We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A manor fit for King William”
Review of King William Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
King William Manor
Ranked #6 of 42 San Antonio B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 July 2013

Alison and Craig Clingan are doing something different, and better, in the King William district of San Antonio. Breakfast is provided very well next door at the Liberty Bar, while they focus on their strengths. Our room in a large corner of the second building (there are several, actually) was more comfortable and any "suite" hotel we've stayed in. They were full of helpful ideas and answers to questions, both for us and for several others we saw them with. Even the question I asked that they didn't have an answer for immediately (San Antonio is a large place, after all) was answered quickly — sooner than I would have found the answer myself. They were proactive in solving problems we hadn't anticipated, yet they weren't obtrusive, a skill that many never learn.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HansPG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (188)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

63 - 69 of 188 reviews

Reviewed 20 June 2013

My family stayed in the Stone House on the property. It's a separate house from the Inn, and shares a parking lot and the pool. We stayed for three nights and four days, and wish it could have been three weeks. The house, with three bedrooms, (one is a single) is spacious and very comfortable. It was totally clean, and the kitchen and bathrooms were well stocked.

There are many excellent restaurants within walking distance, and it's quite close to the River Walk, too.

The kitchen has all the amenities you could want, and the master bedroom has a large Jacuzzi in the bathroom. We enjoyed that Jacuzzi a great deal! While we were there the weather was variable - cool and rainy some days (Jacuzzi weather) and hot toward the end of our stay, when we enjoyed the pool. The pool is wonderful - very clean, though not very chlorinated, and large enough for laps.

The bedrooms were well furnished and the beds were quite comfortable, except the little bed in the small bedroom. My daughter ended up sleeping on the sofa, which she found very comfortable.

The owners were mostly invisible, but totally accessible when we needed them. We needed help getting around and figuring out the Jacuzzi. They were completely attentive, helpful, and friendly. We would definitely stay there again if we return to San Antonio.

Room Tip: If you need multiple bedrooms, the Stone House is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Drumonkey23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2013

King William Manor is located in a quiet, historical and beautiful part of San Antonio -- easy access to the bike trails and nice walk to the River Walk. We stayed in The Islands in the second building for Saturday night of St. Patrick's Day weekend. We arrived earlier than planned and although Deandre was offsight, she quickly arrived to let us in. Our room was spacious and had nice furniture with a very comfortable bed; the bathroom was awkwardly laid out and small but everything was provided that we needed. We liked the idea of having breakfast at the Liberty Bar next door at our lesiure, but both times we ate there (Saturday lunch & Sunday breakfast), the service was horrible and the food was just okay -- we were hoping for wonderful homecooked food that we wouldn't take the time to make for ourselves at home.

Most of the B&Bs we stay in have many "homey" touches such as assortment of drinks, snacks and baked goods or cookies available and the owners are around to answer questions about the B&B and surrounding area. This B&B has a Keurig machine in the main house but that's inconvenient if you are in the second building; there are no other drinks, snacks, baked goods or cookies. Deandre, whom we assume is an employee instead of the owner, gave us a map and restaurant recommendations when we checked in, but didn't tell us much about the house, history or grounds. Overall we enjoyed our stay, but we felt like we paid a B&B price but stayed in a nice hotel room.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TEFox1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

We stayed in the main house. We had a wonderful stay here and enjoyed the balcony very much. Our room was reasonably spacious and the bed very comfortable. Loved the antiques in the house; this is a beautiful place. The grounds are lovely as is the immediate area. Innkeepers were gracious and offered interesting information on both the house, restaurants and the area. At their suggestion, we took the scenic highway up to Ft Worth & that was definitely worth it.

Room Tip: Second floor in the main house has access to the balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Savannah38372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Another spectacular weekend at FIESTA in San Antonio! After a long day of walking, shopping, eating, drinking and enjoying this wonderful city, there is nothing better than to come back to a beautiful home like the King William Manor. The historic character and warmth of this B & B makes the whole weekend complete. All San Antonio has to offer is accessible from here. The Innkeeper Allison is very charming, and along with her husband, Craig, they have appointed this property with all the amenities anyone could ask for. The artwork, handmade chandeliers by Craig, furnishings and English charm make this establishment a must stay for everyone. The private pool also invites those who desire a little cooling off in the hot summer months. Breakfast at the Liberty Bar, adjacent to the King William Manor, is a real treat as well. Our hostess, Gina, delighted us with with a one-of-a-kind meal and fantastic Bloody Mary's to kick start the day! If you are reading this now, please do yourself a favor...Book a room at the King William Manor and tell them The Coyne's sent ya!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013 via mobile

Location perfect. Room was perfect. Owners lovely...what more could you ask for?
Within comfortable walking distance to river walk, and the walk was well worth the distance. Oh what a beautiful weekend. We enjoyed staying in the room called The Cottage. It is sort of its own little place that is off of the second house to the back. For a Friday night it was extremely quiet on the grounds and we appreciate that. Like to have fun but then we want to relax. Fireplace super cozy and huge jacuzzi perfect ending to a busy day. You'll enjoy breakfast at the Liberty Bar next door. We couldn't have been happier. Thank you Allison ( I hope I remembered that correctly!)
Andrew and Krystle

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AndyKrysBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

So breakfast at this B&B is actually at a restaurant across the street. The B&B has a Keurig type machine in the main house where check-in is, but not in the other building and I usually require coffee first thing in the morning to facilitate in me actually getting dressed and having all the right clothes on in the right order (and lets face it, Keurigs and their like are basically glorified instant coffee and don't really count). Coffee in either the rooms or in both buildings would have been helpful, since you have to actually leave the premises to get breakfast (and i also don't cross streets well without caffeine, my motor functions don't work without java!). Breakfast at the restaurant was nice in that you get a variety you don't usually get with a B&B but you had better like eggs since every item on the menu was an egg variation, except for one entree of french toast (that was more like a bread pudding than toast). Also you should be prepared to spend about $5 per person for breakfast since you get one beverage and one item per person and anything else is an extra charge. Which is fine, except I usually like coffee and orange juice in the morning and you get charged for the extra drink. They did it right, they charged me for the cheaper (the coffee) and gave me the more expensive OJ gratis, but you should be aware. In addition if you want eggs, hashbrowns and a meat (bacon, sausage, whatever) you will be charged extra since you can get potatoes or a meat but not both with the 'breakfast package', and again if you want bacon or something with your french toast, there is an extra charge. So again, expect to pay about $5 per person extra for breakfast in the morning.

That being said, everyone at both places, The Manor and the Liberty bar, were all very nice, very accommodating and very welcoming. The beds were super comfy, the rooms and bathrooms perfectly clean and spacious, not a single complaint about the premises or the people. The Manor is located just a couple of blocks from the Riverwalk amid some of the most gorgeous houses that make the walk really enjoyable and then a brief stroll along a gorgeous jasmine scented riverside until you reach the heart of downtown makes this B&B truly in an ideal spot. Considering hotels in downtown San Antonio charge a crazy amount for parking, and the walk is so nice and inviting, I have to say I much preferred staying at the Manor to the downtown hotel we have also stayed at in San Antonio. It was an all around better experience and we would go back to the B&B before we went back to the downtown hotel should we visit again.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank QueenMean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kwmsa, Owner at King William Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2013

Thank you for the input. We have decided to put coffee makers in all of the rooms and we are working on a coffee station for the guest house. We appreciate your suggestions and we hope that you will come back to visit us very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Hotel Contessa
#6 of 358 in San Antonio
3,346 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#9 of 358 in San Antonio
3,208 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Arsenal
Noble Inns - The Oge House, Inn on the Riverwalk
Arbor House Inn And Suites
#3 of 42 in San Antonio
141 reviews
Arsenal
Brackenridge House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King William Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King William Manor

Address: 1037 S Alamo St, San Antonio, TX 78210-1109 (Formerly Columns on Alamo)
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Arsenal , East Side
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in San Antonio
Price Range: £83 - £130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — King William Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly The Columns on Alamo, King William Manor has undergone an extensive renovation under the watchful eyes of the former owners of Bankers Hill Manor in San Diego, CA. Join us in the exquisite King William Historical District within quick proximity to downtown and all the great destinations, but enjoy the soothing serenity of this beautiful neighborhood. We look forward to meeting you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your King William Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King William Manor Hotel San Antonio
King William Manor San Antonio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing