We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Older hotel, lots of amenities”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Ranked #9 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Great deal, free breakfast, cocktail hour - kind of amazing how much you get for free even though he food isn't really my type of cuisine - lot'sof families here - which is understandable since food is free! Easy access to the riverwalk, beds nice, linens good, decor very dated but it is a cool retro bank building which kind of makes up for that. Here to give a training course and the meeting staff were great.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kelleyanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DruryHotels, Manager at Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Thank you for staying with us on your recent visit to San Antonio and the subsequent time used to write a review on Trip Advisor. We were excited to read that you enjoyed our "extra's aren't extra" philosophy. We are proud of our breakfast and 5:30 kickback offering and happy you found it amazing too. Further, you are correct about our hotel being a renovated bank. The building was built in 1929 as Alamo National Bank and renovated into a hotel by the Drury Family in 2006. Major thought was given to the furnishings and décor in order to maintain the historic and charming feel of the building. We are happy you enjoyed yourself and were able to conduct a productive meeting. We hope to welcome you back soon to the Drury Plaza Hotel.

Matthew H.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,804)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,349 - 1,355 of 2,804 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014

I had a great stay at the Drury Plaza Riverwalk. The room was very nice, well furnished, very clean. It had a large bath. In total, 3 large windows for a lot of natural light. The free breakfast was good. The evening reception was awesome! Great food, 3 free drinks, plus unlimited soda and popcorn. The pools and hot tubs were very nice. Interesting displays of the original electrical and elevator systems in the basement, which also provides direct access to the Riverwalk. I will definitely stay here again in 2 months when I return.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AlabamaTraveler61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

What a great place to spend a weekend! Less expensive than many of the waterfront hotels, and it includes free breakfast, and free food and alcoholic beverages in the evening. Internet was also included in the price. A block from the river, it is a fantastic central location with an easy walk to any location on the River Walk, convention center and parks. Loved the views from its many decks and the rooftop pool. Friendly, helpful staff in a gorgeous historic building. Our room was on the 16th floor, which probably made it a bit more quiet than those closer to city traffic, and we also had a view of the river. The only thing missing was a balcony. We will definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LiathATX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014

The hotel is awesome, secure, great location, lots of free food and drinks... The best place on the river that I have stayed at. The jacuzzi tub with separate shower was nice. The room we had featured two queen beds and a separate living area.



  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Kevin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

Very much enjoyed this hotel. From the moment we stepped out in the Valet, we were greeted with friendly faces. At 1l:00 am, our room was ready (even upgraded, which was a big surprise). We had a corner room on the 14th floor, the view at night was super. The hotel manager was very visible, even saw him in the kick-back at 6:00 p.m. Let there be no doubt, the kick back is enough for dinner, and the 3 drinks per person was extended until 9:00 pm during our visit. We were very satisfied with our stay and will stay here again with no hesitation. Don't miss walking thru the basement. You can see the original bank safe and many pictures from 50's and 60's. Also, on the 22 (or 23rd) floor, I found a laundry facility and work out room, but didn't use either.

Room Tip: The corner rooms and 2-room suites.
See more room tips
Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Fran143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

The quiet and cleanliness of this hotel were amazing. The customer service at the desk and among all the staff was top rate. A nice little reception every afternoon with food and drink, a decent breakfast each morning, and coffee available throughout the day made this a great place on the Riverwalk. It is an easy walk to the Convention Center, Macy's, and many restaurants. The beautiful San Fernando Cathedral is within eyesight and the Alamo is maybe three blocks away. Back to the cleanliness, I can't say enough about how important a clean bathroom is to me. There was NO mold or mildew in the bath. The room was dust-free, even the window sill and TV screen. My 17th floor no-smoking room had no residue or evidence of any past smokers, and the AC was super cold. I have been disappointed by room refrigerators in other locations, but the fridge was cold enough to freeze the contents and the microwave was also clean and in great working order. The fitness room and pool area a very adequate and the view from the rooftop makes for a nice time at sunset. I love that the original architecture is intact and beautifully maintained. I spent a good hour just looking at the beautiful gold and brass work in the lobby and the lovely stained glass over the front entrance. The Drury chain has done an excellent job with this property.

Room Tip: Ask for a room high up and away from the elevators. The celebrations after a Spurs win can be a lit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bobbie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Great location on the Riverwalk with easy access. Great hot breakfast, (no, I mean it was really great -- hot, tasty, and plenty) as well as the "5:30 kickback" with good free food and 3 drinks. Don't know about the drinks, didn't try them, but the food was good here as well, including salads, pasta, and assorted appetizer-type food (nachos, wings, southwest egg rolls), all tasty and fresh. The service was great, the rooms well-appointed. Two things to look out for: NO restaurant in the hotel -- and the parking is all valet (but at reasonable rates and excellent service). Both an indoor pool and a very cool outdoor rooftop pool were great for kids.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank adams2266
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#5 of 358 in San Antonio
3,114 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Contessa
#6 of 358 in San Antonio
3,248 reviews
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#20 of 358 in San Antonio
3,144 reviews
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 358 in San Antonio
3,922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk

Address: 105 South Saint Mary's Street, San Antonio, TX 78205-2810
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Downtown , East Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#9 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#32 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: £140 - £239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk 3*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk is located on the San Antonio River, walking distance from shops, restaurants and entertainment. Relax in the sun on the deck of the rooftop pool, which also has two whirlpools! Formerly the Alamo National Bank, this 24-story renovated skyscraper features 50-foot ceilings, travertine flooring and stained glass windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Plaza San Antonio
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing