We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Roach infested dump! Stay Away! Run!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mid Towne Inn and Suites
Ranked #300 of 355 Hotels in San Antonio
austin
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Roach infested dump! Stay Away! Run!!”
Reviewed 20 February 2008

Dirty lobby to greet you. Smelly man behind desk can't speak much ENGLISH.
wallpaper torn and dirty, old looking lobby
Killed my own roaches in bathtub !
Dirty dingy smelly inner hallway- real seedy looking (not like photos online!)
security lock on outter door broken, anyone can come inside.
Screens busted out of roooms
Room seemed semi clean at first but it wasn't. needs good scrubbing!
Long black hair under my pillow (not mine!)
Sliding door has 1 inch gap to let in (above) roaches/bugs
Fridge/freezer was black w/ mold and not turned on
Shower curtain smelled like sour milk
coffeemaker not restocked on 2nd day. no coffee, no sugar no cups.
Maid had a large handwritten note on an envelope next to bed that read "TIPS ARE GREATLY APPRECIATED" Maybe if she tried to clean the place she might get a tip
Morning bkfst consisted of stale dougnuts and make it yourself
waffles that I was scared to look into batter bowl left uncovered on counter all morning
Complained to morning staff, they seemed unfazed. Use to complaining!
SHOULD BE ASHAMED TO CHARGE ANY $$ FOR THIS DUMP!!
I WILL NEVER STAY IN A RODEWAY INN AGAIN DUE TO THIS BAD EXPERIENCE....

  • Stayed February 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank austx05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6
    4
    0
    4
    26
See reviews for
11
8
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2008

I thought since this was a national hotel that had a good description it would have been an OK experience. We got to the hotel late and our room opened to the parking lot which was bad enough. The carpet was old, dirty and had what looked like a huge circular burn hole in it as well as a dead roach on the floor by the nightstand. The bedspread had tears in it and the linens were questional as to their cleanliness. Thank goodness the hotel had good wireless because as I was awakened by the trains that blared their horns throughout the night, I was able to get a good rate at a real reputable hotel. The final insult was when I took a shower in the morning there was no hot water. Ironically, they had upgraded the countertops in the bathroom to granite. It was not worth the money I paid. The staff was helpful but they did not have much to work with.

  • Liked — Wireless
  • Disliked — Everything except for the wireless
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ikzdur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Texas
1 review
Reviewed 7 April 2007

This place was a shame. Only one front desk person seemed helpful at all. We didn't even try the breakfast.

We had several items removed from our room, including a toothbrush, a child's toy, a hair straightner, and cash. Every time something went missing, we had inquired at the front desk regarding directions or hours of operations of other places just before. The manager wasn't overly concerned, and we never did hear back from them after I complained.

The neighborhood is sort of questionable too. I would not go there again, I'd rather sleep in my car.

  • Liked — Not much, the bed was comfortable
  • Disliked — The fact that our items went misisng
  • Stayed April 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Lubbi2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
1 review
Reviewed 20 November 2006

Booked thru Priceline, but paid again at desk, oops! There is a train track behind this hotel that seems to run every hour until about 1 am, then starts up again at 7 am. The ice machines on the first floor were not working. Strange female guest strolling the property in the evening when we arrived. Smelly check in area, due in part to personal hygiene of clerk. Price at desk cheaper than Priceline. "No first floor rooms" until we threatened to leave, then room suddenly became available. The train kept me up until after 1 am. Not a very pleasant stay. Would never recommend this hotel to a friend. Plenty of other places to stay in San Antonio.

  • Liked — They had a room available.
  • Disliked — There's a train that runs behind the hotel until about 1 am, then starts again at 7 am.
  • Tips/Secrets — Stay away from this one unless you like train horns!
  • Stayed October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank prdad007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2006

First impression, the grass near the office could use a good cut and trim. The first room I was given was too far from the office to access the high speed internet touted in the advertisements. Not a single hanger to be found. No coffee either, although the pot was there. Light switch at the door lighted nothing.
The friendly and helpful staff did kind of help to make up for the deficiency. I was moved to a room closer to the office, which had hangers :-) and coffee and a light switch that worked! But the wireless internet service was hit and miss.
A trip to the ice machine proved fruitless, the two there were both broken and from the looks of them, had been for a long time, but I found the staff willing to share their private stock. The soda machine said they were 75 cents, but they were a dollar.
The room looked relatively clean on first glance with no gross smells, but after being there a bit you could tell that it was not cleaned thoroughly between guests, all kinds of smudges were everywhere, included dirt in the corners of the bathroom and hair that wasn’t mine. YECH! Made me want to go buy some Lysol…
But I was on a budget, in San Antonio for business, and for 47 bucks a night I’ve seen worse.
And after all, it is a one star hotel... do they give half-stars?

  • Liked — the price
  • Disliked — Beside the lack of cleanliness, not easy highway access to and from the 410
  • Tips/Secrets — if this is the best place you can find on your budget, bring lysol!
  • Stayed September 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank riosunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hill Country Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2006

I normally would not give a Rodeway in 5 stars, but the value, quality and service was super.

My family and I came for a funeral and stayed a few extra days to visit with family. We were close to a great Outlet Mall and about 30 minutes (Rush Hour) to the Riverwalk.

The hotel is in great condition and the owners are very nice and hospitable.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jayala2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2005

We stayed here in Jun04 - checked in mid evening in a small but adequate reception which is separate from the main motel building.
We were given two rooms around the back (the motel is a T shape) - the noise from the highway right next to it and the flyover to the side of it was deafening as we walked round giggling at what on earth had we paid for online!
The rooms were dark, musty and well probably best left dark.
The beds were clean but the rooms really do need attention.
The swimming pool is the size of a stamp and we are still bewildered as to where and how they managed to get such a good shot of the pool - they must have been on the roof and somehow managed to miss the highways right next to the pool - we didnt see anyone use it at all and I cant blame them!!!!
next day we asked for a different room which we got only because they had a tour party coming in - 2nd room was at the front which felt slightly safer but the sink was rusted and the carpets were sticky and horrid - again we were glad for dark rooms!
The free breaksfast was doughnuts, orange and coffee which was fine but dont leave it too late or they run out and dont refill.
the location is in a less attractive part of town right next to a Luby's and a local joint called LULU'S ( I think). The hotel give a 10% voucher off food if you visit Lulu's on your first night - we did and it was our last night to Lulu@s - a run down diner with chipped glasses and old tableware.
The area round the hotel takes on a whole new life at night - we didnt see or hear anything thankfully but the next day used condoms etc were lying on the ground on the way to the hotel laundry facilities.

The trolley bus stops right outside the motel and takes you down to the river walk area in about 10 minutes - we walked a few times and a quick but not brisk wander is about 15 minutes to the river walkthrough mainly nice areas. At no point did any of San Antonio feel unsafe but we were a group of 4 - maybe different if smaller group in this area.

This was the first hotel we had booked as part of a 4 week vacation travelling USA and we were so worried that this was the shape of things to come - thankfully not.

Overall the hotel was cheap, good transport to downtown with the public bus service. The rooms were poor and not really acceptable regardless of price. If you need a cheap room in a location with good public transport, then go for it - just dont venture round the back at night !

  • Stayed June 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank titch01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Northeast San Antonio
WoodSpring Suites San Antonio Fort Sam
WoodSpring Suites San Antonio Fo...
#193 of 355 in San Antonio
47 reviews
Northeast San Antonio
Studio 6 San Antonio - Airport
Studio 6 San Antonio - Airport
#278 of 355 in San Antonio
29 reviews
Northeast San Antonio
Super 8 San Antonio Near Fort Sam Houston
Super 8 San Antonio Near Fort Sa...
#180 of 355 in San Antonio
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northeast San Antonio
Days Inn San Antonio Interstate Hwy 35 North
Budget Lodge Fort Sam
#280 of 355 in San Antonio
78 reviews
Northeast San Antonio
Travelodge Inn & Suites San Antonio Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mid Towne Inn and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mid Towne Inn and Suites

Property: Mid Towne Inn and Suites
Address: 9603 N Interstate 35, San Antonio, TX 78233-6608 (Formerly Rodeway Inn)
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #300 of 355 Hotels in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Mid Towne Inn and Suites 2*
Number of rooms: 86
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Magnuson Hotels affiliate is located near the Riverwalk, San Marcos Outlets, Fort Sam Houston, AT&T Center, Gonzalez Convention Center, Alamodome, San Antonio College, Six Flags Fiesta Texas, Lackland Air Force Base, and SeaWorld San Antonio. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Mid Towne Inn and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rodeway Inn San Antonio
San Antonio Rodeway Inn
Mid Towne Inn And Suites San Antonio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing