We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but not great” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Ranked #8 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Chandler, Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good but not great”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

They are right there on the edge of being a great hotel but fall short of the 4-star rating that they have been given.
The lobby and common ares were nicely appointed and showed off the history of the building but the eating areas on the 2nd floor were not properly monitored during meal times and there were many tables that were dirty from previous guests.
The room was nice (corner king suite on the 14th floor) but the bed was not very comfortable and the kitchenette had absolutely nothing in the way of kitchen supplies (plates, utensils, ice trays, etc).
The free breakfast was a good idea but was very crowded, plus the food wasn't very good and they were constantly running out of items. At one point, one of the attendants re-brewed the coffee without changing the coffee grounds so it ended up being a batch of hot, brown water instead of actual coffee. The free drinks at the 5:30 kickback were nice (again very crowded) but we didn't get to try the food (hot dogs and mac n cheese) because we had 6:30 dinner reservations at Las Canarias (WAY better than hot dogs and mac n cheese!)
The rooftop terrace was nice but not really shaded at all and the rooftop pool was green, full of kids and generally appeared not well kept. We brought our suits but definitely didn't want to go into the water.
As other reviewers have noted, the elevator situation was abominable. There are six of them but I don't think they were all operational. On checkout day, we waited through three full elevators and finally ended up walking down 14 floors to the lobby. I'm glad it was only a one-night stay and we had light bags!
The staff were all courteous, helpful and friendly (except that one breakfast attendant) and overall the hotel was a good place to stay but definitely not worthy of a 4-star rating in the middle of the San Antonio Riverwalk district. If I ever again stay downtown on a romantic getaway, the Drury Plaza won't be my first, second or third choice of places to stay.

Room Tip: The corner suite was nice and had good city views but you might want to ask for a low floor if you d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KaneV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,620 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,695
    678
    161
    50
    36
See reviews for
871
948
62
356
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (578)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northumberland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

stayed here for one night on our first visit to San Antonio, the hotels location is perfect with direct access onto the riverwalk, where there is an abundance of bars and restaurants with tastes to suit all, the atmosphere is vibrant but relaxed, with lots of crossing points. The hotel is a historic building and a lot of the orginal features are on show. The room was large and very comfortable and clean. The roof top pool area is a great place to relax and has plenty of loungers and good views of San Antonio. The food is good and varied.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MotherhenX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fredericksburg, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014

I have stayed in this hotel multiple times and each has been a positive experience. All staff is courteous and helpful, from the valet parking to the front desk to the kick back staff. The building is the old American National Bank on the river walk, and it is spectacular. Drury offers free hot breakfast which is consistently good. They also offer "kick back" each evening with free drinks and food (menu varies). There are usually large crowds,as you might expect. The staff is very efficient though. If you don't mind a crowd, and sometimes an elevator wait, I recommend this without reservation.

Room Tip: Rooms vary in size and layout based on which bank offices were used to create them. All have simila...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ellenwood, Georgia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

My fiance and I really enjoyed this property for a romantic mini-vacay. One of the few glitches was not having a room ready for our early arrival. While it was understandable and they did accommodate our luggage, I wish they would of called us when one became available rather than us having to go check. Other than that, receptionists were friendly and gave great directions to the room (two towers in one hotel). The room was clean and spacious with the necessary amenities. It was conveniently located near the Riverwalk, though not right on it. The best part was the free breakfast, snacks, dinner, and drinks. With 2 pools and a workout room, you can't beat this bang for your bucks! I'm definitely a Drury fan now.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Riverwalk
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FromDaDec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mineral Wells, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014

Disappointed. The couch smelt musty and the elevators could not cope with the demand which meant that guests had to wait for over 15 minutes for the elevator to come to the floor and for there to be room to take the ride. Out of 6 possible elevators, I only saw 2 working. We were on the 6th floor with a young child, walking up or down (which some guests resorted to) was not an option for us. We will not be returning

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DruryHotels, Manager at Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Thank you selecting the Drury Plaza Hotel Riverwalk during your recent visit to San Antonio and for taking the time to write a review about our hotel. We welcome feedback as a whole and appreciate the details you have supplied about our elevators. Please accept our apology for the wait you experienced. Unfortunately, one of our elevators had to be removed from service during your visit for an unforeseen malfunction. The work was not planned, but we will not use that as an excuse. We will work closely with our elevator service company to ensure that our elevator systems are working at full capacity to handle our busy weekends. Last, we would love to inspect the couch in your assigned room and replace if necessary. If you find time in the near future, please call me directly so I can locate the room in which you stayed. Thank you again for your feedback, and we hope to welcome you back to a Drury Hotel very soon.

Matthew Hosack
210-270-7799
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2014 via mobile

This is the first time we have stayed at the Drury. We stayed 4 nights and everyday was great. We stayed in the San Fernando tower and our room was perfect and so was the view. Yes the hot water did go out, but we were told when we checked in. Luckily, we were gone during that time. The staff has been great and the breakfast and kickback were tasty and fresh. The Drury is pet friendly, so the whole family was happy.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank efam4hou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014

Highly recommend drury plaza- love the amenities;roof top pool evening kick back that includes dinner and drinks and full breakfast - also access to riverwalk just stepping out of hotel. Had a great time

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
5 Thank Elisa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,389 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Contessa
#9 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,003 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#12 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,825 reviews
East Side
Holiday Inn Riverwalk
Holiday Inn Riverwalk
#16 of 353 in San Antonio
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk

Property: Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Address: 105 South Saint Mary's Street, San Antonio, TX 78205-2810
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Downtown , East Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#9 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#32 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk 3*
Number of rooms: 368
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk is located on the San Antonio River, walking distance from shops, restaurants and entertainment. Relax in the sun on the deck of the rooftop pool, which also has two whirlpools! Formerly the Alamo National Bank, this 24-story renovated skyscraper features 50-foot ceilings, travertine flooring and stained glass windows. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Drury Hotels Company, LLC so you can book your Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Drury Plaza San Antonio
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing