We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful place”
Review of King William Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
King William Manor
Ranked #6 of 41 San Antonio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
ODESSA
1 review
“Wonderful place”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We had a wonderful stay! My husband had a business meeting and I was the tourist. Room was clean, comfortable and it is in a great neighborhood. It is a quiet, peaceful neighborhood. It is within walking distance of the Riverwalk, Rivercenter Mall, charming homes in King William District, La Villita, Alamo, and Hemisphere Plaza to name a few things. A lot of tours leave from the Alamo Plaza. They give you breakfast at the Mad Hatter which is a great place to eat. We enjoyed our stay and will stay again next time we are in San Antonio. I enjoyed visiting with the owners and staff. They really made me feel welcome!

louise

Room Tip: This is an Inn, not a full service hotel. We had a downstairs front corner room and did not hear an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LOUISE E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    22
    6
    1
    3
See reviews for
20
112
12
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

My husband and I stayed 2 nights in the Bella suite. The room was beautiful and inviting, very clean and comfortable, with a nice veranda overlooking the street. The house is in a charming neighborhood of period homes, easy walking distance to the Riverwalk. We like to walk and found the location good for getting to restaurants, the Alamo and Fiesta events. Our host was friendly and provided an excellent restaurant recommendation (Rosarios, we went twice!). We did find the air conditioner a bit loud, but we aren't used to it so perhaps this is normal. We would definitely return if travelling to San Antonio again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martheandian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 1 May 2014

When we travel, I put a lot of thought into each hotel decision; I'm always searching for that perfect mix of local charm, proximity to sites, and luxury. The KWM has all that! After spending the day exploring the downtown and the adjacent king William neighborhood, it is great to return to a lovely room with a big comfortable bed. I especially like the upper deck of the guest house, where you can relax and people watch as the evening winds down (with a Tower view and a bottle of wine).

The owners took care to make sure we well satisfied during our stay. They had good recommendations for local restaurants and suggested a couple of sites we might have otherwise missed. Overall, our KWM visit was a fabulous experience that we hope to repeat.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blume512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kwmsa, Owner at King William Manor, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Thanks for your positive feedback! We hope to see you again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Arrived promptly at 3:00pm for check in. Celebrating my 50th birthday, should have stayed home.
Staff non existent. A young man asked us if we were someone's relatives, didn't ask us if we were guests until I said so.

Room was large, ceiling fan broken (clank clank clank ALL the time). Low ceiling in bathroom. Hit my head on a crossbeam ( I am 6'2"). BIZAAR shower; smaller than a shoe closet with LOW water pressure.

No one checked on us the entire visit. No checkout instructions, had to leave keys next to a laptop computer i saw them use to register us.

BREAKFAST! hmmmm, a coupon for a restaurant down the street. Gratuity and taxes NOT included. For $200.00 a night you would expect more than this!!

I would not recommend this place!! EVER

Room Tip: YOU wish a good room?? stay at the Marriot Riverwalk!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cls78254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kwmsa, Owner at King William Manor, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay at King William Manor. I wish you would have alerted us about the issue with the fan. All of our rooms and bathrooms are different. Some of our rooms have bigger showers and some have bigger bath tubs. I would like for our future guests to know that the breakfast voucher includes an entree and beverage for two and includes all Taxes. It is not a "coupon".
The Marriott is a nice hotel downtown, however I do believe that you miss out on the charm of an independent, locally owned business when staying at chain hotels. We value all of our guests suggestions and take our reviews seriously. It surprises me when we find out this way that someone was dissatisfied. I wish you would have given us the opportunity to address your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liberty, WV
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

We stay in B&B's to avoid the sterile atmosphere of hotels. We like the personal touches in decor, the friendly assistance of hosts, and the home-cooked breakfasts. None of that is readily available at King William Manor. When we arrived 20 minutes early, the doors were locked and no one was at the reception desk. The room was large but nondescript. Breakfast was down the street. The owners were very helpful with arranging a bike trip for us on the Mission Trail. Overall, though, this seems to be an inn rather than a B&B, an inn minus someone always in reception.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank WVLola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I spent two nights in the Amelia Room of the KWM for a conference recently. it was such a treat -- from the spacious suite, complete with king-sized bed and fireplace, and jacuzzi tub -- staying at KWM, that I was thrilled I hadn't gone with a hotel. Wireless worked great and made it easy to do my work. KWM doesn't offer a breakfast on site, but they do provide breakfast vouchers for the Madhatter, a charming spot a short block away -- good food! I also liked that my room featured a Keurig coffeemaker. Close to the Riverwalk -- managed a great run one morning. Super experience, highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glendale, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2014

We stayed at KWM 3 nights in the Amelia Room. The staff was very accommodating and we were treated to some rain and a "First Friday" as well. The room was a good size and the bed was comfy with good linens. I've stayed in a few B&Bs in CA and VT and really enjoyed the KWM. I liked the in room coffee and the fact that they supplied pretty good coffee and creamers...not that powered stuff. The lobby is nice and filled with good books; I really would have enjoyed up to date info on the KWM neighborhood local eateries/stores since we didn't want to eat at Riverwalk every night.

A few items to improve on: insulate the windows somehow-I know it's historic and you can't mess with stuff but it did get cold even with all windows shut; provide nicer hangers in the closet; provide a more substantial shelf in the bathroom for guests' personal items-the only shelf was above the toilet and you know what happens when you leave the lid up! Also could have used 2-3 more pillows, luggage rack to open suitcase on, and to know whether or not the damper was open for the gas fireplace. Also, this is not a true B&B as you don't eat breakfast at the Inn...BUT the Madhatter was great! We had 3 meals there and I was wishing I had time to try the high tea they had but maybe next time.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kristina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#21 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Contessa
#11 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,081 reviews
Arsenal
Noble Inns - The Oge House, Inn on the Riverwalk
Arsenal
Eva's Escape at the Gardenia Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to King William Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about King William Manor

Property: King William Manor
Address: 1037 S Alamo St, San Antonio, TX 78210-1109 (Formerly Columns on Alamo)
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Arsenal , East Side
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — King William Manor 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly The Columns on Alamo, King William Manor has undergone an extensive renovation under the watchful eyes of the former owners of Bankers Hill Manor in San Diego, CA. Join us in the exquisite King William Historical District within quick proximity to downtown and all the great destinations, but enjoy the soothing serenity of this beautiful neighborhood. We look forward to meeting you! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HRS, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your King William Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
King William Manor Hotel San Antonio
King William Manor San Antonio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing