We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful inn with a great location (and a helpful, kind owner)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
A Yellow Rose Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #7 of 41 San Antonio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
1 review
“Wonderful inn with a great location (and a helpful, kind owner)”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Large, nicely furnished rooms. Great location (right near the riverwalk, which leads to a beautiful strolls either down to the missions or into town and the neighborhood has some great places to grab a beer / food). Owner was very nice and helpful (e.g., recommended a nice jog in the area).

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Porter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ayellowrose, Owner at A Yellow Rose Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Thank you so much for taking time to write and submit a review. I enjoyed having you and your family here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    191
    31
    5
    2
    6
See reviews for
13
102
31
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hollister, Missouri
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

My husband and I spent Christmas week in San Antonio and stayed at the Yellow Rose. We enjoyed the quiet and historical neighborhood. One cannot beat the location. It is within walking distance to The RiverWalk, neighborhood restaurants and shops. We did not choose the breakfast but opted for just coffee, tea and juice. We wanted to be free to explore other places for breakfast. Our suite was like a small apartment with a comfortable living space, complete kitchen (if one wanted to do their own cooking...we did not), walk in shower in a large bathroom plus a large bedroom with a king-size bed. The bed was very comfortable. Deb, the owner, was a big help and answered all of our questions and was an excellent host. One good feature was that we could park our car off street in the back where there was a covered pull-in garage plus there was no charge for parking. That is a real plus in the downtown area where major hotels charge a big parking fee. A gate was across the driveway so we felt safe leaving our car there. Our room was clean and comfortable. It felt like home.

Room Tip: If one wants more room with a feeling of home and a walk-in shower, ask for the apartment over the g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 28pa05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

For our second year anniversary we opted for a "staycation" and were looking for something in the downtown or southtown area. I'm glad that we stumbled upon the Yellow Rose. There is no formal check-in when you arrive, so it feels very private. Our room and bathroom were large, clean, and well-furnished. I really appreciated the reading books supplied.
We chose the full breakfast option for both mornings. They were both delicious. I've included a picture of one of the breakfasts. The location is beautiful and perfect. It is easy to walk into downtown or catch a Via Streetcar.
An added bonus were the few cats that populate the neighborhood and could be seen hanging around.
Another bonus! free and convenient parking.

Room Tip: The stairs to the 2nd floor rooms are a little steep. If you have any problems with stairs, I recomm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Trevi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgetown, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 November 2013

We just needed a nice quiet place to retreat after an emotional week. We found our stay at A Yellow Rose Bed and Breakfast did just that. We enjoyed the peace and quiet of the neighborhood while sitting on the balcony outside our room. Our room was very relaxing and welcoming.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Bordeaux and were very pleased.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swh65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuwait City, Kuwait
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

I recently stayed at the Yellow Rose, and it was perfect to my needs. I am a runner (slow one but never mind) and this place is in a great location for that - quiet neighbourhood, and 5 mins from the Riverwalk (north to shops and tourists, south to over 10 miles of mostly empty, car-free running track).
The room was comfortable and clean, but more importantly Deb, the owner, was available to offer advice and help whenever needed, and on any subject I had.
A wonderful experience overall, and I'll be staying there next time I visit the city.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JonPils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uvalde, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

This B&B is located right in the heart of the King William's district, just 1 mile from the Majestic Theatre. We were able to access the River walk just a short 2 block walk away. The neighborhood is quiet and comfortable, safe and historical. Plenty of places to eat within a 3blk radius of this address.
My husband & I arrived early to find the room already available. We were able to find parking on the street, then moved our car to behind the house after the concert. The room was clean and quiet with a large bathroom. We had our own porch area on the 2nd floor w/chairs and table. The quiet, friendly and non-intrusive owners live in the downstairs area. Breakfast is offered for an additional price. Since we are not big eaters in the morning, we opted for just coffee, tea and juice in the room. French press coffee and real cream were in the room refridgerator.
We loved staying in this historic part of San Antonio at this well maintained B&B.
Thank you Deb for the fresh cream!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Bordeaux room on the 2nd floor, next to the Bluebonnet room. If you don't mind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank InTheCountry78801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

I really can't rate this B&B too highly. A cool, comfortable and quiet room in a lovely setting. I stayed two nights and would happily have stayed more. And Deb was an excellent host who helped me out with laptop and phone problems I was having at the start of my vacation. I loved it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,561 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#11 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,082 reviews
Arsenal
Noble Inns - The Oge House, Inn on the Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arsenal
Eva's Escape at the Gardenia Inn
Arsenal
Brackenridge House Bed and Breakfast
Arbor House Inn And Suites
#3 of 41 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Yellow Rose Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Yellow Rose Bed and Breakfast

Property: A Yellow Rose Bed and Breakfast
Address: 229 Madison, San Antonio, TX 78204-1321
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Arsenal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — A Yellow Rose Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All of the rooms have the same rate choices. Rates are based on breakfast. We offer a full breakfast delivered to your room or a continental breakfast. Rates are competitive with those offered at other inns in the area. A discounted rate is available for guests who do not want breakfast. This rate does include coffee, tea and juice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your A Yellow Rose Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
A Yellow Rose Bed And Breakfast San Antonio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing