We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly/Helpful Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Hyatt San Antonio
Ranked #20 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
SAN ANGELO
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Friendly/Helpful Staff”
Reviewed 2 August 2014

I came to this hotel for my AER International Conference (For Professionals in the area of Vision Impairments/Blindness). The staff went out of their way to make a specific dog guide relief stations for the dog guide users who came to this conference. They kept their cool when multiple people who were blind, dog guide users, can users; and various professionals registered at the same time. The rooms were well kept, and you could hardly hear other guests. The only issue was I kept on having problems with my wifi in my room. I had my work mifi that I used instead.

Room Tip: The rooms that are in the upper ranges 8 on up have a nice view of the city night lights.
See more room tips
Green Features: If you don't put your towels on the floor, they will leave it. They also left me with enough hand towels for each day I was in the hotel. There are recydle bins throughout the htel.
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MARGARITAS178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie C, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Antonio, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
We enjoyed reading your feedback and are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to your next trip to San Antonio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,658
    968
    371
    124
    52
See reviews for
426
456
82
1,925
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (484)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed here last year for San Japan and had such a wonderful time. So, this year, we went back to the convention and even brought a few friends along since we had such a great experience. We had made all the arrangements a few weeks in advance, so nothing would take the staff by surprise. The reservation had been made months before, we just wanted to be able to check in early so that our things could be stored somewhere safe. We got to the hotel around 10am. We knew the room wouldn't be ready, but we were told that we would be able to keep our items in a safe place. When we got to the front desk to let them know we were there, the staff was incredibly rude. There was actually someone in the lobby talking to the incoming guests and trying to detour them from going to the front desk. We finally were able to speak with someone at the front desk, who told us we had to pay in advance for the room, which we couldn't check into yet, and that they had no idea when it would be ready and that we could just put our things on the second floor, but she didn't think anyone was watching it. She was incredibly cold and unhelpful and really just seemed resentful. We eventually just gave up on trying to, at least, get a safe place for our luggage, and went upstairs. Luckily, there was someone watching everyone luggage and he was probably the nicest person we had talked to that morning. Eventually, we got a call that our room was ready and we got checked in. After all the issues we had that morning, the hotel gave us a credit. So, when we paid for the room before check-in, the credit was used and we were not informed. We had been told that it would be used for "food and beverage" in the hotel bar/restaurant but that it would not be applied to the total for our room. Unfortunately, we would discover this when checking out and owe and additional $30. When we got to our room, we noticed that the refrigerator wasn't cooling properly. We turned down the thermostat and waited a few hours to see if it would change. After coming back to a still warm fridge, we became concerned since we had food that needed to be kept cold. We called hotel maintenance to see if it could be fixed, but we were told by the staff "we could get you another fridge, but it would just do the same thing." We ended up using the large insulated lunch box/cooler and filling it with ice to keep our food cold. The hotel did a terrible job this year and we will not be coming back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Cara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie C, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Antonio, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for taking the opportunity to review your recent stay with us. We apologize for your less than pleasurable experience. We would love to have another opportunity in the future to provide you with the standard of service both you and we expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 1 August 2014

While my stay at the Grand Hyatt in San Antonio, I had the pleasure of meeting Judy, Angie,Mo, Andrea and Ramir! The service was amazing and made my family and I truly feel like..well Family! Made our stay Amazing!!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KingdomVoice30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie C, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Antonio, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to hear you enjoyed our property and Grandn Club attendants. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

First thing the concierge Ricardo was great he was the best concierge I have ever met he was helping me a week before I arrived ,the grand club was great Mo.Judy,Ramir, Andrea and Angie made are stay so nice I wanted to stay even longer they made our family feel at home and took care of all our needs with a smile I would recommend everyone who visits the Grand Hyatt San Antonio get club access during their visit worth every penny

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie C, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Antonio, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
We enjoyed reading your feedback and are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to your next trip to San Antonio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2014 via mobile

We love Hyatts...but The Grand at the Riverwalk not only had a great view and lots to do, it also had immaculate service especially at the Grand Club.
It was such a pleasure being catered to by Judy, Andriea, Mo, Angie & Ramir during our stay. Ladies, you all were so warm and caring for my daughter and so very patient to meet our needs. It was like home away from home....Lastly,thanks to Ricardo for all your help and genuine care. We definitely want to return soon!
-Alexa M.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie C, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Antonio, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
We enjoyed reading your feedback and are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to your next trip to San Antonio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stonington, Connecticut
1 review
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I stayed for a week in a Club room. The Club staff was so nice, helpful, friendly and now I think of them as old friends: Judy, Andreia, Mo, and Angie. That's how they acted. Great food and snacks, comfortable and relaxing. The housekeeping staff was prompt and extra helpful. The lounge chair in my room was too big and not particularly useful, and it would have helped to have a few more drawers. But the Club folks were so nice that they made up for it.

Room Tip: Get a Club room; well worth the extra cost. No real need to go out for meals because of the breakfa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ann b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie C, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Antonio, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the club floor and the great ladies that watch over that area. We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

was unable to unpack .Only 2 small drawers the size of refrigerator drawers.So be prepared to live out of your suitcacase.
Spacious, badly lit rooms, uncorfortable. silly chaise lonunge , no armchairs to sit in.
Pool area like a prison courtyard. all concrete, no umbrellas no shade in the July Texas sun with 100 degrees. Promoting skin cancer.murky pool water
Club floor is a bad joke lounge serves mediocre high cholesterol food.
Understaffed property .Staff cannot tell you an easy way to the River Walk in San Antonio.
Whole propert is an ugly concrete cold piece of architecture reminiscent of te Soviet Union Buildings

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Didier P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie C, Manager at Grand Hyatt San Antonio, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Thank you for your review. We apologize that the functionality of your room and the pool area were not to your standards. We will take this information into consideration for future hotel updates.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#21 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,561 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Hotel Contessa
#11 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#22 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,905 reviews
East Side
Hilton Palacio del Rio
Hilton Palacio del Rio
#13 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,748 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#10 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,959 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt San Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt San Antonio

Property: Grand Hyatt San Antonio
Address: 600 East Market Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Antonio
#12 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#17 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#31 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#42 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt San Antonio 4*
Number of rooms: 1003
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a dramatic design that exemplifies this unique city, the Grand Hyatt is an exciting blend of modernism and the Latin culture. Located on the Riverwalk, its warm hospitality and bold colors create a San Antonio Luxury hotel that is perfect for every guest, whether traveling for business or vacation. This urban retreat has a premier location, adjacent to the convention center and HemisFair Park. Our outstanding amenities and unprecedented services will make your experience extraordinary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Agoda, TravelUp, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt San Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt San Antonio Hotel San Antonio
San Antonio Grand Hyatt
Hyatt San Antonio
San Antonio Hyatt
Grand Hyatt San Antonio Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing