We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Brackenridge House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 42 San Antonio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 May 2014

We have a lovely stay in the beautiful Brackenridge house. We stayed for six wonderful nights and we loved it. The Mockingbird suite is delightful, the best nights sleep we have had on our trip. Lily and Roland have thought of every detail. Wonderful service and delicious food. The breakfast every morning was spectacular. We have stayed in many bed and breakfasts over the years and this is by far the best one. We can't wait to come back again!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrackenridgeHouse, Guest Relations Manager at Brackenridge House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Thank you for your very kind words. It is good to know that we succeeded in making your stay "wonderful." We look forward to your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (435)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

77 - 83 of 435 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2014

What a wonderful place to stay. The rooms all have the name of a bird. We stayed in the cardinal room. The antiques are wonderful and I loved the clawfoot tub!. We had breakfast out on the balcony. Everything was so green, blooming and beautiful in May, with nice breezes. I loved watching occasional people stroll by. German pancakes were great!. Jennifer was very sweet and helpful. I just wanted to walk around and check out the decor. It is in the King William area and you will want to walk down the sidewalks and check out these beautiful and unique homes. It is in walking distance to el mercado, restraunts, river walk and the river city mall. Be sure to wear comfortable shoes as you will want to do a lot of walking. Roland and Lilly are the sweetest people you will ever want to meet. They have a wealth of knowledge of the city between them. It was an incredibly romantic place to stay with my boyfriend but I could see myself staying there on my own as well. Prices were very reasonable. I highly recommend this place and will definitely stay here again on future trips to San Antonio.

Room Tip: The cardinal room was nice and quiet. There is a hot tub out in back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diane2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrackenridgeHouse, Guest Relations Manager at Brackenridge House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Excellent advice on the walking shoes! Isn't it great to stay in a location where you can see so much and yet have a cozy and comfortable B&B nearby to relax in. You inspire us to continue to share our knowledge of the city with our guests while providing a beautiful respite. Thank you for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

The best thing about Brackenridge House was its location in the King William historic district. There are good restaurants (Feast, Hot Joy, Rosarios), cafe (Madhatters) and ice house right around the corner; it's also 10 - 15 minutes by foot to the River Walk.

The property has nice porches in front and rear deck. Breakfast was fine. Wifi was functional.

On the down side:
- Lots of noise -- train whistles at all hours, and seemingly every few minutes in the early morning; the inn does provide earplugs, and we needed them. Also, from the Mocking Bird suite we heard the morning breakfast being prepared just on the other side of our door. From the Wren, we didn't hear any kitchen noise.
- Amenities / touches were modest. The soap for the shower was a large bottle of Suave body wash. The shampoo was a small bottle printed with Brackenridge house logo many years ago (print wearing off) and refilled with who knows what. Coffee on the coffee / tea bar and in the room was freeze-dried Folgers.
- I didn't meet the owners / "hosts." until the last day of our 4 day stay. The cook / server in the morning (Jennifer) was very nice, but not involved with the business. When I did finally meet innkeeper Lilly, she was pleasant in person. However ...

Very disappointing: inflexible policies that "trapped" us. I booked on Thursday for a pop-up trip, and reserved Fri - Tues. When we got there and decided we'd prefer something else for the last 2 days of our time in San Antonio, we were informed that even with a day's notice of early departure, we would be charged for the entire stay if they couldn't rebook. The rooms had not been booked as of Thurs for the following Sun / Mon, it was very unlikely they would have been rebooked. They offered a voucher: "good for six months from the time of your original reservation, minimum 2 night stay, and on Sunday through Thursday only, no holidays or Fiesta." I would venture a guess these vouchers rarely get used.

It's not so much that I wouldn't stay stay at Brackenridge House again, it's just that I would look elsewhere first. (There are several other BnBs on the same block.) If your plans have any chance of change, I suggest you search for other more flexible options.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mdhmdh31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrackenridgeHouse, Guest Relations Manager at Brackenridge House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

We appreciate it when our guests take the time to share their experience at Brackenridge House B&B. Thank you for your feedback. Our goal is to do whatever we can to provide a space where visitors to San Antonio can have a wonderful time in our city and in our Historic King William District.

There are things which we can control and those we cannot. We are fortunate in our ideal location, but not so fortunate with the surrounding train traffic. We do all we can to mitigate the noise and are aware some guests are more sensitive than others to any disturbance.

Our staff provides many in-room amenities and are attentive without being intrusive. We hope that guests will check out all that is available to them in their rooms.

The Mockingbird Suite is a guest favorite. We are very careful when preparing breakfast to mitigate any noise. The suite has a door separating the bedroom from the sitting room, which is next to the kitchen, to help reduce any noise.

As for our policies, you give me an opportunity to restate the policies included on our website, and to help future guests understand the purpose behind them. Every effort is made to make them fair to both parties. Brackenridge House B&B has been in business for 28 years, a testament to a well run and fiscally sound establishment.

When you book a room, we guarantee that it will be held for you and we never overbook. Cancellations at the last minute are difficult to re-book. We understand that some emergencies come up and will respond accordingly. Our policy clearly states that guests will be charged for cancelled rooms.

Our goal is not to keep your money without giving service for it. That is the reason for the gift certificate for future use. We hope that you will ask any questions you have, or tell us of needs not met during your stay as soon as possible so that we can respond quickly.

We are grateful for the many guests we have who wish they could extend their stay and come back to stay again. We love what we do in Brackenridge House and hope to continue to be a flourishing business for many years to come.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

We were here a whole week visiting our son. This was our second visit to SanAntonio. We were happy with the accommadations at the Brackenridge House.We stayed somewhere else the first time in Texas. My husband and I were even more happier this time because of the hospiality of the inkeeper Lily, we felt right at home.The location si perfect to get to the Riverwalk but a big plus with the Brackenridge is it si VERY QUIET and tranquil. THANK YOU Lily for everything we really enjoyed our stay!!!!! We almost went back and stayed at the same place the firt time we came to SanAntonio but I am sooo... happy we stayed at the Brackenridge House. We loved every minute of our stay. We will be back!!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Mockingbird Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cihafamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrackenridgeHouse, Guest Relations Manager at Brackenridge House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

The staff at Brackenridge House will be delighted to welcome you back any time. It is great to know you enjoyed your stay. How wonderful that you could relax and have visits with your son on the verandah. This makes your stay more like a "home away from home."

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We were welcomed by Lily on our arrival at the Brackenridge for a three night stay and taken to our delightful room (with a private entrance and sitting room). Lily showed us around and told us about restaurants in the area, and how to get to the river walk. There are lots of little extras in the rooms in this B&B, including coffee, candy, a small bottle of wine, a decanter of sherry, and extra toiletries. There are delicious cookies available for snacking on, and a lovely outdoor veranda. We were only two blocks away from the more residential part of the river walk, which was a real bonus as we were glad to have the chance to walk past the lovely homes in the King William Historic District. Our only disappointment was that because of some kitchen issues we were not able to have breakfast at the B&B, but were given chits to have our morning meal at a local cafe which was tasty and close by (mind you, one of the benefits of a B&B is not having to get ready/leave the place for breakfast). And other plus, Lily has lovely jewellery on hand which she makes and sells - I have a necklace from San Antonio as a result. Thanks for all your help, Lily.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ToTravelIsBrilliant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrackenridgeHouse, Guest Relations Manager at Brackenridge House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

We are glad to know that the special extras we provide our guest truly do enhance their experience. We, too, love the treat of breakfast at the B&B. Next time you plan to stay, we'll make every effort to serve you our gourmet in-house breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2014

We loved San Antonio and the
Brackenridge was within walking distance of many things that we wanted to see and do! Lovely home, great breakfast, clean and comfortable. The King William area is a "walk through the past." One beautiful old mansion after the other!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Humtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrackenridgeHouse, Guest Relations Manager at Brackenridge House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Thank you for your enthusiastic review. It is great to know that we are providing an enjoyable stay. The King William District has made a concerted effort over the years to maintain its historical treasures. Brackenridge House is a beautiful example and we want to do our part to give visitors a chance to experience this history first hand. Please come again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

We just stayed for one night which we regretted wish we had planned an extra night in San Antonio now.

The house is located very close to town and within easy walking distance of great bars and restaurants.

The house is wonderful full of antiques and the hostess is amazing and very welcoming. She spent time advising us of the best places to go and eat and also made some fresh cookies for our arrival.

We stayed in the Mocking bird suite which was really loverly and comfortable. The room had everything you would need and the hostess thinks of every small detail like complimentary beer and wine, in the room, toothpaste and shaving foam, etc.

The only downside which isn't relevant to this property but to San Antonio is it's built around a huge train line that during the night the freight trains continuously blow their horns as they go through the town so this effects all hotels in San Antonio.

This hotel is about 5 blocks from the line but I was still awoken several times but the hostess does supply ear plugs which I didn't see until the morning.

Of the four guests I was the only one to be disturbed and I am a very light sleeper, as I say we encountered this in other Texas city's too.

The breakfast was amazing, we had it on the balcony and we noticed that our national flag had also been hoisted which we thought was a very warm touch!

We met another great couple their and we joined together for breakfast, but you can have you breakfast privately in your room too. They have a rotating breakfast menu so you will never get the same breakfast twice unless you're there for a month :-)

This was a little oasis on our tour of Texas and New Orleans as the rest were hotels and this was very much needed.

Thank you for a great stay if we ever come back to Texas we will be booking two nights with you :-)

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ScottBN1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrackenridgeHouse, Guest Relations Manager at Brackenridge House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

We are so pleased that you were happy with your short stay. It is a treat for us to meet guests from around the world. We love to pamper our guests and to point out the great places to see in San Antonio. Thanks for pointing out the train horn issue to us. We will be sure to bring the ear plugs to our guests attention when they check in. It is so important to be able to get a good night's rest. We have gotten so used to the sound of the trains going through town that we barely notice them anymore. Do come back and stay at Brackenridge House if you find yourself traveling to San Antonio in the future. It would be "loverly" to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Menger Hotel
#20 of 358 in San Antonio
2,719 reviews
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 358 in San Antonio
1,598 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#9 of 358 in San Antonio
3,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#24 of 358 in San Antonio
4,126 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Midtown
Hotel Emma
Hotel Emma
#1 of 358 in San Antonio
2,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brackenridge House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brackenridge House Bed and Breakfast

Address: 230 Madison, King William Historic District, San Antonio, TX 78204-1320
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Arsenal , East Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in San Antonio
Price Range: £131 - £187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Brackenridge House Bed and Breakfast 4.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the first bed and breakfast in famous historic King William District, the Brackenridge House Bed and Breakfast has been pampering guests since 1986. Our rooms and suites are furnished in antique regal Victorian furniture with comfortable beds and the modern conveniences you would expect to find in a first-class hotel. All have en suite full bathroom and private entrance. Your stay at the Brackenridge house comes with a full three course hot breakfast prepared fresh every morning especially for you. For your enjoyment and convenience, all our rooms have mini-refrigerators stocked with complimentary drinks and ice, microwaves and coffee makers. The front porch and upstairs veranda invites you to relax in a rocking chair or porch swing while watching the horse drawn carriage goes by, enjoying a glass of wine or a good book. Immerse yourself in our hot tub in the rear garden area, it is the perfect way to start your day or unwind after a day of sightseeing. Available year round. Before retiring for the night enjoy a delicious Godiva truffle with a glass of cream sherry, pop a bag of popcorn and grab a movie from our extensive selection of DVDs or try one of our delicious signature home baked cookies. The Brackenridge House Bed and Breakfast provides the advantages of being two blocks away from the River Walk, five blocks from the Alamo and the Henry B. Gonzales Convention Center and a short walk from El Mercado and the Alamodome without the noise and congestion of downtown. The house is close to many famous and wonderful local restaurants offering delicious and excellent meals. Our goal at the Brackenridge House is for you to experience Texas hospitality at its best, and make you feel like the special person you are. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Brackenridge House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brackenridge House Hotel San Antonio
Brackenridge House b&b
Brackenridge House Bed And Breakfast San Antonio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing