We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Return trip, better than before...with amazing service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa
Ranked #10 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 31 August 2014 via mobile

had actually started writing the review and inadvertently submitted before completion...so heres the full review I planned to write.

Back to the Hyatt with kids and their 2 cousins.
On arrival we received a very warm welcome and some resort credits because the room wasnt ready. We quickly settled in shortly thereafter.

Bfast was brilliant (the egg guy is an artist) with a very wide selection, dinner buffet was pretty ok, but the food at Papa Eds wasn't nice with pretty bland burgers for the prices, essentially not much to write home about...

The room was good with the room service a tad slow but the resort was fully booked so that's understandable.
The rooms were generous in size and well appointed and we had adjoining rooms which was cool.

The activities were very interesting to the kids and they had a good time going around from activity to activity (and not missing the smores every evening). The surfing simulator was very good fun for everyone and I had to practically drag them away!! The pools and water area were just right albeit a bit crowded.
The spa was absolutely brilliant and forms the basis of a seperate review.

We had a little challenge which was taken care of very professionally by Lindsey the Guest services Manager who spared no effort to sort things out as well as minimize any disruptions to our trip. The service alone warranted 5 stars.

All in all, a very very good trip and we will certainly certainly return.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jollofmaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt_Hill_Country, Manager at Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Thank you so much for the wonderful review! We are happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us, including our customer service, breakfast in Springhouse Cafe, guestroom, kid's activities, s'mores, and of course the FlowRider wave machine. We truly appreciate you letting us know about your experience, and look forward to welcoming you back as our guests again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,660)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,762 - 1,768 of 2,660 reviews

Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

Arrived Saturday for Labor Day weekend getaway. Brought my wife, daughter and 8 month old granddaughter-accommodations are fantastic and activities hourly if you choose to be active. Upgraded to a 1st floor room with a patio, sine I smoke it's very convenient to simply walk outside to my little table and chairs. Lazy river is great kids - not too fast and deep. Food was excellent! If you are going to plan a weekend away I highly recommend!

Stayed: August 2014
Thank JeffLowney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt_Hill_Country, Manager at Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Thank you for the great review! We are so happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your Labor Day weekend stay with us, including your grounds-access with patio guestroom, lazy river, and family activities. Thank you for recommending us to others, and we hope that you will come back and visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Excellent place in a very secluded and beautiful area. Very relaxing trip. Loved the food. I was 100% please and would return anytime. The rooms are beautiful--the area for business is well kept and clean overall. The staff is extrekely pleasant and helpful. I really have nothing negative to say about this experience. I would highly recommend it to anyone doing business or having a family vacation.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank Lourdes B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

This is the best lazy river in the land. The landscaping and design make it relaxing and interesting. It is nice to have an adults only pool. The service is grand and the facility is lovely. Perfect for a quick get away. The great AAA discount included breakfast. Fun last minute trip.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank 145bruceg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt_Hill_Country, Manager at Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

We are so glad to hear that you had a nice, relaxing and romantic, last-minute getaway at our resort. Thank you so much for letting us know about your great experience, and we do hope that we have the opportunity of having you back as our guests again in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

My wife yogurt and fruit served in a tall parfait cup, had inches of jelly syrup around the fruit. If someone orders yogurt and fruit for breakfast, they want yogurt and fruit. Not yogurt, syrup, jelly, and fruit. The breakfast taco in the restaurant was like a poorly managed breakfast chain but much more expensive. The breakfast tacos were excessively cheesy, too large, and much too calorific. I would estimate 500+ calories per taco. They also visually looked unappealing, without any added 'color' such as might come from red and green peppers etc. The hash browns were just okay in taste, but more suited good for feeding an Army ranger before a mission, meaning too big (80 square inches) and again too calorific. So 1400 to 1600 calories may be good for support of military maneuver personnel, but bad for vacationers looking for a friendly 'semi-regional' breakfast menu choice. I should have ordered 2 eggs over easy, toast and bacon so I could know what to expect, but I can do that anywhere.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank 740dagmarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt_Hill_Country, Manager at Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We are truly sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your breakfast meal in our restaurant during your recent stay. We strive to provide the best food and beverage options at our resort for all of our guests, and are sorry that we fell short of the mark with you and your wife. Thank you for bringing it to our attention, as we truly appreciate receiving such valuable feedback from our guests. We do hope that the rest of your stay was enjoyable, and that we have the opportunity of having you back as our guests again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We loved Lost Pines in Bastrop but needed to be in San Antonio to visit family, so we stayed here instead. The lazy river was fun, but it was nowhere near the level of service and quality of activities as Lost Pines. We were disappointed, even though we used points for the rooms. Had we paid the market rate of $400 a night to stay there, I would have left after one night.

First, the lobby area smelled awful. It was a very strong chemical fragrance odor. We noticed that it came from a lady who worked there inconspicuously walking around the lobby spraying in random places in the air and toward the floor. Every time we walked through the lobby, this smell hit us and it was like being in a hospital or school that was trying to cover up an odor. It was gross.

The activities were just so-so. They don't let you go down the waterslide with a small child like Lost Pines does, and the height requirement is too high at 48 inches, as the waterslide is not that high, so they are losing their core audience of young children. The slides at Great Wolf Lodge are taller and have a much shorter requirement. Another downside to the slide is that it doesn't flow into the big pool as Lost Pines does, so it is kind of inconvenient to get to.

We did a water balloon toss on the lawn that was over within 10 minutes, even though the staff had a wagon full of water balloons left. The kids all watched forlornly as they wheeled the wagon full of balloons away. Why not let the kids throw the extras, or continue with the game? Are they saving money? Lazy staff?

Then they ran out of popcorn after five minutes of the movie on the lawn. We went to ask the front desk where the popcorn person was, they said they didn't know and then proceeded to not try to find out for us or point us in the right direction. It was more of a "Sorry, can't help." When you have a toddler wanting popcorn, and you are on vacation and trying to have a good time, that requires buying a $6 bag of popcorn from the general store. I went to the front desk manager to complain later and he ended up comping the bag after a 10 minute conversation, but at that point it was the principle of the thing. Why say there will be popcorn then run out after 5 minutes? Why not help a guest to find the popcorn person or tell the popcorn person to make more?

Service was like this throughout the visit. The pool waiter didn't bring us our food after ordering poolside - he caught me leaving the restroom with a toddler and had us carry the food back ourselves. Then that tray sat on the table with flies swarming for a few hours. Noticed this with other people's food too. I have no issue with ordering food and getting it myself, but when you are paying a tip and high service fee and it's expected that they deliver, why can't they follow through? The person bringing bags in when we checked in took about 30 minutes to do so. Then he proceeded to tell me that he and the other workers had been reading the magazines we had in a box with our luggage on the cart. This was after a $10 tip we gave before receiving the bags.

The positives: Food at the restaurant was decent - better one night than another. The breakfast was good, although not worth $21 a person, although you expect to pay high prices at a resort. The playground was nice. It was too hot to enjoy the hiking, golf or tennis. The lazy river was fun. I would advise to never ever pay full price for this hotel. You will be disappointed.

Oh, and never ever go there without kids. You will be miserable. Kids everywhere.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveler60005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt_Hill_Country, General Manager at Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Thank you so much for your valuable review and feedback. We truly apologize for any inconveniences and issues that you experienced during your recent stay with us. This is obviously not the Hyatt standard of customer service that we expect all of our guests to receive when they stay with us, and we appreciate you bringing it to our attention. Please contact our Director of Rooms, Fidencio Mata, at (210) 520-4012 or fidencio.mata@hyatt.com, so that we can attempt to rectify the situation and earn back your business. Once again, we are very sorry to hear about your experience, and we hope to hear from you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2014

The staff is very attentive, courteous, conscientious. The grounds are beautiful. It truly welcomes families with so many activities for the kids! This is our favorite place to stay in San Antonio. We attended a conference and the rooms are beautiful, the hotel had many options for lunch for so many people.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hyatt Hotels
Thank Graciela T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hyatt_Hill_Country, Manager at Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2014

Thank you for the wonderful review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the hotel's staff, resort grounds and kid's activities. Thank you for letting us, and other travelers know about your experience, and we hope to welcome you back again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Far West Side
Hyatt Residence Club San Antonio, Wild Oak Ranch
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#17 of 357 in San Antonio
3,269 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#6 of 357 in San Antonio
3,186 reviews
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#24 of 357 in San Antonio
4,085 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#5 of 357 in San Antonio
3,325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa

Address: 9800 Hyatt Resort Drive, San Antonio, TX 78251-4104
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Far West Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in San Antonio
#3 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#4 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Green Hotel in San Antonio
#6 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#22 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: £171 - £362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the true Texan hospitality of our genuine San Antonio Hill Country resort. Built upon 300 acres of the historic Rogers-Wiseman family ranch, our resort offers a unique blend of comfort and elegance. With the inviting charm of a Texas ranch house and the amenities of a luxury resort, guests can escape to a quiet retreat from everyday life. Float down our country-style lazy river, pull up a rocking chair on Aunt Mary’s porch, golf 27-holes, or join our many family activities. Rich in tradition and overflowing with amenities for relaxing, playing and dining, all just 20 minutes from the San Antonio International Airport and River Walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Hill Country Hotel San Antonio
Hyatt San Antonio
Hyatt Hill Country Resort San Antonio
Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort And Spa San Antonio, Texas
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Hill Country San Antonio
Hilton Hill Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing