We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Balcony worth the extra cost”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Ranked #9 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
113 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Balcony worth the extra cost”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

My family of 5 stayed in a 2 Queen bed plus Sofabed suite. Nice accommodations and very roomy. I paid extra for the balcony and it was worth it. The entire wall was plexy glass from top to bottom so the view was panoramic. The cathedral that lights up at night and has a projection of images with music was to our right. Below us was the balcony for the indoor swimming pool.

We were in the San Fernando building, which requires you to take one set of elevators to the 6th floor and then traverse down a couple of hallways to the another set of elevators to get to your room. A bit tedious if you need to go up and down a lot and a super inconvenience during checkout on Sunday morning. It worse than a casino hotel in Las Vegas because you have to go down two elevators and wait for an opening twice.

Hint: Press the elevator up button, but press the 1st floor when you enter.

The complimentary evening happy hour with hot food was excellent. You just have to wait when it gets crowded, but we came early and avoided most of it. Adults get a 3 drink ticket for alcohol. There are 3 bars that serve alcohol so choose wisely for the shortest line. Plenty of seating, but it filled up on Saturday night. It was baked potato, hot dog and chili night. There's a small salad bar and nacho chips and liquid cheesy goodness.

Breakfast is just as crazy crowded. No bacon or hash browns, but the sausage and eggs were good enough. Lots of other options.

The building used to be a historic bank. Architecture is beautiful in the atrium and mezzanine areas. The spiral stair case goes down to the riverwalk for convenience. Key card needed to re-enter the downstairs from the outside.

Finding a luggage cart is frustrating on Sunday morning. You need to go to the Valet parking and wait for one. The hotel needs to make a posted line for luggage carts because guests stand around and no one really knows who's first in line. The car valet line is pretty obvious. It backs up to the lobby since everyone waits for their car to be delivered. Fortunately, they have an attendant who walks up and gets the valet tickets from guests in line.

As much as I like my stay, I will have to consider a different Riverwalk hotel the next time.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the main tower and not the San Fernando building, which requires 2 separate elevat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hawaiibeachnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,689 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,742
    691
    167
    52
    37
See reviews for
891
967
62
375
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (595)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

We love this spot! Perfect for the whole family... The kids love it and there's plenty within walking distance to keep them busy while mom & dad knock out some business. The manager, Jenee, always makes things perfect for us when we come to town!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank MSAshley6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crosby, Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

We have stayed at the Drury Plaza on the Riverwalk several times now, and every time our experience and service was great. Its a short walk from the hotel to the main part(restaurants and shops) of the riverwalk. The Hotel is very nice and clean, and the staff is always courteous. They serve finger foods and snacks from 5pm-9pm and give each adult two drink vouchers. the Breakfast is very good as well, with plenty of options for everyone. Check in and out is always fast, as is the valet from retrieving your vehicle. A++ in our book. WE WILL BE BACK

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ryan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Prairie
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

The Drury Plaza Hotel is a perfect place to stay on the riverwalk. Given that it serves breakfast and a 5:30 kickback dinner, it's fairly affordable and convenient for families with kids who love to eat. The room was clean and the hotel itself was beautiful. With a teenager and a young child, it was helpful that there were two pools. The rooftop pool has a beautiful view, but I noticed later in the evening it becomes more of an adult hangout. There is also an indoor pool with a view of the San Fernando De Bexar Cathedral, which also has a spectacular art exhibition at night. I love that The Alamo and the Riverwalk was within walking distance. We just parked our car! You do need to budget for parking as it has valet, which is $21.00/day. We chose to park across the street for $16.00/day. All in all we felt this place was money well spent and would love to come back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dawn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We booked a trip for a group of 50 plus for this location. The accommodations exceeded everyone's expectations. Breakfast and Dinner buffets were an added plus. Rooms were spacious and the beds were comfortable. The staff was courteous and willing to assist at a drop of a hat. Drury Area Sales Coordinator Ms. Vega worked with our group coordinators to make sure we were taken care of, even taking the time to meet with members of our group during breakfast.

Overall, the Drury Riverwalk location provided an excellent stay for our group. We received 5 star service/accommodations for half of the cost.

Room Tip: Room suites do not come with pull out sofa beds. So take that into consideration when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Key_34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The whole weekend was a very good experience. Got to the hotel early and had the valet look after the car. Check-in was quick and easy. Liked the evening drinks and munches. The river walk is right out the back door. Breakfast was very good. Had a nice corner room suite which was very spacious. Outdoor pool was nice for a dip on the hot days.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trapper37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
McAllen, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Compared to other mid-scale hotels located on or just off the Riverwalk, the overall value is great.
Rooms are spacious, if a bit plain.
The building is a beautiful restoration and great use of a location that was previously a bank.
The breakfast and dinner is included which is a HUGE plus.
A bit of a wait for the room to ready but was in a comfortable lobby to wait so it wasn't a big deal.
Good location off the Riverwalk although there was a lot of unsavory characters hanging about the convenience stores across the street which was a turn-off.
A bit of a wait for the vehicle upon check-out but understandable due to the amount of people trying to get their vehicle around the same time, and all in all, the valets handled the situation very well and without the irritation and contempt that I've seen from other valet services.

One thing that stood out was that during the rush for the cars, I needed a few items from my car and was standing there waiting to speak to a valet but they were really busy and I was kinda overlooked by the supervisor at the desk.
One of the valets, Thomas, saw me and asked if I had been helped.
I told him I was not and just needed a few items from the car but was just going to return later because the valets were so busy and did not think they would want to take a moment to take me to the car. (I know that its times like this they they make a good chunk of money.)
To my surprise, he offered to take me to my car to retrieve the items I needed.
That stuck with me and all thought they weren't important things, I appreciated the fact that he had no problem stepping away from the chaos to help lil' ol' me.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iamyunique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#21 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,547 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Contessa
#11 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,075 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#10 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,950 reviews
East Side
Holiday Inn San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk

Property: Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Address: 105 South Saint Mary's Street, San Antonio, TX 78205-2810
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Downtown , East Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#9 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#32 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk 3*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk is located on the San Antonio River, walking distance from shops, restaurants and entertainment. Relax in the sun on the deck of the rooftop pool, which also has two whirlpools! Formerly the Alamo National Bank, this 24-story renovated skyscraper features 50-foot ceilings, travertine flooring and stained glass windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Plaza San Antonio
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing