We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hill Country experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa
Ranked #5 of 355 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Hill Country experience”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Stayed a long weekend at the resort. Accommodations were outstanding and atmosphere was great specially traveling with kids. Will recommend the buffet over a la carte, great selections. Lazy river and service at poolside was awesome. Lots of activities for the kids to stay busy. They do need more bikes for trail riding. A great experience and A most repeat!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Obakeiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole G, Marketing Manager at Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review! We are so happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay, including the lazy river, kid's activities, and service. Thanks for your feedback, and we do hope that you can come back and visit us again real soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,351 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,473
    599
    175
    71
    33
See reviews for
1,104
295
26
624
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (314)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I don't usually write reviews but this time I really had to! We stayed right before Memorial Day with two preschoolers. My husband and I kept remarking how much fun we were actually having during our stay there! For those with young children, vacations are often hardly that, but the staff was accommodating, the grounds were immaculate, the kids LOVED the lazy river, playground, and running around on the big open lawn--as did we. We were impressed by the staff and how they seemed to have everything under control. I really appreciate that there was enough staff poolside and inside the hotel to help when you needed it (for ordering food, etc). My kids were known by name by one particularly helpful and friendly staff member who made sure to say hello each time she saw them. In a sea of strangers, my kids (and I) really appreciated that they felt they recognized and "knew" someone else during our 4 night stay there. We visited Sea World each morning, which was a very short drive away (5 minutes?) across the freeway, and hurried back to the hotel to nap after lunch. Then we went swimming and played outside until dinner time, enjoying S'mores at the campfire and a movie on the lawn. The kids don't usually stay up that late but because of late naps (and vacation!) we let them. They haven't stopped talking about their trip and in fact we have re-booked already for another trip this summer!

Room Tip: Families with young kids seem to be corralled in the same wing. I can't say I blame them but you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelgalorefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole G, Marketing Manager at Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
It sounds like you and your family had such a wonderful time at our resort! We love hearing that not only did your kids enjoy all of our fun activities, but that you and your husband were able to relax and enjoy it as well. That is what we strive for! We truly appreciate you taking the time to let us know, and are looking forward to having you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Incline Village, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
77 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

My daughter and I traveled to San Antonio for a quick vacation after she finished her first year at SMU and before we flew home to Nevada. We were very pleased with our choice of locations!

We stayed in a very comfortable double queen room. The bed was comfortable and the shower was fine - I like a bit stronger stream but it was ok, at least not too weak. I did think they could have had plusher towels since they are more of an upscale property.

We mostly spent our time at the pool - a beautiful area with a lazy river, a water slide, 2 hot tubs, etc. There was also a surf rider for an extra charge (it seemed a bit pricey to me). Lots of different places to sit, including an adults-only area, a sandy beach, and lots of lounge chairs everywhere. I would have liked softer lounge chairs (my favorites are at the Grand Californian at Disneyland) but they were fine. The pools were a bit cool but not terribly so and the cool water felt good after sitting in the hot sun. There were a couple of different bar areas and the food/drink attendants came by fairly frequently to take orders. All in all, a beautiful, relaxing place to spend our time.

I also used the onsite spa which was very nice. It had its own pool area that could be used any time during the day of my treatment. The women's area had a steam room, a dry sauna, a hot tub, showers, etc. My massage was very good. Prices were typical for a spa at a hotel like this.

The location worked for us. We did not go to Sea World but it was basically across the freeway - less than a mile probably. We drove into downtown San Antonio both nights we were there. It was about a 25 minute drive but we really did not hit traffic even traveling between 5:30 and 6:00.

We booked a AAA special that included breakfast - we were able to order whatever we wanted from the Springhouse Cafe and we were very happy with our food both mornings we ate there.

It was fairly quiet when we were there - midweek in mid-May - but it looked like it was going to really pick up for the weekend and I have a feeling it gets very busy there for summers.

I would definitely recommend this property and we hope to be able to return with my husband and my son some day.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TahoeMother
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole G, Marketing Manager at Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Thank you so much for the wonderful review and recommendation! We are so happy to hear that you and your daughter were able to spend some quality and relaxing time at the resort, and we look forward to welcoming you and the rest of your family back again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Our family just spent a great weekend at the Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort. As other reviews mentioned, the facilities were great for our family of 3, 11, and 12 year olds. The lazy river and movies on the lawn were a hit, along with Smores and popcorn included. We did room service and / or restaurants for our meals and that really added up. Meals were "good" but not fancy food by any means and they all ran around $100 at the restaurants (inside and poolside). There were other options via the General store if you wanted a more affordable breakfast, but there didn't seem to be much of a middle ground (i.e. a cheaper restaurants). Our 3 year old loved the toddler playground and lazy river + toddler pool. The boys loved the slide, lazy river and pools. The adults enjoyed all of the above and having a nice easy trip. We stayed in the Hill Country Suite, a king, separate sitting area with fold out bed and a connected 2x double bed. The room was in great shape. Other than the $, $100 / meal + $600 for the rooms, was the spotty service. This was particularly true outside. One day it took 20 minutes just to get drinks and half the drinks didn't show up. The next day our food and drinks were ready in 10 minutes. Having made the point about the $, it was nice that they didn't charge for *everything* for instance popcorn was handed out at movies on the lawn (kids loved that too) on Friday & Saturday night, and there were free S'mores both nights too. As someone else mentioned i do intend to go back, I just need to start saving. :-)

Room Tip: Hill country suite is great for families of >= 2 kiddos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveC_ATx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole G, Marketing Manager at Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
We are so glad that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us, and all of the kid-friendly activities that the resort has to offer. We do appreciate your feedback, and are happy to hear that you are already planning for your next trip. We look forward to it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Jackson, Texas
Level Contributor
107 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

We recently spent four nights during the middle of the week at the Hyatt Hill Country. It was a wonderful getaway...the property is immaculate, the rooms are comfortable, the service is great (with a few hiccups), parking is convenient, the pool/lazy river area is fabulous...I could go on and on.

Rooms are extremely expensive, hence the mid-week stay, which made it more affordable. We also went out for meals several times to keep our costs down, as even breakfast for two with a tip ran around $40 and we spent anywhere from $80-100 having lunch and drinks out by the pool. It was wonderful, but it would be easy to drop several hundred extra dollars each day if you ate at the resort exclusively, especially with a family.

As I mentioned, service was pretty great, with one slooow experience at breakfast. One day at the pool, we were treated like royalty and checked on regularly by our waitress, but the next day service was much slower. Guess it just depends on what you get. My only other complaint is that we were there before the true summer season, meaning the pool bars closed early and some amenities were limited. (We did have reservations booked for a Tuesday night at Antlers but received a call that the restaurant would be closed that night after all so we didn't rebook.) I realize it probably doesn't pay for the Hyatt to have a full staff running in late May, but it made things just a tad more inconvenient.

We would definitely go back, but wouldn't pay the crazy summertime weekend prices. I'll probably start saving up now for our trip next year! :)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TxAggieGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole G, Marketing Manager at Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
Thank you for the wonderful review and valuable feedback. We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us overall, but apologize for any hiccups that you experienced during your stay. We do appreciate you letting us know so that we can address any issues, and take your suggestions into consideration. Thanks again, and we definitely look forward to having you back next year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilbert, Arizona
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Stayed at Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort in April. We were attending a business conference but always manage to get in some personal relaxing time. This facility was lovely. Staff very attentive, rooms comfortable, clean and nice views. This is a resort I would take my grandchildren on vacation because of the terrific pools and activities.

Room Tip: I had a suite with separate living room which was great, but I didn't have much time to relax in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jgunning3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole G, Marketing Manager at Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
We are happy to hear that you were able to enjoy the resort while you were here for your conference. Thank you for the wonderful review, and we look forward to welcoming you back again with your grandkids!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2014

My husband and I just spent 3 nights at this Hyatt and had a wonderful experience. After reading several negative reviews, I just want to say that we have had an exceptional stay. The staff is incredible starting with Kristen in reservations, the front desk help, operator, valets, to Marcy and Vince in the Antlers Lodge restaurant where we dined twice. The food was delicious, and the restaurant manager was ever present checking on all aspects of the meal. We requested early make-up service for the room which was done faithfully each morning and our suite was spotless!
I really recommend the hill country suites as the layout is much nicer and roomier than most suites. The large refrigerator was so handy!

All in all this Hyatt surpassed all our expectations. We would definitely return.

Q

Room Tip: If the budget permits, opt for a hill country suite. The suite had a lot of room and was very comfo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicole G, Marketing Manager at Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa, responded to this review, 28 June 2014
We are so happy to hear that you and your husband enjoyed your recent stay with us, and that we were able to exceed your expectations of service and accommodations. Thank you for letting us know, and we can't wait to have you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Far West Side
Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel & Spa
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 355 in San Antonio
3,645 reviews
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 355 in San Antonio
1,449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Hotel Contessa
#10 of 355 in San Antonio
3,129 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#9 of 355 in San Antonio
2,997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa

Property: Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa
Address: 9800 Hyatt Resort Drive, San Antonio, TX 78251-4104
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Far West Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in San Antonio
#2 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#3 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#3 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#3 Green Hotel in San Antonio
#6 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#22 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the true Texan hospitality of our genuine San Antonio Hill Country resort. Built upon 300 acres of the historic Rogers-Wiseman family ranch, our resort offers a unique blend of comfort and elegance. With the inviting charm of a Texas ranch house and the amenities of a luxury resort, guests can escape to a quiet retreat from everyday life. Float down our country-style lazy river, pull up a rocking chair on Aunt Mary's porch, golf 27-holes, or join our many family activities. Rich in tradition and overflowing with amenities for relaxing, playing and dining, all just 20 minutes from the San Antonio International Airport and River Walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Hill Country Hotel San Antonio
Hyatt San Antonio
Hyatt Hill Country Resort San Antonio
Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort And Spa San Antonio, Texas
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Hill Country San Antonio
Hilton Hill Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing