We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a trip!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Ranked #21 of 355 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Leander
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“What a trip!”
Reviewed 30 June 2012

We have a fabulous trip this week. We had excellent service from start to finish. I wanted to mention that Yasi D'Amore was the person who check us in, and took care of every need that we had during our too short stay of 2 days. There was also an agent named Dallas(?) that was also great when our room was not ready. We enjoyed using all of the hotel including an excellent breakfast, cocktail hour, the rooftop pool and exercise room.
We will definitely look to staying there again when we return. We are looking forward to another stay at the Hyatt Hill Country Resort next month.
Hyatt means excellent!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pattyhogan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,949 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,609
    871
    297
    107
    65
See reviews for
608
716
63
1,236
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (517)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2012

I visited this hotel with my family during the week of 6/23 - 6/26. This is a beautiful hotel located right on the "River walk" (to the rear). However, the front of the hotel faces the Alamo. Our room included large floor to floor windows (with a view of the River Walk), comfortable bedding and a refrigerator. Each morning we enjoyed a wonderful buffet breakfast, which included an omelet station. **The extras: The staff (Leslie, thank you for making my birthday weekend special)! Other staff members also delivered "exceptional" customer service (Jose, Jeff and Stephanie), please thank them also! Overall: Excellent customer service, price, and location. I would highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: HIgher floor with an Alamo or River Walk view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CJTravelTips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mineral Wells, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

I love San Antonio and I have stayed several times but this place is unbelievably ridiculous - in a bad way. You have to have a key card to access the elevators. You CAN'T access the riverwalk (by elevator) after 11pm. You can't even go outside to the pool after 10pm. Most places won't let you swim after 10 (which I'll never understand) but I was there 3 days and never even saw the pool. The rooms are way overpriced and don't believe there website where it says balconies. There's not even one!!! Oh, I take that back, they have inside balconies overlooking the ballroom (which is pointless). And the food - disgusting - on the breakfast menu you have your choice of BRISKET or ROTISSERIE CHICKEN for breakfast??? No plain bacon and eggs. And of course the food is obscenely overpriced. The staff were snobby and rude and had a "better than you" attitude. I wasn't impressed with the location - our room was allegedly an Alamo view room but I couldn't see anything but rooftops and since the elevated won't let you go to the riverwalk after 11 I had to walk around the entire hotel and one area on the side had some sketchy characters hanging around. All the other hotels I stayed in on the riverwalk don't tell you when you can and can't go outside. I also had to wait 30 minutes to check in and out and they tried to charge me extra fee for checking out late while I had been standing in line. No impressed with this place at all. There are several great hotels on the riverwalk that have great atmosphere and service - this is not one of them.

Room Tip: Don't pay extra for the Executive Riverwalk view or Alamo view room with a balcony - it's no...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kellynicole85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
40 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

This is a nice hotel, but just not quite up to the 4 star standard.

My husband wanted a relaxing mini-vacay and wanted to stay near the River Walk. I had not visited the area since junior high, but maybe my memory should have tipped me off that "River Walk" and "serene" are not adjectives that belong together, at least not on the weekend. Upon arrival, I was disappointed that the hotel lobby was, um, lively to say the least. Lively like a train station.

Our room was reasonable in size and appeared to have been updated in the past 10 years or so, but there were little signs or wear and tear. I suppose I expect a 4 star hotel to raise the bar a little, and I just did not find the finish out to meet that standard. I would give it 3, maybe 3-1/2 stars. There were little rips in the carpet. The bathroom was so tiny that there was no way to effectively enter and close the door behind oneself. I noticed a few hairs that were not ours on the shower walls.

Breakfast was very good, with a made-to-order omelette station. However, I wish they had handled the charges differently, perhaps by giving us breakfast vouchers to turn in at the restaurant. Here, we got a check and were told that "if" complimentary breakfast was included in our reservation, it would be deducted from our final bill. That left me anticipating a fight over charges at checkout, since the breakfast buffet was over $40 per morning. Thankfully, the fight did not materialize and they even covered most of our gratuity, but I shouldn't have to wonder about something like that.

Self parking was $27/night. Crazy talk. I don't even want to think what they would have charged for valet. We parked elsewhere after the first night and walked a couple blocks.

In short, I would recommend this hotel to families, but not to couples trying to get away and unwind.

Room Tip: Some rooms have a view of the Alamo. Ask for a high floor to get away from River Walk noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SniffleCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Town, ME
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

Bottom line: Great location near the Alamo and riverwalk and if you book right, it can be a pretty good value too.
Value: We were able to find this one for a pretty competitive rate for the area. Try the usual sites.
Rooms: Big and clean. Ours had a view of the Alamo.
Location: About 1-2 min walk from the Alamo and right on the riverwalk. The location is what this hotel is about.
Service: The front desk folks were really helpful and courteous. They moved my wife and I when we wanted a different room and were really accommodating when I left some stuff in the room or asked to store our bags on the last day.
Amenities: Nice atrium. Free wi-fi. Nice work-out room and roof-top pool.
Other: You can take the bus from the airport for much cheaper than the shuttle. It’ll be about two blocks walk from the closest stop.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a view of the Alamo.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knudah1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Louisiana
Level Contributor
105 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2012

I absolutely loved everything at this hotel, from the riverwalk acess to the glass elevators! The staff was attentive to our every need and were so excited to be working at the Hyatt Regency. We stayed in a river view double bed for 3 nights. I requested a high floor and was given the highest, i really appreciate that! I also love loved the 16 floor atrium as it greets you from both entraces. One thing that i was not fond of, was that the main elevators dont really go down to the actual river level. You have down a flight of stairs or you can go to the lobby floor and then walk across the hotel and switch elevators. It didnt really bother me but i can see how it can be fustrating to some people! In my package that i brought, it came with breakfast in the hotel at the restaurant on the lobby level. It was called the "Q," and it was amazing. They have a peraonal chef who nakes your own omlet of your choice and the fruit was devine! Overall, this hotel was magnificent and i will definitly recommend this to anyone who wants a nice comfortable hotel!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BestReviews101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2012

My husband and I just completed a 2-night stay for business. Everything was just as it ahould be...excellent service, well-appointed, clean room, friendly staff and a great view of the Alamo from our room! We would definiely stay here again. There is no need to look for another hotel in San Antonio!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 355 in San Antonio
3,641 reviews
East Side
Hilton Palacio del Rio
Hilton Palacio del Rio
#13 of 355 in San Antonio
2,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Contessa
#11 of 355 in San Antonio
3,127 reviews
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#10 of 355 in San Antonio
2,995 reviews
Downtown
Grand Hyatt San Antonio
Grand Hyatt San Antonio
#20 of 355 in San Antonio
3,217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency San Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency San Antonio

Property: Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Address: 123 Losoya St, San Antonio, TX 78205-2688
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Antonio
#8 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#13 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#18 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#18 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#34 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency San Antonio 4*
Number of rooms: 629
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the heart of the Riverwalk at Hyatt Regency San Antonio. We are the only San Antonio Riverwalk hotel directly overlooking the historic Alamo and on the Riverwalk, connecting two of San Antonio's top destinations through our 16 story atrium lobby. Be the center of our attention while you are in the center of the action taking advantage of our unequaled location in the heart of dining and entertainment venues surrounding our Riverwalk hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Regency San Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency San Antonio Hotel San Antonio
San Antonio Hyatt Regency
Hyatt San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing