We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun as usual”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa
Ranked #9 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Antonio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
477 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“Fun as usual”
Reviewed 18 June 2011

We go to an annual meeting here and have always enjoyed it. The lazy rivers is fun for kids and adults and lots of activities for kids. There is an adult pool when you get tired of the kids. We have been coming here since our kids were young. They always looked forward to the lazy river, s'mores by the fire at night, the movie on the lawn.
It is expensive, even at the corporate rate. Food is good but also pricey.
The pool is usually crowded and it was hard to find an empty chair, even at 5pm. People don't take their towels with them, and there isn't pick up of towels that are left unused, so you don't know whether a seat is taken or not.
Service is usually good and very friendly.
I had an unfortunate experience with check in this time, which is unusual. Had to wait 3 hours for my room; it wasn't ready even at 4pm.
But, we had a good time as always.
One downside--if you haven't been to San Antonio before, this is WAY off the beaten path from the Riverwalk. Do that another trip.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelinjep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripper1919, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 20 June 2011
Thank you for the review of your recent Hill Country visit. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed all of our many family activities includind s'mores and our movies on the lawn!

I apologize for your pool experience. we have a full time team that specifically manages the pool/water features areas and watches for abandoned towels. Due to the huge numbers of poolside guests this has been a challenging task.

I also apologize for the delay in getting your read ready for check-in. As you may know, check-out is at 11 am and check-in is a 4pm. We use that brief window to clean and restock each departed guestroom, unfortunately, not all rooms are vacated at 11, which does tend to extend the check-in time for the next guest. I am hopeful that the front desk was able to store your luggage and extend the full amenities of the resort to you while you waited.

Your feedback is appreciated and will be shared with the appropriate departments.

I hope you will consider visiting us again and allow us the opportunity to provide you with the flawless experience we strive to provide each guest.

Sincerely,

Melody Goeken
director of public relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,478 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,552
    621
    191
    79
    35
See reviews for
1,192
308
27
644
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sakigemcam
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2011

We stayed here to combine a family vacation with a visit with family in Bandera. We had stayed at the sister property in Bastrop a few years back, and that was probably a better experience because it was not during a universal school vacation so the place was not mobbed with little kids.
That being said, we managed to avoid the little kids (ours used to be little, but this was like being at Disney), by hanging out at the adult pool, for which our kids qualified. This pool is beautiful and relaxing. And by lazy-rivering only late at night (with a closing of midnight, this was lovely). Small rant - why can't parents tell their children what is acceptable and what is not? If you let them loose, remind them that the lazy river is LAZY, not a place for you to jump into while those lazing are trying to laze, or to swim under people while they are in their tubes....
While on our balcony overlooking the main entrance area (still very pretty, lovely trees, etc), we watched SUV after SUV unloading family after family. If you are looking for a relaxing, non-kid-drenched retreat, make sure you book during the school year. I have never seen so many SUVs, and during a gas crisis!
Front desk and retail and wait staff were totally delightful. And I can imagine the demands they get! Room was lovely, very clean, very comfortable, kind of western-themed. Our only TRUE complaint was the housekeeping staff. While our room was very clean, they didn't replenish the amenities (from soap to shampoo to coffee) - we had to call several times and they responded quickly, but still...for that amount of $$, replenish the soap please? AND, they were SO LOUD in the hallways - yakking away in Spanish right outside our door and others, starting at 8am - people are on vacation, and they may be SLEEPING, and they really don't want to hear your conversation. At one point we were coming back to our room and a loud housekeeping conversation was going on between two rooms across the hall from each other. The housekeeping staff would shout at one another from all over the place, across atriums, down hallways. I found this SO surprising in a hotel of this quality.
Other than that, the grounds are gorgeous, the gym is nice but nothing super luxurious, public spaces are great, poolside menu fine, retail outlets overpriced, but to be expected. We'd return but not during school break for sure. We remember what it was like when our kids were little but when I want to be swarmed with young 'uns I'll go to the Magic Kingdom!
One more rant - WHY do people go to beautiful hotels and not locate the trash bins? While lazy rivering at night we saw staffers removing cans and paper from the beautiful landscaping - it is so disrespectful - just because you spend a ton of money does not mean you should use the ground, the grass, as your trash can. People can be so rude. The staffers were on top of it, but you just wonder what they think of the guests that do this....

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sakigemcam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tripper1919, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 20 June 2011
Thank you so very much for feedback from your recent Hill Country stay. Our staff works diligently to make sure the resort grounds are clean and trash free. I was glad to read that you enjoyed your stay even though we had so many children visiting during your stay. The resort is a mecca for families all summer as well as holiday weekends and Texas spring break, but when the kids are in school the resort is a haven for adults seeking a quite, relaxing getaway. I hope you will come back another time in the year to experience that seclusion for yourself.

I apologize for the hallway noise and will inform our housekeeping department about your experience, hopefully we can find a solution so other guests will not have the same "wake-up" as you did.

We truly appreciate you taking the time to post your comments.

Hope to welcome you home again soon.

Melody Goeken
director of public relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Woodlands
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2011

My husband and I celebrated our anniversary here. I was a little nervous after reading reviews on all the kids running around if this would be romantic enough. But it was a wonderful time! We arrived Thursday evening and upgraded to a wonderful hyatt regency king room with 2 bathrooms. We were given a coupon for a free dessert at the cafe. We went out to the adult pool around 10pm and no one was out there. The pools are open to midnight. The next day we spent at the adult pool and at its maximum there were 10 adults. The sounds of the waterfalls drowned out any other distractions. The inter tubes in the pool were wonderful to float on. We ordered poolside service for lunch which was nice. The rest of our meals we ate at the Regency club which was good. The Saturday breakfast was european style and delicious with smoked salmon! The grounds were amazing and we thoroughly enjoyed the nature walk. One of my favorite activities was sitting in the hammocks in the cool evening breeze. The bikes you can check out were rickety and poor-probably my only negative comment. We got a day pass to the spa on Saturday which was so wonderful and relaxing and uncrowded! We will be back. They had a great family special going on for golf-4 for $99 in the afternoon!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Texans112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2011

We just wrapped up our 4th summer visit here and it was the best one yet. The visit coincided with a couple of events and the hotel was kind enough to upgrade our room type for free as well as provide some free in-room amenities. As always the kids absolutely love this place and mom and dad are happy because even in 100F+ weather hanging out at the pool and floating on the rambling river feels great. Oh yea, and mom and dad love pool-side bartenders too. We also love the fact we can grab a simple breakfast or dinner to eat in our room at the General Store. As usual we feel sad when our visit is over and it is time to return to a more normal hotel or home.

There are two areas that I think could be improved. First, the general dining option (a buffet plus a menu service) seems to be just shy of good. It's satisfactory but that's about it. Second would be pool-side food and beverage service - it is really uneven and the area where the fact most of the servers are just summer employees shows. Some provide good service but others disappear for 30 minutes or more which is a very long wait when you have kiddos.

But clearly this is an outstanding choice for a vacation. I'm sure we will return again.

Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Road_Fun_Fam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frisco, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 June 2011

From the day I called to get some help with my reservation, to the valet helping me load my stuff back in the car it was great. Family time every day games by the pool to movies on the grass at night. I have a 2 1/2 and 5 year old and while we were there the boys both got sick. When one of the managers heard my boys were sick they decided to bring the nightly movie to them. At 8 they showed up with popcorn, juice and 2 t-shirts for the sick boys that said dont mess with Texas. They didnt forget to bring dessert for mom and dad also. What a great thing and the boys loved it. One more thing for the parents as you travel around the pool and Lazy River you are able to float up to the bar and order your drinks....Great time. Will certainly return.

Room Tip: A family hotel do not expect silence
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TexasFriscoboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2011

We wanted a 4/5 day getaway for spring break. San Antonio came highly recommended and the Hill Country looked like just the spot!

The pool was the family favorite by far. We all enjoyed the lazy winding river, which compares to any water parks river. The service at the poolside bar was great and the servers would bring food/drinks lounge side. We also loved the complimentary s'mores at the beachside firepit.

There were a ton of kids activities from soccer, rock climbing, sand castles, arcade night, volleyball, horseback riding...we had so much fun on property, we didn't want to leave to visit San Antonio. :-)

Mom enjoyed spa services that were exemplary. I loved the fact that the spa was in this fabulous little ranch/barn building set down a short path from all the excitement of the pool. It was relaxing and revitalizing.

The room service and restaurant food was great and comparably priced. The room cleanliness and service throughout the hotel was the exceptional level you can expect from a Hyatt property. We reserved a hypoallergenic room and it was so nice to not have to deal with hotel allergens during the visit, the air purifier was top notch.

This was an exceptional property and we are already planning our next trip! I would highly recommend for a family, couple or girlfriend weekend!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChiMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

A beautiful resort and spa. Traditional Texas Hill Country ambiance and all the luxuries. Wonderful grounds with delightful wildlife to be seen and it looks like a very family-friendly place. Great food in the restaurants. Can't believe it's so close to the city of San Antonio; feels like you're out in the country.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank goldieOK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Far West Side
Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#21 of 358 in San Antonio
3,051 reviews
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 358 in San Antonio
3,789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#6 of 358 in San Antonio
3,079 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#7 of 358 in San Antonio
3,197 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa

Property: Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa
Address: 9800 Hyatt Resort Drive, San Antonio, TX 78251-4104
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Far West Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in San Antonio
#3 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Green Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#6 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#22 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the true Texan hospitality of our genuine San Antonio Hill Country resort. Built upon 300 acres of the historic Rogers-Wiseman family ranch, our resort offers a unique blend of comfort and elegance. With the inviting charm of a Texas ranch house and the amenities of a luxury resort, guests can escape to a quiet retreat from everyday life. Float down our country-style lazy river, pull up a rocking chair on Aunt Mary's porch, golf 27-holes, or join our many family activities. Rich in tradition and overflowing with amenities for relaxing, playing and dining, all just 20 minutes from the San Antonio International Airport and River Walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Hill Country Hotel San Antonio
Hyatt San Antonio
Hyatt Hill Country Resort San Antonio
Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort And Spa San Antonio, Texas
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Hill Country San Antonio
Hilton Hill Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing