We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Missing on the details”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa
Ranked #11 of 357 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 10 August 2010

The resort is beautiful, and the lazy river is great. What is odd is that the hotel is missing out on the small basic details.

We stayed in a luxury 2 bedroom suite. However, the rooms had few power outlets to charge up PC's, phones, DSi's, etc. Additionally, the main bedroom had no light switch on the wall, so you had to walk into a room you've never seen before and hunt for a light to turn on. The TV packages were really subpar with Disney ONLY which is a problem when dealing with kids worn out from a full day in the sun at Sea World. No Nickelodeon or Cartoon Network which comes with the absolutely most basic cable package available. Maid service ran at about 4 pm which was awful timing as that is when we would return to the room to get a small rest before dinner.

We stayed at the Wild Oak 2 years prior and it is a superior facility. Hill Country is nice, but missing on the small details. Food is astronomically priced to the point of laughability with lots of other dining places located minutes from the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Syrin23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hyattlover, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2010

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable comments. I shared your cable TV concerns with our executive team to see if our provider has the option of these specific channels or what other “kid-friendly” options may be available. I apologize for the delay in refreshing your guestroom and have shared your thoughts with our housekeeping department. Our food and beverage department regularly polls local eateries to ensure that we are in-line with local pricing and we are internally addressing your concerns. Thank you again for taking the time to share your thoughts and we hope you will visit again very soon.
Melody Goeken, director of public relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,633)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,375 - 2,381 of 2,633 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2010

We've been to the Hyatt 5 or 6 times. Love it. Easy place to relax at with kids, family and friends. Easy to get to SeaWorld. Great Golf. Easy to talk with other guests - everyone is friendly.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ELokker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hyattlover, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2010

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent summer vacation experience. I am thrilled to see that you had a wonderful time with us. We look forward to welcome you back to the Hyatt Hill Country.
Melody Goeken, director of public relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2010

Would not recommend going on a weekend if you are looking for adult quiet getaway. Stayed at the adult pool, children ended up there. Resort staff asked them to leave. Resort needs more adult only areas as could not walk sidewalks due to bicycles and skateboarders..Lazy river was so packed, we gave up on floating. Older children in hallways at night carrying on, could not sleep. Am all for children having fun, these kids needed to be supervised. Since neither phone in our room worked, we did not call front desk.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank michelle1115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hyattlover, Public Relations Manager at Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 17 August 2010

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your recent summer vacation experience. The resort is a summer haven for families, but you will discover a whole other resort awaits you once the children are back in school. I apologize for the telephones in your guestroom, and would welcome the opportunity to check the room if you would reply to my confidential e-mail address with your room number, or the name on your guest folio (melody.goeken@hyatt.com) we strive to provide a relaxing experience to each guest, and we clearly did not deliver that to you. I have shared your comments with our security team, who regularly patrol the hallways and public areas for thoughts on how we can reduce the after hour noise. I hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back to the Hyatt Hill Country.
Melody Goeken, director of public relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2010

We stayed at the Hyatt over Thanksgiving weekend after getting a winning bid through Priceline. My kids, aged 9, 6 and 3, had a great time. We were able to use the outdoor spa and my oldest ventured into the pool area as well. The rooms, as always, were clean and luxurious. However, the best part of the stay centered around the resort activities. There was a parade ending in the front of the resort with Santa and Mrs. Claus. Christmas carols were sung by all, we were offered hot chocolate and cookies and even got to take our picture with Santa later in the evening. So much fun!

As always, the proximity to Sea World is wonderful. (I only wished they had a shuttle going to and from Sea World as a neighboring hotel offers.)

Highly recommend this hotel to anyone and everyone!

  • Stayed: November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aimerdoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2010

The first time I went to the Hyatt hill country resort, I fell in love with the scenery! There are so many flowers everywhere and it's such a lush atmosphere! The kids loved the beach and the lazy river! I loved the bar that is along the lazy river! The activities they have for the kids are fun for the whole family! Needless to say, the second time I went, I fell in love all over again!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emcar4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2010

The Hyatt Resort was fantastic! We made it a family vacation with grandparents, three 30 somethings, and a 3 year old. We loved the man made beach, the lazy river, the adult pool and the golf course which was both challenging and beautiful. The entire staff, was incredibly pleasant and I would go back just to be treated so well. They really took care of their guests. If you are looking to take your family to a resort, this is it. Movies on the lawn, ice cream stands, play ground, and pony rides. Not far at all from Sea World. The hotel was really nice and the rooms were very clean and comfortable. My parents thought it could use some updating in decor, but they are used to 5 star hotels. The rest of us thought we were in the lap of luxury. Food is incredible. My only concern is the cost of the food and beverages. It is comparable to the room rates, but you should plan to spend some money when it comes to eating at the hotel. Did not make it to the spa, but it got great reviews from other guests.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quicktripchick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2010

This hotel is amazing!! When you walk out on the back porch the view is beautiful. I felt instantly relaxed with all the trees and flowers. Our family stayed there the last week of June for the first time and we didn't want to leave. We went to Sea World (which is 5 minutes away) during the day and spent the afternoon at the hotel. My kids (7 and 4) loved the little beach and lazy river. Roasting marshmellows at night was definitely a treat. The staff was always friendly! Next time we go we will skip Sea World and just stay at the hotel because there is so much to do!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank reganwhitehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#16 of 357 in San Antonio
3,237 reviews
Far West Side
Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch
Hyatt Wild Oak Ranch
#25 of 357 in San Antonio
721 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#7 of 357 in San Antonio
3,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Far West Side
Hilton San Antonio Hill Country Hotel
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#23 of 357 in San Antonio
4,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa

Address: 9800 Hyatt Resort Drive, San Antonio, TX 78251-4104
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > Far West Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in San Antonio
#3 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#5 Green Hotel in San Antonio
#6 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#6 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#22 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: £133 - £321 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 500
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the true Texan hospitality of our genuine San Antonio Hill Country resort. Built upon 300 acres of the historic Rogers-Wiseman family ranch, our resort offers a unique blend of comfort and elegance. With the inviting charm of a Texas ranch house and the amenities of a luxury resort, guests can escape to a quiet retreat from everyday life. Float down our country-style lazy river, pull up a rocking chair on Aunt Mary’s porch, golf 27-holes, or join our many family activities. Rich in tradition and overflowing with amenities for relaxing, playing and dining, all just 20 minutes from the San Antonio International Airport and River Walk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Hill Country Hotel San Antonio
Hyatt San Antonio
Hyatt Hill Country Resort San Antonio
Hyatt Regency Hill Country Resort And Spa San Antonio, Texas
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Hill Country San Antonio
Hilton Hill Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing