We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location in the heart of the Riverwalk”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Ranked #21 of 354 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Nebraska
Level Contributor
63 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Perfect location in the heart of the Riverwalk”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2008

In researching San Antonio hotel rates, I stumbled on visitsantonio.com and discovered S.A.V.E. rates. The SAVE rates are actually codes that you plug into hotel websites for extra savings. Thanks to these rates, got the Hyatt for $169 for the first night and $139 for the other three.

I love this hotel. The location is absolutely perfect--right in the heart of the Riverwalk and accessible to everything downtown. I'd asked for a quiet room and was originally given an atrium room. From tripadvisor, I know these rooms can be noisy. No problem--the extremely friendly and helpful front desk person switched us to a 10th floor Alamo view that was perfect. I asked for a fridge to be delivered to the room and it practically got there before we did!

Beds were very comfortable. Crisp linens and triple sheet duvets. Room was sparkling clean. Bathroom was small but functional. Towels and washcloths were white, fluffy and looked new.

The pool is small but the staffed bar was a nice touch. Great view from the roof--take a peek even if you don't swim.

The River Terrace bar serves Starbucks drinks every morning, as well as a few assorted muffins and pastries. Nice for a quick drink if you don't want to go the restaurant route.

Staff at the concierge desk stayed true to form with this hotel and were pleasant and helpful. When I mentioned that we'd like to dine at Rosario's but knew they didn't take reservations--boom--we had reservations in 2 minutes.

Some will say this is strictly a convention hotel but I would disagree. We were in town for my daughter's dance competition and found it to be very family friendly. After long days of dancing and sight-seeing, the Hyatt was a great place to come 'home' to every night. I'd definitely stay here again.

  • Liked — Location and price
  • Disliked — Small pool area
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Tess23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,840 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,543
    848
    282
    103
    64
See reviews for
590
697
61
1,173
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (506)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2008

We stayed at Hyatt San Antonio Riverwalk Hotel during the July 4th weekend. We booked our trip with another couple about 5 weeks in advance. We used our AAA memberships to secure a significant discount and also got free breakfast with each of our rooms.

When we arrived we were both assigned to 1st floor handicap rooms. These rooms have strange bathrooms with very little counter space. One room had a tub with 5 assist bars and a weird shower head that was too low. The other room only had a shower with similar shower head and location. As a Facilities Engineer, I understand the need for handicap accomodations and I mean no disrespect to persons with disabilties.

We arrived right on time for the 3 p.m. check in time and were immediately assigned to these handicap rooms with absolutely no view. I don't think it is a coincidence that we were both assigned to handicap rooms on the 1st floor. If they had to give out these rooms due to overcrowding, they should have given them to the late arrivals or those who booked at the last minute.

I believe we were given these rooms because we booked through AAA at a discount rate. Obviously, Hyatt didn't want to give its good customers, paying full room rate, a handicap room with no view.

The staff at this hotel were excellent. The front desk staff were very friendly and the staff in the restaurant were exemplary. The rooms were clean and well furnished.

Just ask when you check in if you are getting a handicap room on the 1st floor so that you can request a change.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Cost of Parking
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank South4Scuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lakeland, FL
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2008

Stayed here for 3 nights around 4th of July. Booked at the last minute through Expedia and got a fantastic deal for this hotel. The location is ideal. Was able to check in at 10:30 a.m. on a Wednesday. Although our room had 2 double beds, it was non-smoking and overlooked the Riverwalk. Very clean and every staff member we passed always had a smile and was very friendly. Ate breakfast at the hotel one morning (Chaps)- pricey (which was to be expected,) but very good. Didn't try the buffet, although it looked really good. Try Zuni down the Riverwalk for breakfast. Half the price - great breakfast tacos! Had a Corona from the mini-bar, I think it was $6.00. I was actually expecting it to be more. My husband used the gym, which was very nice. Lots of cardio equipment and was usually empty. The pool on the roof is small, but has great views. There is also a hot tub. The bar by the pool is open Thursday through the weekend. The techno style music by the pool did become annoying after awhile. The lobby bar wasn't anything exciting, but a nice place for a drink. The Riverwalk was very pretty, except after the rain when everything drains into it. However, the clean up boats were out shortly after the rains to clean up. Would recommend doing the Riverwalk boat tour and the horse and carriage rides, as well as seeing the Alamo, the Menger hotel, and The Tower of the Americas. But I would avoid the Trolley tour. One hour of driving through the not-so-nice parts of San Antonio neighborhoods. It does stop at some of the Missions though, if you are interested in seeing them. Everything is within walking distance of this hotel, even El Mercado. While there, ate at Mi Tierra which was a disappointment. Try La Magarita instead. Paesano's on the Riverwalk was good for Italian. Rio Rio for Mexican was OK. Had drinks at Jim Cullum's outside the hotel - very expensive!! CVS is practically next door, which was very convenient. The only issue we had w/ noise was our last night (4th of July). We did hear people outside yelling in the streets (we were on the 5th floor). However, it was a holiday and a weekend. During the week, no problems. Was able to print our boarding passes for free before we left. I would definitely recommend this hotel when staying in San Antonio.

  • Liked — Location!!
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sunshine618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2008

The staff was fine. The room was clean and the location on the Riverwalk is ideal. It is just way too noisy. We had a fifth floor river view room and one would think it would be fairly quiet. Saturday night was a nightmare. Maybe we were too close to Dick's on the Riverwalk. But at three AM there were still (quite literally) guys whooping and hollering, and it sounded like they were standing at the window. Sirens blaring all night. Delivery and garbage trucks in the morning. I'll try a newer and hopefully better sound insulated hotel next time. One further from Dick's.

Drinks, etc. are outrageously expensive - no surprise just annoying. Bud light from the automated in room bar $8.00; House Scotch on the rocks at the bar - $9.00; Dos Equis at the pool $7.00; Parking $27.00/night; Internet access $11.00/day. So the room rate is only part of the story. Didn't eat there so can't comment about the restaurant.

  • Liked — Room was clean
  • Disliked — Noise, and more noise
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank golems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, TX
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2008

When I booked the 4 star mystery downtown hotel through Hotwire, I ended up with the Hyatt Regency San Antonio. I got a great rate of $139 a night.

First of all, the staff was EXTREMELY friendly. When we checked in, Stephanie at the front desk was very helpful and even gave us her personal extension in case of any problems. The location of the hotel can not be beat - if you go out one door, you're in the middle of the riverwalk, if you go out another, you're in a beautifully landscaped walkway that leads to the Alamo.

Apparently the property has been renovated recently, but I think it could still use a little updating. The exterior is composed of textured concrete and windows/doors with orange metal frames. It's a bit too much of a 70s/Brutalist style. If they were to apply a neutral colored stucco over top of the concrete and paint the window/door frames another color the place would look MUCH better. Unfortunately, in true 70s style, the concrete is carried throughout the inside of the hotel too. It gives the lobby a very unwelcoming feeling. The water feature in the bottom of the Atrium is a nice touch, but the water is very dirty and the surrounding landscaping is very dated. Yet, all of the furnishings have been updated and are very nice.

The same goes with the rooms - the bathroom and furniture are very nice and modern, but the old TV and exposed orange window frames give it a dated feeling. The rooms are very spacious though, and despite the orange frames, the floor to ceiling windows are great!

The worst part of the place is the rooftop pool/deck. The pool is tiny, and the "deck" is composed of a really ugly rubber tile sort of surface. To top it all off - an ugly green plastic awning covers the pool and has fluorescent lights on the side that are about to go out.

In short, if you're able to get a good rate on this place, go for it. The positives are the friendly staff and spacious and clean rooms. The dated decor gives the place more of 3 star feel than a 4 star feel, and if a little more updating was done, this place would be a 5 star hotel.

  • Liked — Room size and windows, Location, Friendly Staff
  • Disliked — Dated architecture, Rooftop Pool/Deck
  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vegophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2008

Hyatt Regency San Antonio was an ideal spot for our weekend getaway. Situated in the heart of the Riverwalk it has a great location. Upon check-in we were asked if we came for Fiesta. We actually had come for our anniversary not even knowing Fiesta was going on. The check in clerk said that he'd give us an upgrade and send something up. Later we received complimentary champagne and strawberries. This outstanding service was indicative of all staff of the hotel, from the concierge to housekeeping. Rooms had floor to ceiling windows and comfortable beds. I've stayed in more luxurious rooms, but it was quite pleasant. Our room also had an air purifier which was a nice touch so the air was always fresh. The restaurant looked only ok and we only got coffee in the morning so we could not comment on the food. The rooftop pool and hot tub were quite small but with great views of the city they were a welcome and relaxing break at the end of a long day sightseeing.
The hotel is set up for tourists which was perfect for us.

  • Liked — Location and customer service
  • Disliked — Food options in the hotel were not appealing
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank pkcasa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2008

My husband and I are big UNC fans and stayed at this hotel during the weekend of the Final Four in San Antonio this year. The hotel did a really nice job of taking care of such a large crowd throughout the weekend. I think their staff was pretty worn out but they continued to be pleasant and helpful. We did not dine at the Hyatt so I can't speak to many of the amenities, but the room was nice, spacious, with a good bathroom and comfortable bed.

  • Liked — Nice rooftop pool!
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank EES_75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,479 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Hotel Contessa
#11 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#10 of 354 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,897 reviews
Downtown
Drury Plaza Hotel San Antonio Riverwalk
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency San Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency San Antonio

Property: Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Address: 123 Losoya St, San Antonio, TX 78205-2688
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Antonio
#8 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#13 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#18 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#18 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#34 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency San Antonio 4*
Number of rooms: 629
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the heart of the Riverwalk at Hyatt Regency San Antonio. We are the only San Antonio Riverwalk hotel directly overlooking the historic Alamo and on the Riverwalk, connecting two of San Antonio's top destinations through our 16 story atrium lobby. Be the center of our attention while you are in the center of the action taking advantage of our unequaled location in the heart of dining and entertainment venues surrounding our Riverwalk hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency San Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency San Antonio Hotel San Antonio
San Antonio Hyatt Regency
Hyatt San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing