We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for business traveler, not so for families” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Hyatt San Antonio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand Hyatt San Antonio
Ranked #19 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
West Middlesex, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good for business traveler, not so for families”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2012

My wife and I stayed at this hotel during a recent business trip. The room was beautiful with a very nice view. The bar was nice and service was excellent. The pool was crowded and somewhat cloudy. People at the pool were bragging that they didn't stay there but since they didn't need a key to access the pool, they just come to swim!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Antonio, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
Hi David, we appreciate your feedback and are happy to hear you and your wife enjoyed your time with us. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,025 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,563
    942
    358
    113
    49
See reviews for
411
448
81
1,807
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (473)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2012

Stayed 3 nights in early June. Large hotel, fairly close to the highway. Typical large convention center hotel, with looooooong hallways, indescript hotel decor -- could have been anywhere, no sense of San Antonio at all. No free Internet in the rooms. Expensive parking. The bed sheets (fitted!) too small for the bed and kept coming off through the night. Room was in the 6th floor, and heard the pipes of the hotel buzzing all day long! Unlikely to repeat a stay here.

Room Tip: Pick another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CultureWarrior
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2012

Stayed here on business but also was able to enjoy some downtime. Very nice hotel and staff. Close to the Riverwalk, Alamo and other attractions. The hotel restaraunt was above and beyond my expectations; food and service were excellent and nice atmosphere. Lobby bar very young and fun. The staff is very courteous and attentive to guest's needs. The infiniti pool was spectacular and I loved slipping into their super comfy robes after a refreshing shower. Would absolutely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WhittyKP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Antonio, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
Thank you for your feedback! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us and our restaurant. Looking forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

My family spent Memorial Day weekend at this hotel, and it was fabulous. We stayed on the Grand Club floor, which gave us access to the Grand Club. We were able to enjoy a complimentary breakfast (cereals, yogurts, pastries, fresh fruit, coffee/juice) in the morning and heavy hors d'oeuvres (cheese, crackers, prosciutto, veggies with dip) in the evening. Throughout the day, we could snag yummy snacks and non-alcoholic beverages. Not having to worry about dining options with an 18-month old allowed us to spend more time visiting San Antonio. The Grand Club king room was perfect for us because we were able to open the closet door to seperate the entry from the rest of the room. Our son was able to sleep in the smaller room with the complimentary crib. And, he slept fantastic-no loud noises to wake him up. The hotel also provided us with a selection of baby tolietries (Johnson & Johnson), which was very thoughtful. The service was outstanding from delivering the crib to bringing us hypo-allergenic sheets. And, the location was ideal. We were within walking distance of the Riverwalk attractions, including the Alamo. We did pay to self-park, and it was pricey. But, I think that is typical for any hotel on the Riverwalk. It's just something to factor into your travel budget. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Stay on the Grand Club floor and ask for a view of the Riverwalk. It's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ThriftyTraveler2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Antonio, responded to this review, 3 July 2012
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your memorial day weekend with us. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2012

Overall very nice. Rooms are a little small but pictures were very accurate. Not on the main Riverwalk....that has pro's AND con's. Would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geiggi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texas
Level Contributor
106 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

Just came back today from a great stay at this hotel(Sat, May 26-Mon, May 28). We vallet parked @ $33 per night(which was a bit steep but comparable to the other Riverwalk hotels). Check in was a breeze and EVERYONE we came in contact with was super pleasant & acccomodating! We were greeted upon arrival, then sent over to the check in desk, where Tommy helped us and was incredibly friendly and attentive! We asked for a high level room and he accomodated us with room 1874. He told us where the pool, exercise room and restaurants were as well as what door to use to get us to the Riverwalk. He said the hotel was fully booked and we were a bit apprehensive about this but we NEVER had to wait for an elevator for an extended period. Our room was on the corner of the floor and was spacious and very clean. We had a cityview room and it was very nice. I'll admit, I was very apprehensive about this hotel. I initially won a bid off priceline and after I googled the hotel name, I was directed to a site about "bed bugs". It scared the pants off me! The reviews were all from 2011 and the first thing I did when I got to my room was check for them. The room was VERY clean and thankfully, none were found! The bed was very comfortable. Our room was cleaned by 11am, which was great for us! We spent a few hours at the pool and I love the poolside waiters! They were all very friendly. I did not like the Diamond Margarita that was made for me, so they took it back and asked if they could throw something "special" together for me. I agreed to it and the drink turned out to be VERY GOOD! Even for the hotel to be fully booked, we spent from 10am-2pm at the pool and never had issues with the area overflowing with people. We had Starbucks(Perks, is what the hotel calls it) and love how they aim to please with however you want your coffee made(Caramel Macchiato extra sweet). There are sooo many areas to sit and people watch, both inside and outside the hotel. We rapped up every evening at Bar Rojo with fresh sushi and drinks. THANK YOU MARIO for running the children out after 9pm even when the adults act like they can't read the signs and get upset at you doing your job! I applaud you at how you handle these situations as I witnessed parents flipping you off for doing so. I have children myself but I welcomed some time w/out all the noise! My husband and I really enjoyed our stay here and would do so again in a heartbeat! The hotel sits on the end of the riverwalk and it's PERFECT! VERY close to the Rivercenter Mall and we welcomed the little walk back every night. My only complaints would be that (1) They ran out of washcloths when they cleaned our room and we had to call room service for some and (2) They charged us for 2 vehicles, instead of 1 but they took it off immediately after we brought it to their attention-also the vallet told us we still owed and I had to show him my receipt. All in all, it was still a nice stay!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank texasgirl1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SATGH, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Antonio, responded to this review, 1 June 2012
We truly appreciate your review and are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
121 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

What a Hotel , when they say Grand they mean it..The check in is simple ,web, bar code or lots of people and counter space .Fifteen Porters and at least 15 men to pick up your car .Fastest elevators I have ever been in ..Very spacious work out room , nice pool area out side couches on the fifth floor .Incredible views of the city .walking distance of shops , food , and Water Taxi's.Book this Hotel and you will not be disapointed..Pure Luxury

Room Tip: get the rewards card from Hyatt
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Randy413
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SATGH, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Antonio, responded to this review, 29 May 2012
Thank you Randy! We appreciate your feedback and are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,389 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Hotel Contessa
#9 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,003 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#20 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,794 reviews
East Side
Hilton Palacio del Rio
Hilton Palacio del Rio
#14 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,635 reviews
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt San Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt San Antonio

Property: Grand Hyatt San Antonio
Address: 600 East Market Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Antonio
#11 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#17 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#31 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#42 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt San Antonio 4*
Number of rooms: 1003
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a dramatic design that exemplifies this unique city, the Grand Hyatt is an exciting blend of modernism and the Latin culture. Located on the Riverwalk, its warm hospitality and bold colors create a San Antonio Luxury hotel that is perfect for every guest, whether traveling for business or vacation. This urban retreat has a premier location, adjacent to the convention center and HemisFair Park. Our outstanding amenities and unprecedented services will make your experience extraordinary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Agoda, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Grand Hyatt San Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt San Antonio Hotel San Antonio
San Antonio Grand Hyatt
Hyatt San Antonio
San Antonio Hyatt
Grand Hyatt San Antonio Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing