We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place to stay by the Riverwalk with nice rooms!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand Hyatt San Antonio
Ranked #20 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great place to stay by the Riverwalk with nice rooms!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2009

I was pleased with this hotel. My boyfriend and I are from Austin, we day trip frequently and this is a great place to stay. It's a small walk from the strip of restaurants on the River Walk, and there are restaurants within the hotel. When we arrived, check out was fast and we used overnight valet to simplify things. (We stayed during Fiesta and did not want to drive!) Once checked in, we arrived at our room on the 11th floor. The view was of the city, very nice room. Bed was pretty comfortable, there is a lounge chair to enjoy, nice TV (flat screen). We regret not bringing our DVD player! The actual room was clean, bathroom was clean, amenities were overall nice. We did not use room service, but the bell boys and valet were quick and very nice. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NicolesDayDreamin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,079 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,597
    953
    361
    117
    51
See reviews for
416
450
81
1,851
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (480)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2009

Beautiful hotel in San Antonio, quite possibly the best in the city.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sritter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2009

I wasn't sure what to expect from this hotel based on the reviews, but chose it because we got a great deal. This hotel was absolutely great. It's close to everything but on a quiet part of the Riverwalk, so you get the best of both worlds. We were visiting during Spring Break, so it was nice to be in a "quiet" area of the Riverwalk. One thing I noticed immediately was the artwork. The lobby is just beautiful and they have added some very unique touches with the art and tiles they have used. We actually asked someone about the artwork and learned that they hired local artists for the job. Finally - the restaurant is great (so is the bar). We were starving when we arrived and lucky for us, they were having a fajita buffet when we arrived. The price was reasonable and the food (and margaritas) were excellent.
The workout facility is beautiful - this was the first time I left my running shoes at home and I was bummed that I did. I only wish there were more chairs around the pool and that the pool was warmer during cold weather. It was only about 45 degrees when we were there, which was way too cold to swim. I wished they had a hot tub, because there is an excellent view of the Tower of the Americas from the pool area - but there's no reason to go out there if it's chilly. On the last day it was really warm, but the pool area was pretty crowded. I easily found a seat but wished it were a slightly bigger area. Still - the pool is beautiful, as is the whole hotel. OH- and the rooms are great, and the staff was very friendly. I realize this is a long review, but I didn't realize I would like this hotel so much based on the reviews and feel it should have some better reviews.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JBroms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2009

Stayed at the Grand Hyatt San Antonio in March '09 and had no problems. The small size of the rooms was somewhat a disappointment, but nothing to spoil the trip. Noise inside the hotel was never an issue and staff was friendly. Dining and food area were good, but the walk is not too far to better Riverwalk dining locations. We will most likely stay at the Hyatt Regency Riverwalk next time due to the fact it has a much better location to the Riverwalk attractions. Grand is somewhat at the end of the Riverwalk and away from everything.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff55z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2009

We stayed at the Grand Hyatt this past weekend. Overall our stay was just fine--the hotel is new and very large, as it appears to cater to the conventions happening right next door to the hotel. The rooms are a little on the small side, but have nice modern furnishings including a comfortable bed with nice down pillows. The staff was also helpful. The one drawback was that the walls in the rooms were very thin, as we could clearly hear our neighbors who had two small children. Additionally, the room doors are very heavy and can be heard slamming throughout the night. I'm not sure why they don't install something to slow the speed of the heavy door down. Bring ear plugs if you want a quiet night's rest. Also be prepared to pay $23 to self park your car.

Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank therichardsons99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
houston
Level Contributor
39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2009

Where to start?... first they closed their restaurant an hour early, citing staffing problems. Then they took an hour and half to do the room service thing, again, saying they were short staffed. Coffee in the morning took a half hour of standing in line, again, short staffed. Then, the next night, we got to the restaurant an hour and a half before it was supposed to close, the waitress told us we should get the buffet, as she was running behind, since they were short staffed. The "buffet", consisted of fajitas, rice and beans. Sorry, out of everything else they said. They were short staffed. Lastly, the idiot valets, took an hour and a half to get our car. It took me literally screaming at them to get them off their rears to get my car. Actually, I found it before they did. Which makes sense since they never looked for it. That's not a misprint. 90 minutes for my whole family to sit there while these morons lied repeatedly telling me they were "going to get it right now". Oddly, the valet station was not short staffed, they just have incompetent supervisors. Hey Hyatt, you stink and you're getting worse. My daughter would like to add...."No joke but the whataburger was better than this hotel and I would know I'm only 9 yrs. old." So there you go, that's our review.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingtills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2009

I have stayed at many Hyatt Hotels and have always been impressed by the quality. This hotel was no different. Staff went out of their way to make sure we were happy. I had made a complaint one night about some noise outside our room and it was taken care of in no time. I would highly recommend this for all and especially those who love to workout, best gym so far in any hotel I stayed at. Very clean.....Great location on the riverwalk across the street from the Rivercenter Mall.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hygientist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#21 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,459 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Hotel Contessa
#11 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#22 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,829 reviews
East Side
Hilton Palacio del Rio
Hilton Palacio del Rio
#14 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,695 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#10 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt San Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt San Antonio

Property: Grand Hyatt San Antonio
Address: 600 East Market Street, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Antonio
#12 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#17 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#31 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#42 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hyatt San Antonio 4*
Number of rooms: 1003
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a dramatic design that exemplifies this unique city, the Grand Hyatt is an exciting blend of modernism and the Latin culture. Located on the Riverwalk, its warm hospitality and bold colors create a San Antonio Luxury hotel that is perfect for every guest, whether traveling for business or vacation. This urban retreat has a premier location, adjacent to the convention center and HemisFair Park. Our outstanding amenities and unprecedented services will make your experience extraordinary. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt San Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt San Antonio Hotel San Antonio
San Antonio Grand Hyatt
Hyatt San Antonio
San Antonio Hyatt
Grand Hyatt San Antonio Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing