We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Choose this over a downtown hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Brackenridge House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 41 San Antonio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
san antonio
Level Contributor
98 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Choose this over a downtown hotel”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

You gotta check this place out ! My wife and I stayed here on our "staycation" . We are from San Antonio and always wanted to be tourists in our own town . This is a very nice, quiet clean place with a unique charm and a lot of history . We hung out on the front porch swing at night and had morning coffee on the upstairs veranda. Quite a deal and a refreshing change when compared to the overpriced downtown large hotels . Lily the innkeeper is very inviting and is quite the cook as you will discover during your breakfast here . Staying here , you will be in the heart of "southtown" ... a happenning area ... lots of historic homes in King William area, local art , great restaurants in walking distance , walking tours I recommend this for anyone who wants to be close to the action of downtown but also appreciates the quieter , more relaxed atmosphere . A must do for couples . The house is awesome ... I'll be back .

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank martin c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrackenridgeHouse, Owner at Brackenridge House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
We love it when locals come to stay and see the city from a different point of view. It was so nice to meet you. We hope to see you during Fiesta next April and you can enjoy being in the midst of the King William Fair.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    371
    39
    7
    5
    1
See reviews for
39
241
14
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dothan, Alabama
1 review
Reviewed 16 June 2014

My husband and I spent a week in San Antonio at the Brackenridge House. The house is beautiful, our room was quiet and comfortable and the meals that our hostess Lily prepared for us were fantastic. Pretty much everything was within a reasonable walking distance and Lily provided us with a list of local restaurants and shopping venues complete with directions. We found several wonderful restaurants within a couple blocks and enjoyed a variety of different types of cuisine. We normally stay at Hilton properties but have started to find that we enjoy the personal touches that staying at a B&B provides. By far this has been the best B&B experience we have had. I highly recommend anyone even staying one night to forgo the usual high end hotel chain and stay here. You will not regret it.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Hummingbird Room. It is at the back of the house and was very roomy and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CatD711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrackenridgeHouse, Owner at Brackenridge House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Thank you so much for the high praise. Your enjoyment is the best reward for our efforts. We know how lucky we are to be surrounded by so many great restaurants in walking distance. Do come back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

In quite a quirky and beautiful part of San Antonio. About 20 minutes walk along the river to downtown. A fine old house in a quiet street; parking no problem. A selection of cafes and restaurants, as well as a Texan beer garden called, I think, "The Friendly Spot" are within easy walking distance.
The room was Victorian-ish in style. It had a separate kitchen area, which we never used. I felt very at home in it. Only quibbles were (a) a smallish shower room, though we coped ok and (b) ceiling fans, which were fine for April but which might not be so effective in summer.
Breakfasts were freshly prepared each morning and served on the balcony, and were tasty and imaginative. Lily, the proprietor, was very pleasant and welcoming. It was nice to sit and chat to other guests while having breakfast.
I was quite surprised, when we arrived in the evening, to be greeted by a Liverpool accent from the balcony saying "Eh, are you the people from Bristol?" The voice turned out to be one of another Brit couple, with whom we had a good evening in the King William area. Wasn't at my sparkling best next morning, though.
San Antonio was the highlight of our little Texas tour. Brackenridge House definitely contributed to our enjoyment; it was a brilliant base.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FreakwentFlyer69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrackenridgeHouse, Owner at Brackenridge House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Such a nice happenstance to meet folk from your own home town at Brackenridge House B&B. Adventures in a country other than one's own are awesome, but it is always nice to hear a familiar accent. Let us know if you meet up back in England. And we'd love to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We stayed here for our 25th anniversary. Host was lovely and gracious. Each of the three breakfasts we had there far exceeded our expectations. It was also within easy walking distance to many of San Antonio's familiar tourist destinations. My husband and I would highly recommend this B&B and want to come back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrackenridgeHouse, Owner at Brackenridge House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
Wow, it is wonderful to be in business long enough for you to celebrate your 25th at the same inn where you had your Honeymoon. In 2016, Brackenridge House will celebrate its 30th Anniversary. We again wish you both a Happy Anniversary. Don't wait another 25 years to come back for another stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I highly recommend the Brackenridge House B&B. Knowing that I was traveling alone, Lilly, the B&B's proprietor stayed later than usual to meet me, and upon my arrival, she showed me around the house, gave me maps to local attractions, and made sure I was comfortable before heading out that evening. Since other guests decided to leave before breakfast the next morning, she sat with me during my meal and made terrific conversation--we visited over an hour, even after the food was gone. Speaking of the food, it is great too! Eating on the front balcony surrounded by huge trees and lots of song birds made for a very relaxing morning. Additionally, my room was *very* clean and accurately represented by the photos on the website. The only surprises I experience were pleasant ones, such as: complimentary wine, sodas, popcorn, toiletries, chocolates, and water in the room's private fridge. There were even Band-aids in the bathroom, which came in handy after walking around the conference in uncomfortable footwear. One recommendation, don't lose the earplugs; the birds sing exuberantly in the morning, but for us later risers, the plugs nicely drown out their early morning songs! Overall, my room, the Cardinal Room, was very quiet--I could not hear any of the staff or other guests at all.

I echo the positive comments of other guests, as the location of the B&B is ideal. It's near enough to the tourist traps and convention center to walk and avoid paying for parking downtown (Parking at the B&B is free and convenient.), and it is situated a block or two from many great restaurants. I came for a conference that was held in the Marriott, and I walked to the conference each day in about 15 minutes or less. Rosarios', Feast, and Madhatter's Tea House and Cafe are a few of the excellent neighborhoods restaurants that I tried, and each was less than a two minute walk from Brackenridge.

On the last day of my stay, because I had to give an early morning presentation, I knew I would not make it back in time for breakfast, but Lilly generously offered to serve breakfast a little later for me. It's this commitment to customer service and detail that sets the Brackenridge several notches above other B&Bs.

I look forward eventually to returning to the Brackenrigde!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandi R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrackenridgeHouse, Owner at Brackenridge House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 27 July 2014
One of the best features of staying at our B&B is the security that single, female travelers can feel. We will always go out of our way to welcome you and to be aware of your comings and goings to the extent that you desire. Our perk as innkeepers is the chance to visit with our guests in comfort and congeniality.

Thank you for the restaurant suggestions. I love eating at Rosario's too. Good luck to you in your new adventure. Come back for another stay. You don't need a conference as an excuse to visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 May 2014

My husband and I live in Austin and went for a quick 2 night trip. The hotel was so cute and clean. The owner Lily was so nice and helpful regarding all the things to do in the area. The house is in a great location and we were able to walk to the Riverwalk, the Blue Star Arts District and several great restaurants and bars. I highly recommend staying here. The breakfast is excellent and you are far enough away from the concentrated tourist area. I would definitely come back and stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrixieDicken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrackenridgeHouse, Guest Relations Manager at Brackenridge House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Brackenridge House is happy to welcome visitors from near and far. We love meeting people and making recommendations. Now you know where we are, just down the road from Austin, please do come again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This has to be the best b&b we have ever stayed at. Bluebird suite was spacious (and there were 3 of us) and comfortable. We loved the little touches, like stocked frig, cream cherri, chocolates, popcorn (in our room!), all the essential items just in case you forgot something (including shaving cream and all natural oatmeal soap!) Now to the food: unbelievably good. It was like having a 5 course meal. The fresh fruit, pastries, the entrees and desert. Location is to die for. Eat at Rosarios (fish tacos).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joe m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrackenridgeHouse, Guest Relations Manager at Brackenridge House Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, 31 May 2014
Location, location, location! We are pleased that you had a good stay, "best" is certainly high praise. Thanks for recommending Rosario's, it's so hard to choose between so many good eateries in the neighborhood.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#10 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,957 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#20 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Contessa
#11 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,080 reviews
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,409 reviews
East Side
Hilton Palacio del Rio
Hilton Palacio del Rio
#13 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Brackenridge House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Brackenridge House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Brackenridge House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 230 Madison, King William Historic District, San Antonio, TX 78204
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Arsenal , East Side
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Brackenridge House Bed and Breakfast 4.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As the first bed and breakfast in famous historic King William District, the Brackenridge House Bed and Breakfast has been pampering guests since 1986. Our rooms and suites are furnished in antique regal Victorian furniture with comfortable beds and the modern conveniences you would expect to find in a first-class hotel. All have en suite full bathroom and private entrance. Your stay at the Brackenridge house comes with a full three course hot breakfast prepared fresh every morning especially for you. For your enjoyment and convenience, all our rooms have mini-refrigerators stocked with complimentary drinks and ice, microwaves and coffee makers. The front porch and upstairs veranda invites you to relax in a rocking chair or porch swing while watching the horse drawn carriage goes by, enjoying a glass of wine or a good book. Immerse yourself in our hot tub in the rear garden area, it is the perfect way to start your day or unwind after a day of sightseeing. Available year round. Before retiring for the night enjoy a delicious Godiva truffle with a glass of cream sherry, pop a bag of popcorn and grab a movie from our extensive selection of DVDs or try one of our delicious signature home baked cookies. The Brackenridge House Bed and Breakfast provides the advantages of being two blocks away from the River Walk, five blocks from the Alamo and the Henry B. Gonzales Convention Center and a short walk from El Mercado and the Alamodome without the noise and congestion of downtown. The house is close to many famous and wonderful local restaurants offering delicious and excellent meals. Our goal at the Brackenridge House is for you to experience Texas hospitality at its best, and make you feel like the special person you are. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Hotel.de so you can book your Brackenridge House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Brackenridge House b&b
Brackenridge House Hotel San Antonio
Brackenridge House Bed And Breakfast San Antonio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing