887 reviews
East Side
Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk

Property: Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Address: 105 South Saint Mary's Street, San Antonio, TX 78205-2810
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Downtown , East Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#9 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#32 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk 3*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk is located on the San Antonio River, walking distance from shops, restaurants and entertainment. Relax in the sun on the deck of the rooftop pool, which also has two whirlpools! Formerly the Alamo National Bank, this 24-story renovated skyscraper features 50-foot ceilings, travertine flooring and stained glass windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Drury Hotels Company, LLC, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Plaza San Antonio
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing