We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor choice”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Antonio
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Noble Inns - Aaron Pancoast Carriage House
Ranked #18 of 41 San Antonio B&B and Inns
chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“poor choice”
Reviewed 30 March 2007

I choose this location because I have had great experiences with Select Registry. We wanted to stay at the Carriage House because it had an outdoor pool. The pool/garden area was cute, but not kept clean. The above garage rooms were pitiful. In need of repairs to just about everything. Broken ceramic tiles in the kitchen, peeling wallpaper and stained carpet. The bedding was thread bare and the bedspead seemed dirty. This is more like a 2 bedroom suite than a B&B. If you book here, you could actually have a stranger sharing your acomodations. The shower was a joke. It was in a claw foot tub with a shower curtain that allowed you to stand in only about a 3 foot area. The warning was that if that small curtain wasn't closed you would cause water damage below. Only suitable for a very small person! I have never written a review before, but felt this was important enough to share.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank queenT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    5
    3
    4
    13
See reviews for
12
18
2
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cayman Islands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 March 2007

We had booked to stay at this B&B but were unable to get there from Houston due to freak ice storms in that area. We had travelled from our home in Cayman Islands to spend a few days in Houston and in San Antonio. We were very much looking foward to the trip as we had heard many nice things about San Antonio. However, very unusual weather for that time of year came to this area in January and we were stranded in Houston. We had our 9 month old baby with us and did not want to risk driving on icy roads from Houston to San Antonio. We phoned Noble Inns and explained the situation. They were extremely unsympathetic and blankly refused to give us a credit to come back later in the year or refund the $400 deposit we had paid them. I accept that deposits are lost if you don't turn up, but in these unusual and dangerous circumstances, a little understanding would have been appreciated. It wasn't as if anyone else would have wanted to book to stay there in our place when the weather was so bad! Cayman Islands is a small place but many people from here come to San Antionio as it's a short and easy destination for us to get to. I would like to say to my fellow residents of the Cayman Islands (and anywhere else in the world for that matter) - DO NOT stay at Noble Inns. If anything goes wrong, you will lose your money and they won't act in good faith or make any exceptions for unusual circumstances. Reading the other reviews on this place, it looks like we actually had a lucky escape anyway!

  • Disliked — Unhelpful staff
  • Stayed March 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BoglinCaymanIslands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2006

Stayed at the Aaron Pancoast House Upstairs, arrived late and there weren't any outdoor lights, neighborhood is dicey, and while you could walk to the Riverwalk you would need to walk through a seedy section of San Antonio. Also, had problems getting anyone to answer the phone at the main lodge, and as another person stated the people who work there don't know how to get there from the Interstate--that is true.

There aren't any restaurants near this B & B

There are some nice places to stay in San Antonio this isn't one of them.

  • Liked — Loved the Cinnamon Rolls in the morning
  • Disliked — It wasn't what it represented itself to be
  • Tips/Secrets — Find another spot to stay in, Photos aren't always what they seem
  • Stayed January 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank A C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 6 June 2006

This is not a bed and breakfast, unless you count week-old pastries and milk with mold around the cap as breakfast.
The appliances are run-down and look to be from the 70's. The 1970's... nothing classic here.
The smell in the room was horrible, and we had to open all the windows and let it breathe for a few hours before it was tolerable.. but maybe we just got used to the putrid odor.

When we arrived, we immediately realized this was not at all what we were expecting, but that didn't matter at all to the non-existent staff who refused a refund, and didn't seem to care. Honestly, this place was so bad, we thought about just losing the close to $200 and going elsewhere. The staff is not onsite, and you have to drive somwhere else to drop off the key and sign the credit card receipts.

I'm not exagerating when I say that this place is like a college garage apartment...it actually IS a garage apartment. This is not at all a luxurious place. The only things that differentiate it from a total dive are the fireplace and jacuzzi tub... which did both work. Additionally, the pool outside is pretty, but it was very strange to find these things in such an otherwise run-down dump.

We would never consider staying here again, or at any property owned by the people that falsely advertise this place in such a way that they can trick people to pay $175 to stay in a garage...especially since they refuse to refund or accomodate you after you discover how bad the place really is. We begged to be able to leave and just lose $75-100 as a deposit. Nope.
Now I wish I took photos to post of what the inside actually looks like.

Oh, and you have to drive to the riverwalk and any resteraunts you would want to go to.
This is the first and only negative review I've ever written for a hotel/b&b. I'm not a nitpicker, this was just terrible.

Stay Away!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
East Side
Hampton Inn & Suites San Antonio-Downtown/Market Square
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Contessa
#7 of 358 in San Antonio
3,193 reviews
Arsenal
Noble Inns - The Oge House, Inn on the Riverwalk
East Side
Hyatt Place San Antonio/Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Noble Inns - Aaron Pancoast Carriage House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Noble Inns - Aaron Pancoast Carriage House

Property: Noble Inns - Aaron Pancoast Carriage House
Address: 102 Turner Street, San Antonio, TX 78204-1329
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Arsenal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Aaron Pancoast Carriage House is one of Noble Inns properties and is located across the street from the Riverwalk in downtown San Antonio's King William Historic District. It features three luxurious suites, all with private marble baths, including one with a jacuzzi tub. An outdoor swimming pool and heated spa are located in the garden. Guests with children of any age are welcome. All suites have a full kitchen and dining area, and sofa beds can accommodate additional guests or children. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Noble Inns - Aaron Pancoast Carriage House San Antonio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing