We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Inn on the Riverwalk
Ranked #1 of 41 San Antonio B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
katy, TX
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Disappointing B&B”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

My husband purchased this B&B two-night stay as an “Amazon deal”. We looked at the website and thought it looked perfect for our wedding anniversary get-away. We have stayed in two other B&B ‘s in San Antonio that were outstanding and since we got married in SA it has very special meaning for us. However, when we drove up, we were immediately thinking the place looked in need of rehab. The staff were already gone, but they had called us while we were stuck in traffic and left us our key and instructions as to how to get in etc. The room was a complete let down. It did not look at all like the pictures, and this was an “upgrade” to a “spa room” - because our original dates weren’t available. I dread to think what the “regular” room is like.
I hate writing a bad review. But to be completely honest, we were so disappointed we didn’t even stay the second night. The B&B does not have a warm, inviting feel to it and the breakfast was also not what we were expecting. A cold selection of breads, store-bought muffins, etc. There really is no pride of ownership in this property, and it’s sad, because it could be an outstanding house, if it were renovated and run properly. Quite frankly, I’m shocked at the good reviews and wonder if they are real.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trishkaty_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    167
    53
    26
    20
    14
See reviews for
46
166
9
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, Ohio
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This Inn has a perfect location if visiting San Antonio. Free parking and right on the Riverwalk, which meant we only used our car twice for a 5 night stay. It was an easy walk to downtown along the Riverwalk, or you could walk up on the street level. Very safe area for walking. The Inn was clean, but not super clean. Cobwebs were behind the bed. Bathroom was very very small. The only shared room was the dinning area. Breakfast is not the typical B&B breakfast but a continental breakfast. The Inn outside is in need of repairs. We had our adult daughter with us and we had to ask for an extra set of towels everyday. With this said, we did enjoy our stay and I can not stress great the location. Just a few blocks from everything but in a very quiet location and free parking. We were on the first floor and never had any trouble sleeping because of noise, except the night the Spurs won the finals! That had nothing to do with the Inn, everyone was awake during the celebration.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pflugerville, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Spent the weekend in downtown San Antonio for a graduation of a family member. Our stay at the Inn on the Riverwalk was perfect in many ways including it's location with respect to the downtown areas. Though it is on the riverwalk it is a nice and quiet area so when time is needed for peace and quiet you get that as well. There were never any problems with parking, great time....

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

The inn is in a great location and with free parking which is an advantage in San Antonio. Unfortunately when we arrived we were unable to go to the room we booked and we had kindly been put in the honeymoon suite. Please note that being an old place there is no lift so if you have a heavy case like us you will have to carry it upstairs. The honeymoon suite was lovely and with a lovely view of downtown. We had to move rooms once the problem with our room was fixed, unfortunately there was no offer to help us move our luggage.

Room Tip: Go for the honeymoon suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gill418
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We booked the 'penthouse' or 'honeymoon suite' as it was later called. Either is appropriate although I favor the later. Our anniversary here was perfect, far far better than I could ever have hoped for. The host was very attentive to our ever wish, and surprised us with the sensual beauty of a dual coloured rose petals in the shape of a heart on the bed. The tub, the patio, and of course the breakfast in bed were beyond wonderful, and the view of the river is the best I have seen in San Antonio. To take in the third floor view from this quiet Victorian structure is like stepping back in time a hundred years yet having the best of everything now, so to speak. If I can conjure the picturesque in words then I have conveyed the joy of staying here, and Yes, I will be back. Thank you from the two of us for a magic night's stay!

Room Tip: The third floor is worth the climb.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dr. Edwin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johnstown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
90 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

The Inn on the Riverwalk was a great place to stay the only place I would want to stay when visiting San Antonio. It's two remodeled Victorian style houses remodeled into suites. Rather than staying at a hotel, it almost feels like your staying at someone's house (well kept of-course). The location for us was perfect, easy free parking at the Inn, which has a walk down ramp to the river walk. For those who don't mind walking, its perfect. If you go to the left, you walk to commercialized portion of the river walk and if you go to the right, you head towards San Antonio's "German town". The breakfast is home cooked and served in an area off to the left of the check in desk. For anyone looking for a more secluded and "romantic" getaway, this is the place to stay. (For those with kids, such as us, no worry, some of the suites have guest beds included).

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sierra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

This is an older B&B, without some of the things like flat screen TV's that some think are important. Since we do not come to San Antonio to watch TV or swim in a pool, we love the Inn. It is quiet and yet it is within walking distance of the Riverwalk. I booked us into 22, which is on the bottom floor and does not have a balcony,which my hubby really wanted. The next morning, he went to speak to the desk and Joe immediately put us into #16, which is a little smaller, but has a nice covered balcony overlooking the river. Since we don't come to SA to stay in our room, watch TV or movies, we love it. Inn on the Riverwalk is just what we wanted. A nice, quiet, convenient room to stay and enjoy the city. I can hear the birds singing, and the sound of rushing water from the small "dam" near here. I saw hummingbirds in the flowering bush below our balcony. I will definitely return and have already recommended it to others.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank sjschafer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#11 of 355 in San Antonio
3,010 reviews
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 355 in San Antonio
3,664 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Contessa
#10 of 355 in San Antonio
3,143 reviews
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on the Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on the Riverwalk

Property: Inn on the Riverwalk
Address: 129 Woodward Pl, San Antonio, TX 78204-1120
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Inn on the Riverwalk 2*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of downtown San Antonio, Texas, the Inn on the Riverwalk is situated on the banks of the famous San Antonio Riverwalk. Enjoy complimentary parking, wireless internet and a fully cooked breakfast, water, fruit juice, teas & coffees, snacks and great customer service! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Inn on the Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On The Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
Inn Riverwalk
Inn On The Riverwalk San Antonio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing