We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A few issues but fine overall”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Posada Ana Inn-Airport
Ranked #62 of 355 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
63 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“A few issues but fine overall”
Reviewed 11 July 2011

This is a good choice if staying in San Antonio and you are looking to save a few bucks. Staying here is much cheaper than the downtown hotels and it’s not far from the Alamo or the River Walk either. We stayed here twice on our vacation: once when arriving in San Antonio and the night before we flew home.

The first time around, we arrived in the late afternoon and were checked-in quickly. The hotel has two floors but there is no elevator. This was bad news as I was still recovering from knee surgery and carrying heavy bags up the stairs was not what the doctor had advised. I told the front desk this but was advised that there were no rooms available on the first floor. However, the lady at the front desk said she understood my issue and would send someone to assist. This person never showed up. Luckily, a fellow guest saw my predicament and helped me out.

Our rooms were fine but lacked a microwave and a refrigerator. The beds were comfortable and the rooms were in good condition and were kept very clean. The hallway the second floor was roasting on both stays and the A/C units on either end of the hallway were not working properly.

The breakfast here was very good on both stays. A nice lady cooks eggs and omelets made to order. There was also sausage and bacon as well. The only criticism is that they do not restock once items are gone. It appears they limit the amount of food that is available for each breakfast that is made. Also, omelet ingredients, except for cheese, were not restocked if they ran out. There was also biscuits with sausage gravy and the usual breads and Danishes. Your best bet is to get to breakfast early before they start running out of things.

There is a pool here that is great and is perfect for children as well as adults. The temperature was in the 100’s so the pool provided a nice relief from the heat.

There is no lounge or restaurant here so you are on your own for dinner. There is an Applebee’s a short walk away which is very good and a 24-7 Wal-Mart as well. There are tons of places to choose from in the area if you have a car.

Upon check-out after our first stay, I requested a first floor room due to the issue of my knee and the lack of an elevator since we were coming back. A note of this was made in my reservation. However, when we arrived the following weekend, no first floor rooms were available. This time around, a staff member was around to assist.

They have an airport shuttle which we used going home. This was fine. However, it serves a few hotels other than this one so its best to be downstairs with your bags with time to spare just in case the shuttle is busy.

Overall, two good stays despite the minor issues.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timman19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    202
    121
    32
    16
    11
See reviews for
155
96
36
56
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenland NH
Level Contributor
100 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2011

This hotel was one of the nicest we have stayed in. 15 minutes from the middle of town, close to the airport(no noise) and close to many parks in this area of town. The made to order breakfast was great and a nice change from the continental ones. The room was large and comfortable. Walmart is within seeing and walking distance if you need anything. Fire dept. across street but didn't have a problem. I would stay here again if in the area.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Prayingpam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kamloops, Bc
Level Contributor
342 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2011

Spent a week at the Hotel while in San Antonio on vacation. The staff were excellent and very service oriented. Daily breakfast was made to order (nice touch by the way) and friendly staff.

This hotel has a great location for getting around San Antonio. didn't even hear airplanes at night. Only took 15 minutes to get downtown.

Would definitely recommend hotel to visitors to San Antonio

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texas
Level Contributor
68 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2010

This is our third time to stay at this hotel and we were satisfied as usual.The room was large and spotless.The beds were comfortable.The staff was very helpful.I would especially like to thank Pierre, the assistant general manager, who personally carried my juice and coffee into my room for me when he saw I was unable to open the door to our room because my hands were full. The breakfast was good, with eggs and omelets to order.There were also four kinds of cereal, muffins, donuts, toast, bacon, sausage,biscuits and gravy. And of course juice and coffee. This hotel is a very good value for the money spent. The only complaint is that the towels could use some fabric softener.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank angleTexas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2010

Nightmare!!!!! Due to the fact I was hauling a wood chipper with my Suburban I thought I would spend the night at what I thought would be a safe place to stay...Best Western Posada Ana Inn - Airport. This is where my nightmare begins. To my astonishing surprise, next morning my suburban, wood chipper and personal belongings where stolen from the hotel's rear parking lot. Pierre McCombs, manager of the this particular hotel, was uncooperative, rude and did not offer any resolution to my problem. At my request the police was called to file a police report. I asked Mr. McCombs to see the surveillance tapes and to my surprise, he said they don't have surveillance cameras!!!!! Does this sound like an inside job to you??????? He also told me my room was up at 11:00 am and that I needed to leave or otherwise pay him an additional day. Never mind the inconveniences that my suburban was just stolen from their hotel parking lot. To bad so sad your suburban, wood chipper and personal belongings were stolen from our hotel parking lot which only has one exit/entrance but no body saw anything and we don't have any surveillance tape to show you. It was not until I called the "800" number that Tiara spoke to Mr. McCombs that he changed his story saying he was just filing a claim with the hotel insurance. Something he forgot to mention to me and that they would offer me a DISCOUNTED ROOM. Talk about customer service. Customer service was not any more sympathetic; they told me there was nothing they can do that if Mr. McCombs did not offer me a free night it was out of their hands. It's like telling me we don't care what happened to you in our hotel, that I am stranded coming from CA and I am in TX - figure it out yourself we don't care what happens to you. What kind of business is Best Western performing where thieves can come in and out and steal what they want? I was just there for a few hours. Went to bed at 9:00 pm and at 4:30 am my suburban was gone!!! I would never recommend this place to anyone who knows what may happen to you. BEWARE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
Helpful?
5 Thank n_mare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, TX, USA
Level Contributor
105 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2010

This hotel is an excellent experience for anyone needing accomodations near Loop 410 North/West and SA airport. Rooms are clean, beds are great, housekeeping is excellent, front desk and reservations people are great, and they have discounts for AAA or AARP. An excellent value for the price in this area of San Antonio!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TCregular
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
port aransas tx
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2010

The staff at this hotel were so kind and helpful. Anything I needed was taken care of! The breakfast was great and the rooms were so clean. I was very impressed. I stayed with family and my husband and nobody had a single complaint, which is hard to come by! I would recommend this hotel to anyone for either leisure or business purposes!

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank jeswhitfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Uptown Broadway
Four Points by Sheraton San Antonio Airport
Uptown Broadway
Pear Tree Inn San Antonio Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN Posada Ana Inn-Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Posada Ana Inn-Airport

Property: BEST WESTERN Posada Ana Inn-Airport
Address: 8600 Jones Maltsberger Rd, San Antonio, TX 78216-5915
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in San Antonio
#26 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#39 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#53 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — BEST WESTERN Posada Ana Inn-Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to BEST WESTERN Posada Ana Inn-Airport! Our San Antonio hotel is less than a mile from the Quarry Market and near North Star Mall, so it's easy for guests to pick up everything they need. We're just eight miles north of downtown San Antonio, the Riverwalk and Alamo. The Quarry Market, an outdoor shopping center, is walkable and a must for all visitors. Our San Antonio hotel is also less than a mile from the airport, so it's simple to get to the San Antonio International Airport for those early morning flights. The BEST WESTERN Posada Ana Inn-Airport in San Antonio is committed to making your stay as enjoyable as possible. Spend the day shopping at the North Star Mall, or take the family to the San Antonio Zoo. The nearby Japanese Tea Garden is a real treat, and guests at our BEST WESTERN Posada Ana Inn-Airport hotel have no shortage of things to do and see. Business travelers who stay at BEST WESTERN Posada Ana Inn-Airport include employees of Kraft, Whataburger(R) Corporate, and service men and women with the Fort Sam Houston Army Base. Enjoy luxurious bedding and the best in southern hospitality at our San Antonio hotel. Rooms are spacious, cool and quiet so business travelers can easily take care of work and leave plenty of time for sightseeing. The Witte Museum is a mecca of dinosaur statues perfect for a family trip. Head over to the local Six Flags(R) Fiesta Texas for an adrenaline rush, just 10 miles away. Our San Antonio hotel is just 14 miles from SeaWorld(R) Adventure Park where families can swim with dolphins, get up close with a variety of sea creatures and try out a thrilling water ride or two. If you'd like recommendations on activities, just ask one of our friendly staff members. We always go above and beyond to make sure your stay is as relaxing (or exciting) as you want it to be. How can we help make your trip even better? Book a stay at BEST WESTERN Posada Ana Inn-Airport and get ready for a memorable vacation like no other! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your BEST WESTERN Posada Ana Inn-Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Posada Ana Inn-Airport Hotel San Antonio
Best Western San Antonio
San Antonio Best Western
BEST WESTERN Posada Ana Inn-Airport San Antonio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing