We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
A Yellow Rose Bed and Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
US$163
US$146
Sheraton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
La Quinta Inn & Suites San Antonio Airport(San Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Gibbs Downtown San Antonio Riverwalk(San Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$145
US$130
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Omni San Antonio Hotel(San Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$177
US$162
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$196
US$165
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Best Western Alamo Suites(San Antonio)(Great Value!)
US$117
US$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mokara Hotel and Spa(San Antonio)
US$290
US$256
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Omni La Mansion del Rio(San Antonio)
US$174
Omni Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$117
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (239)
Filter reviews
239 results
Traveller rating
194
32
5
2
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
194
32
5
2
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bbordeaux roomoff street parkingmagnolia roomking william neighborhoodguenther housewithin walking distancethe river walkcoffee and juicetwo blockswalked everywhereroom was spaciouslocation was perfectstayed nightshostsmadhatterriverwalk
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
49 - 54 of 239 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stayed at the Yellow Rose B & B for a Friday and Saturday night in the Carriage House. The best part of the stay was the location and the off street parking! It was only two blocks to the River Walk. We returned from the River Walk late Friday evening and had no concerns for our safety walking back to the B & B. It was a lovely stroll in a great neighborhood (even at night). The Carriage House provided much needed privacy after a long day of walking. It also felt like a mini appartment with a kitchen (not that I cooked!) and living area. We chose the continental breakfast, which consisted of yogurt, fruit and sweet breads. Overall, I was highly impressed with the continental breakfast as I was just expecting a breakfast bar. I would recommend this B&B to anyone who is looking for quality at an affordable price.

Room Tip: The Carriage House is great as it is in the back of the property and the most private. However, I noticed that the other rooms had private entrances as well. The only complaint I could have is that the TV in the Carriage House was a little "snowy" but we weren't there to watch TV and only had it on for white noise during breakfast.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mallory W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ayellowrose, Owner at A Yellow Rose Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

I'm so glad you enjoyed yourselves. Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review. ....and saying such nice things!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We made reservations here in order to spend 4 nights in San Antonio to visit Lacklund Air Force base for our sons BMT graduation. We SOOOO happy we chose this B&B. We found it online while searching for anyplace to stay.

We stumbled upon this one based on price and location. Since we've never been to San Antonio we had no idea where to stay. We took a chance and are so glad we did. Deb called us after we inquired into availability and informed us we would be in a good spot and that Lacklund families stay there all the time.

When we arrived we noted the historic and beautiful neighborhood the home is in. Very safe and easy parking. We checked in and the Blue Bonnet room was very nice. The room was clean and good sized. The fridge was stocked with juice, pop and coffee. We did not take advantage of the breakfast since we were gone early each day and home late.

During the stay we were able to walk to the riverwalk each night with no issues. It's only about five blocks away and easily walkable. We loved the downtown riverwalk, bars and eateries.

We obviously drove to the Air Force base each day and it is only about 15 minutes away. Vet easy to get on the freeway and make it there quickly. We spent one day on base and three days on a town pass with our son. We caught a Rangers baseball game and a Spurs basketball game. We had an awesome time in San Antonio and loved the city. The Yellow Rose (Deb) made this such an enjoyable stay we will definitely recommend and return in the future. Oh, and the price was better than the hotels and other B&B's in the area. Location, location, location and price, price, price. You will be happy you stayed.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bigbrownhouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ayellowrose, Owner at A Yellow Rose Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2014

We love having Lackland parents stay with us. We have another family here this week and had some the week before. You make us all proud. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We booked A Yellow Rose sourced through fellow travellers on this site and it was a great way to visit the city. The location is truly within walking distance of the downtown, the neighborhood offers excellent alternatives for dining, the Historic King William neighborhood surrounds you with charm. The shared bike stations are a short walk away as is the River Walk. Our room was large and very comfortable. We opted for the pre stocked continental breakfast which included yoghurt and fresh fruit daily along with a breakfast type loaf, orange juice and French press coffee or tea. We were free to eat indoors or on the veranda outside our door. Being in a neighborhood felt so refreshing after a day of sightseeing. It was an oasis for us and couldn't imagine staying anywhere else.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rkmaretzki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ayellowrose, Owner at A Yellow Rose Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Wow! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Lovely rooms, beautifully decorated and immaculately clean. Relaxing porch in the back courtyard. Nice location close to the riverwalk (we were able to walk back and forth to downtown with no problem) but off the main drag enough to be quiet and peaceful. The owner was friendly and very helpful. This was our first time in Texas and she gave us lots of great tips on what to see and where to eat.

Room Tip: We chose one of the upstairs rooms because we wanted to have access to the upper deck of the porch. But all the rooms looked very nice.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank meganbeth5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ayellowrose, Owner at A Yellow Rose Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

I'm so glad you enjoyed your trip to Texas and San Antonio.
Our housekeeper is always happy to have her hard work mentioned in reviews.
Thanks!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2014

We stayed 3 nights over Valentines day and our experience was excellent. Through booking ahead, communication overall (including recommended taxi to be dropped off from airport), through the information provided in the room and by the owners - we felt welcome but never intruded upon. The room was huge, very comfortable - fridge and french press coffee. Comfy bed and great linens - also a spare blanket. We had a light breakfast the first day - chocolate loaf, yogurt, fruit with juice and coffee but there were so many recommended places nearby we opted for just coffee the other days.
The location is perfect - great walks all around and close to downtown. Safe off street parking for our rental car as well.We got to meet the owners dogs too! Never would have known they had them otherwise - completely quiet.
This is a lovely B&B and you can tailor the services to what you prefer - the hosts were so friendly but not at all pushy - just perfect!

Room Tip: All rooms are shown on the website and they will try to give you the one you select -
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank muklukmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ayellowrose, Owner at A Yellow Rose Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Thank you for taking time to submit your review. The doggies are thrilled you mentioned them and how well behaved they are!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews