We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New Years Eve”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Ranked #22 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Houston
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“New Years Eve”
Reviewed 5 January 2013

This is a very beautiful hotel located in the heart of the Riverwalk... We had rooms 872 & 874, which is called the city view, and WOW, you get an unobstructed view of the city lights, riverwalk lights, and at midnight, you get the fireworks.!!! A FANTASTIC VIEW, ESPECIALLY IF YOU LIKE TO TAKE PICTURES......

Our stay was a AAA Rate, which includes free breakfeast....you're not going away hungry..eggs cooked to your liking, bacon, potatoes, fruits, desserts....plenty.

Rooms are clean and spacious and come with a small refrig...staff are very courteous, helpfull and cheerfull ~~especially Steve and Stephanie~~ valet service is a bit slow -- > my only complaint.

I've stayed at other hotels in San Antonio when this Hyatt is sold out and was never really happy since the other hotels seem to nickel & dime you on everything.

Remember, this is the HYATT REGENCY @ 123 Losoya, that I am reviewing since there is also a Grand Hyatt on the Riverwalk.

This is my home in San Antonio...!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: We had rooms 872 & 874, so a room on that side of the hotel is great room for New Years Eve for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve-DogerBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,906 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,584
    861
    291
    105
    65
See reviews for
598
708
61
1,215
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (511)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

We stayed at the Hyatt Regency for a conference weekend. The rooms were decent size, clean, and comfortable. The room had a updated appearance and was nice. Check-in & check out were very quick & easy. We valeted our vehicle for the weekend and walked everywhere we needed to go. The main issue was EXTREMELY POOR internet reception, which you pay extra for by the day, it was horrible! We were on a floor with a lot of young wedding attenders but we had no noise issues in the room. Overall, we were pleased, we'd probably stay here again if we are in San Antonio.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank t_mcd123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2013

We spent New Years Eve on the Riverwalk this year. It's lit up with lights so beautifully, it almost gives a magical feel. The hotel that we usually reserve when we stay on the riverwalk was completely booked, along with many others, and the Hyatt Regency was one of the few left with vacancies. It was a bit pricey, for what we got and what we were used to. We expected alot more. "Our usual" hotel is much less expensive and really nice for the price, with a huge bonus of great service from the staff!!! We love how we are treated there. The Hyatt's lounge area is really nice, and has a nice restuarant too! Kudos to the chef, morning breakfast buffet was delicious!! The location of the hotel was great too, right in the crux of everything! The Hyatt, was pretty much the usual, nothing particularly bad, but nothing exceptional either! I'd stay again, ONLY if my "favorite" has no vacancies at all!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grannaluv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
618 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

I have mixed feelings about this hotel at this location. I have stayed at the Hyatt Regency in Kiev and the wife did so in Dallas and both were considerably more modern, with better service and breakfast buffet.

We were shocked to learn that room rates literally change by the hour. I had booked our room in August 2012 for New Year's Eve and got a room with AAA rate at $203 per night. A couple of days before departure the wife checked rates online and found they had dropped to $179 with a free breakfast, so I called and they made the change to the lower rate. The day of departure, as we were sitting in the airport waiting for our flight to San Antonio, the wife checked online again and found the rate had dropped to $147 with free breakfast, so I quickly called and they changed to the lower rate again. We arrived in San Antonio an hour later and got the car, and just for fun we checked online again and the rate had gone to $260 per night, no free breakfast! Lesson learned. And we got a deal, the free breakfast included tips to the wait staff, and for some reason we also got a $20 credit for use at the bar. Thank you AAA.

The hotel is showing its age, and although the water features in the lobby and river level are attractive, the hotel would not be considered modern or updated. We encountered numerous problems that prevent me from giving this hotel more than an average rating. Our first room had a nice view of the Alamo but the heat did not work, so we changed rooms and were given one that faced inside toward the elevators and other rooms. No biggie except you have to keep the drapes closed or everyone can see in, and that makes the room very dark. The first night the alarm clock would not illuminate and the second night it shone like the sun. The message light on the phone blinked for two days, except when you pick up the receiver to get messages you are told there are no messages. In the second room, we checked in about 1 pm and the room was cold. We turned up the thermostat--it was regulated and would not go above 78--and 10 hours later the room temp had increased 4 degrees. After our first night I had to track down a maid and ask her to clean the room because no one had done so. We were given multiple card keys that either did not work in the elevator or room.

The other Hyatt Regency hotels where we stayed did not have the multitude of problems in service or amenities. Still, it was not a bad experience and the location cannot be beat, so I would at least consider staying here again in the future. But I would check room rates often!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank russkwtx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Audubon, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2013

Stayed at this hotel for the San Antonio BC conference in early December.

The rooms are moderately sized, nothing to write home about. Wifi connections are subpar - to - poor throughout the hotel, and even vary in different spots in the room. Even when you pay for it, the signal barely covers the space in your room, so for business travelers it's pretty poorly handled.

I eat a lot of room service food when I travel, and I pay a lot of attention to the variations on the menus. This one was barely average, with a very limited list of items and restrictions on what could be ordered when. Needs a serious upgrade.

My company doesn't allow dry cleaning service, so I have to iron my own clothes. The iron in my room had a broken knob on it, which made it leak a lot at the top. Not good.

The breakfast buffet was pretty good with a few authentic Tex Mex dishes and a pretty good omelet bar.

Overall, the staff was very friendly and very helpful, but if you take that as a given at any large hotel, you'd probably be better off elsewhere if you're looking to hold a business meeting.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuburbanSojourn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2013

Great location--Worst Management--Worst Service!

On New Years Eve, we returned to our Rm set to see the fireworks display. Some guest in the next room had left their puppy in the room. The puppy barked without stopping for 2 hours! After several calls and promises, we spoke to the Manager, Mona, who said she could do nothing about it; that the dog was snuck to the room; that her staff cannot get into the room; and that she was trying to reach the guests (obviously irresponsible to leave the puppy in the room and go out to party anyway!) The story changed with the next manager who spoke to us, because the hotel suddenly was 'pet friendly'! Eventually, they offered to move us to another room but would not give us the view we had! Our new year's was ruined! My wife is pregnant and with a 4 years old who slept around 11:00, we could not leave the room to see the fireworks for which San Antonio is known for at the New Year celebration! We just stated inside our room facing to the inside of the hotel :-( What a horrible experience!!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TravellerFak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2012

Our stay at the Hyatt Regency was very enjoyable. The staff was helpful, the room was very clean, the bed was great. Right on the River Walk. Close to restaurants, shops and right across the street from the Alamo. The Free breakfast was fantastic. Omelette bar, eggs to order, plus much more!! All in all, well worth it!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rwolfe999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#21 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,559 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Hotel Contessa
#11 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#10 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,959 reviews
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency San Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency San Antonio

Property: Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Address: 123 Losoya St, San Antonio, TX 78205-2688
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Antonio
#9 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#14 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#18 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#18 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#34 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency San Antonio 4*
Number of rooms: 629
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the heart of the Riverwalk at Hyatt Regency San Antonio. We are the only San Antonio Riverwalk hotel directly overlooking the historic Alamo and on the Riverwalk, connecting two of San Antonio's top destinations through our 16 story atrium lobby. Be the center of our attention while you are in the center of the action taking advantage of our unequaled location in the heart of dining and entertainment venues surrounding our Riverwalk hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency San Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency San Antonio Hotel San Antonio
San Antonio Hyatt Regency
Hyatt San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing