We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good but Extremely Expensive and plan on a long wait. to get seated.”

Dough Pizzeria Napoletana
Ranked #10 of 4,606 Restaurants in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Uptown Loop
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
151 reviews
121 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Very Good but Extremely Expensive and plan on a long wait. to get seated.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

mobile review
Very good; but, very expensive; great ingredients and excellent food quality; Typically, it is a very long wait to secure a table (not uncommon to wait over an hour); the waitstaff is courteous; They have exceptionally good appetizers; Because of the price and the waiting time, I'd probably go to Capparelli's on Main for a comparable Pizza or Pesto Restaurante' (at Judson and Stahl road) for great, classic Italian Food. Another nearby option is Little Italy just off Blanco and West Avenue; lots of options for the price in this town! Hope this helps! Enjoy!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank BLOODYMARY4MEPLEASE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

783 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    497
    177
    66
    27
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Devine, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Foo Foo For Plain Folks”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

Suggested by a foodie friend. Fearful after checking on-line web site. Knew it was foo-foo fancy, but went. AND LOVED IT. Great service. Larger group, so the staff worked with us. We were encouraged to "relax, not rush" just so we could hang out and chat. The European atmosphere was a nice change from other pizza joints. Loved the bottled water. Looking forward to returning in cooler weather to enjoy the expansive patio. Thanks for being so awesome. Cloth napkins, baby!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VDavis14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fresh”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

We saw this restaurant featured on the food network so we gave it a try. The mozzarella is so good. It's made there fresh daily and you can taste it in every bite. The sampler appetizer is a must as it offers different ways to try the cheese. Pizza was good, but will definitely be going back for the cheese.

Helpful?
Thank nursebbbetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Totally Dissapointed”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2014

Learned about this restaurant on the food network channel. The Restaurant is too small. They Don't have a nice deck outside, only chairs and tables by the side walk. Pizza is only one size and was not even a medium size pizza! Tasted burnt. Asked for expresso coffee...what a surprise! The measurement was like two tablespoons and it cost 8 dollars. No. We are not going back and do not recommend it either.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Delmarysol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Go here!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Best pizza since Italy. The ingredients are fresh and prepared well. We (4) started with the antipasto platter - nice variety. We then shared a Tuscan salad - a terrific blend of savory, sweet & salty on fresh greens! The pizza was fantastic - not what you are accustomed to from an american pizzeria - way better! The Limoncello Torte is incredible and the affogato is a nice, not overly sweet ending to a fantastic meal.

The place was packed - we went on a Saturday night and there was a wait - fortunately it was not as long as we were told. We put our name in, got our buzzer and headed for the bar - wine & beer only but a pretty nice wine list focusing on southern Italy.

It is more expensive than a typical American style pizzeria but the food is anything BUT typical American style and is far cheaper than a trip to Naples! I will return!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank crcorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dough Pizzeria Napoletana also viewed

 
San Antonio, TX
San Antonio, TX
 

Been to Dough Pizzeria Napoletana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing