We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brackenridge House Bed and Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Brackenridge House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 41 San Antonio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Troy, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brackenridge House Bed and Breakfast”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

We had a very enjoyable time at Brackenridge. The host and hostess were very friendly and we enjoyed talking to them. The location was great. We could walk to the River Walk and whatever else we wanted to do. Lots of good restaurants in walking distance. Breakfast was fine - not outstanding. Room and B& B was clean. We would come back here again. Very comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrackenridgeHouse, Guest Relations Manager at Brackenridge House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Thank you for your comments. Our location truly is central to a great visit to San Antonio. We are pleased that you stayed with us and hope to see you again when you plan to stay in San Antonio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    371
    39
    7
    5
    1
See reviews for
39
241
14
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Level Contributor
58 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Cozy and comfortable, this charming B & B is close to the Alamo and the River Walk (if you are a walker), but away from the noise and stress. Many nice restaurants are located within a few blocks. The breakfasts were delightful, with homemade specialties cooked by Lily. We enjoyed the camaraderie of the other guests at breakfast, and Lily was a charming hostess (seen at breakfast only). Parking is located in the back of the house via a driveway.

My son and I traveled to San Antonio from Houston, for a 3-day get-away, which was an easy 2-1/2 hour trip (that's with my son driving). Others at the B & B made the trip in 4 hours. My son stayed in the Hummingbird Room, and I stayed in the Cardinal Room, both at the back of the house. His room was very spacious with a king-size bed and flat-screen TV, private bath. My room was of moderate size with a queen-size bed, private bath, a very tiny TV--but my only complaint was that the bed was squeaky--so every toss and turn produced the squeaks. It was a little chilly (weather was rainy and in the 50's during our stay), but Lily quickly provided me with a space heater. Staying at the back of the house meant leaving the house each morning to get to breakfast, which was not a problem, but I simply mention it as a matter of convenience. Umbrellas were provided, which was nice, due to the rainy weather!

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms in the back ONLY if you don't want to leave the house to re-enter at the front d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traviscar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrackenridgeHouse, Guest Relations Manager at Brackenridge House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
We are delighted that you and your son stayed at our inn. It is good to see the comments that let us know the great features guests enjoy at Brackenridge House. It is also important for us to know when something in your room is not quite right. Our goal is to take care of any problem at once. We are happy that we had a space heater handy to help take off the chill on a rainy day. We only wish that you had let us know about the squeaky bed before it disturbed your rest. It turns out that a few screws needed to be tightened and the squeak was history. Hope you come back for another stay.

PLEASE NOTE: The TV's in ALL of our rooms have been upgraded to flat screen TV's, either 25" or 32".
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, TX
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Beautiful antiques, comfortable beds, amenities too numerous to mention, walking distance to the Riverwalk, the Alamo and a number of really great restaurants, but the thing we enjoyed most was the beautiful table setting and delicious breakfast shared with friends and other guests and the friendly accommodating owners and staff. You can not find a better stay in San Antonio.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary Sue B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrackenridgeHouse, Guest Relations Manager at Brackenridge House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
We are so pleased that you enjoyed the ambiance at our inn. It lets us know that our attention to the decor, special touches, and sumptuous breakfast are worth the effort. It is fun for us to create an experience of the kind we would enjoy on our travels. Come back and let us pamper you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vincentown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

This cozy B&B is conveniently located to just about anything a visitor might nant or oneed to do in San Amtonio. The Riverwalk, Las Callitsa, Hemisphere Park (where 250,000 people aseembled to celebrate New Year's Ebe!) restaurants, the Alamo, even a car rental office all are within a few block radius from our base in the King William historic district.
WMy husband and I shared the Mockingbird Suire on the second floor, decorated with the Victorian eta gew gaws and lace curtains one expects to find at a B&B. Our adjacnent sitting room featured a kitchenette with bottomless containers of coffee, tea and decaf with coffee maker, microwave, dishes and cutlery. On New Year's Eve, to allow flexibility for staff and guests, a lovely brunch of quiche, ham, coffee cake and OJ was neatly wrapped and left in ourfridge the night before. On the bed aas a tray containing an ice bucket of good champagne in an ice bucket and flutes, a delightful surprise! And th e midnight fireworks from Heritage Tower were easily visible from our porch. The weather was just a bit too chilly for use of the hot tub but our room alwsocontaied beach towels and robes just in case. The owners, Lily and Roland, were out of town visiting their own families but the staff who prepared our three-course breakfast and scrumptious coconut-walnut cookies were just as attentive, kind and helpful as if they were the actual owners. With breezes blwoing in the middle of the night, we heard some unfamiliar "pings" iff iyr oircgl tyrned out to be poecans fdopping from their trees and bouncing off the metal roofs typical of the late 19th-century homes in this neighborhood formerly occupied by business people of German descent and who knew the areas as Kaiser Wilhelm. Deginitely recommend the Brackenridge most nighly and can't wait until we return for another wonderful stay! Of special note is the spotless condition of the guest rooms , especially the sleeping room and bath decorated in with a palette of white and cream tones, most restful, calming and sparkling clean. Thank you for a great vacation, Lily and Roland and your staff!

Room Tip: Mockingbird Suite is only lodging on second floor; other tooms are on first floor so worth consideri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AECNorthBrunswick_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 December 2013

Very comfortable stay right in the heart of King Williams. The room we stayed in was very inviting and furnished with antique furniture. Walking distance from the river and several exceptional local restaurants. Highly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
157 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

The Brackenridge had everything we love about staying in B&B -- a charming old house (built 1901), a spacious and comfortable room, delicious cooked breakfasts, and interesting hosts and fellow guests. The house is in the beautiful historic King William district of San Antonio, close to the River Walk to the downtown and Alamo (and indeed further afield), and close to some good restaurants. Our host Lily was brilliant. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Brackenridge and our visit to San Antonio, and are definitely hoping to stay here again!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DixonsInLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Round Rock, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Brackenridge House has everything...comfortable bed, lovely room, claw foot tub and every amenity you could think of, including toiletries you might have forgotten. Hot tub super. Breakfast outstanding. Owner/hostess is extra nice. Great location in beautiful King William District. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Cardinal Room--hot tub right outside the door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#10 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,957 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#20 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Contessa
#11 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,079 reviews
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,409 reviews
East Side
Hilton Palacio del Rio
Hilton Palacio del Rio
#13 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brackenridge House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brackenridge House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Brackenridge House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 230 Madison, King William Historic District, San Antonio, TX 78204
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Arsenal , East Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Brackenridge House Bed and Breakfast 4.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the first bed and breakfast in famous historic King William District, the Brackenridge House Bed and Breakfast has been pampering guests since 1986. Our rooms and suites are furnished in antique regal Victorian furniture with comfortable beds and the modern conveniences you would expect to find in a first-class hotel. All have en suite full bathroom and private entrance. Your stay at the Brackenridge house comes with a full three course hot breakfast prepared fresh every morning especially for you. For your enjoyment and convenience, all our rooms have mini-refrigerators stocked with complimentary drinks and ice, microwaves and coffee makers. The front porch and upstairs veranda invites you to relax in a rocking chair or porch swing while watching the horse drawn carriage goes by, enjoying a glass of wine or a good book. Immerse yourself in our hot tub in the rear garden area, it is the perfect way to start your day or unwind after a day of sightseeing. Available year round. Before retiring for the night enjoy a delicious Godiva truffle with a glass of cream sherry, pop a bag of popcorn and grab a movie from our extensive selection of DVDs or try one of our delicious signature home baked cookies. The Brackenridge House Bed and Breakfast provides the advantages of being two blocks away from the River Walk, five blocks from the Alamo and the Henry B. Gonzales Convention Center and a short walk from El Mercado and the Alamodome without the noise and congestion of downtown. The house is close to many famous and wonderful local restaurants offering delicious and excellent meals. Our goal at the Brackenridge House is for you to experience Texas hospitality at its best, and make you feel like the special person you are. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Brackenridge House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brackenridge House b&b
Brackenridge House Hotel San Antonio
Brackenridge House Bed And Breakfast San Antonio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing