We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Brackenridge House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 42 San Antonio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 March 2013

We just got back from 4 nights at the Brakenridge, and we are planning to go back again. The accommodations were comfortable, the location great and the hosts met our every request. Our room had Port and chocolates on the dresser; the kitchenette had everything needed to brew a pot of coffee; a couple of sodas, a beer and a small bottle of wine in the refrig.; popcorn on the microwave; a basket of assorted teas; in the bathroom Band Aids, an extra toothbrush, shave cream and air freshener. Much more than I expected.

Breakfasts were wonderful! Fresh muffins or loaf cake, fruit compote each day, a tasty egg dish, potatoes and really good coffee. Just the right portion to get your day started and not weigh you down. Lily is an excellent cook.

If you want to know what to see in the City and how to get there, Roland and Lily can tell you. If you want to see nearby sights or cities, they can tell you about them and how to get there as well.

Three adults shared the Wrens Nest, and we had plenty of room. This was Lily's recomnmendation, and she was correct.

Easy to find from the airport and a short, comfortable walk into the heart of downtown and the Alamo. Try the fajitas and Margueritas at Casa Rio. They are very, very good and the prices are the best on the Riverwalk.

I couldn't recommend this B & B any better than to say try it...you'll like it!

Room Tip: Tell Lily and Roland how many people in your group, your preferences and any limitations so they can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DMarchesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (434)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

102 - 108 of 434 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2013

Short ride from the airport. In the king Williams district of San Antonio, a lot of neat restaurants and bars within walking distance. We were lucky to get the Wren's Nest Suite, it had a fridge and microwave the antiques made very thing charming. Our first breakfast was hot muffins, fruit, Danish pancakes, and the best coffee. Lilly cooked even a better breakfast the second morning. We took the bus down to the Riverwalk , and cab ride back was only $5.25.Thank you Lilly and Ron for added to our nice stay in San Antonio. When we come back we will stay at the Brackenridge House again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dakota111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

Our stay at the Brackenridge was wonderful. It is in a great area with superb restaurants within walking distance. You have to try Liberty Bar, El Mirador & La Foccacia they were all great. As for the Breakfast @ the Inn, I can only say it was outstanding and our host Lilly is absolutly charming and very sociable. We cannot say enough about our 3 days there and I would certainly recommend this Bed & breakfast to anyone. Lori

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lori Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2013

Our amiable host, Lily, dished up outstanding breakfast fare...eggs benedict one morning followed by the best french toast (with filling) ever. Our large "Cardinal" room was very comfortable, well appointed and period perfect with antique furniture and an outside entry. Nice touches included free wine, beer and beverages in the fridge--even a decanter of brandy on the dresser. The large hot tub was a welcome surprise on a cool evening. It's only two blocks to excellent Italian and Mexican cuisine and an easy stroll to the river and the River Walk...no need to drive and park elsewhere. The historical neighborhood is also worth exploring with tours of historic homes available.

Room Tip: Investigate online, check reviews, do your homework.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shellby H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We loved this place as well as the owner. Our room was so pretty and comfy. We enjoyed the hot tub after a long walk on the riverwalk. Breakfast was amazing. Lily was so sweet and thinks of everything you might want or need in your room - even going as far as having a Port and chocolates sitting on the pretty table in your room. We will definitely stay at the Brackenridge House again on our next visit to San Antonio.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Magnolia Room which is the only room on the 2nd floor, which can be entered from th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank margierita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2013

My mother and I (early 30's)needed to come to town unexpectedly and she found this B&B online. The online description doesn't capture the tranquilty of the balcony where you may sip a hot beverage, concealed by tall oaks and mountain laurels and watch the neighborhood slowly come to life. The beautiful homes and abundant gardens give you a feeling of being in the country despite the cityscape standing tall only blocks away.
Breakfast was an experience in itself. Suffice to say, the food (served in courses) was wonderful. However, the ambiance in the formal dining room with all the guests sitting at one table was like a dinner party. People whom I'd only met the morning before, I was inexplicably excited to see again and hear of the previous day's adventures (and misadventures). What was their opinion on the thing they had done yesterday and did I have any advice for their plans today? Walking in on our breakfast, you would not think we were a table of strangers and I look forward to returning to Brackenridge House

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sylshessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2013

Brackenridge B&B was a last minute reservation chosen from internet photos and descriptions. We were VERY pleased with our choice. Our room was charming and comfortable. The breakfast was delicious. The location was perfect. Hemisphere Tower could be seen from the B&B. The hosts were friendly and engaging. We have family in San Antonio, so this will be our choice for return visits.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BucketListCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#7 of 357 in San Antonio
3,161 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#24 of 357 in San Antonio
4,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 357 in San Antonio
1,572 reviews
Menger Hotel
#21 of 357 in San Antonio
2,624 reviews
Arsenal
Noble Inns - The Oge House, Inn on the Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brackenridge House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brackenridge House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 230 Madison, King William Historic District, San Antonio, TX 78204-1320
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Arsenal , East Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in San Antonio
Price Range: £137 - £163 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Brackenridge House Bed and Breakfast 4.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the first bed and breakfast in famous historic King William District, the Brackenridge House Bed and Breakfast has been pampering guests since 1986. Our rooms and suites are furnished in antique regal Victorian furniture with comfortable beds and the modern conveniences you would expect to find in a first-class hotel. All have en suite full bathroom and private entrance. Your stay at the Brackenridge house comes with a full three course hot breakfast prepared fresh every morning especially for you. For your enjoyment and convenience, all our rooms have mini-refrigerators stocked with complimentary drinks and ice, microwaves and coffee makers. The front porch and upstairs veranda invites you to relax in a rocking chair or porch swing while watching the horse drawn carriage goes by, enjoying a glass of wine or a good book. Immerse yourself in our hot tub in the rear garden area, it is the perfect way to start your day or unwind after a day of sightseeing. Available year round. Before retiring for the night enjoy a delicious Godiva truffle with a glass of cream sherry, pop a bag of popcorn and grab a movie from our extensive selection of DVDs or try one of our delicious signature home baked cookies. The Brackenridge House Bed and Breakfast provides the advantages of being two blocks away from the River Walk, five blocks from the Alamo and the Henry B. Gonzales Convention Center and a short walk from El Mercado and the Alamodome without the noise and congestion of downtown. The house is close to many famous and wonderful local restaurants offering delicious and excellent meals. Our goal at the Brackenridge House is for you to experience Texas hospitality at its best, and make you feel like the special person you are. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Brackenridge House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brackenridge House b&b
Brackenridge House Hotel San Antonio
Brackenridge House Bed And Breakfast San Antonio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing