We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Ranked #19 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Other than the location, the Hyatt was just average. Four bellman/Doorman on duty and no one even greets you? The Front desk staff checked me in, nothing more! The Lobby is an atrium and stays so dark. Even the guest rooms are very dark-they should think about higher wattage bulbs. Housekeeping was mediocre some days forgetting my bathmat-sink clogged until I finally called down. As for the pro's---the location was wonderful, the bar and restaurant good value.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KCIGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie C, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Antonio, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Thank you for taking the opportunity to review your recent stay with us. We apologize for your less than pleasurable experience. We would love to have another opportunity in the future to provide you with the standard of service both you and we expect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,301)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,374 - 2,380 of 3,301 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2013

We enjoyed our stay at this hotel. It is downtown and within close walking distance of many attractions. The cost of parking was excessive. Unfortunately it was raining hard when we arrived, the desk staff forgot to activate the key card for the garage. After returning to the desk to have the key activated, we had to drive around the block to have access to the garage entrance. The key card still didn't work. Rather than another trip to the desk, we selected a parking ticket which was quickly sorted out with the desk staff later. The hotel staff was very friendly and accommodating. They offered lots of suggestions for activities and cost savings such as use the city transit rather than the tour buses. The city bus drivers were very helpful, friendly and funny.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emmie816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie C, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Antonio, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Thank you for this nice review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our Riverwalk property during your trip to San Antonio. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you during your next trip to the Alamo City!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

I purchased a voucher from Travel Zoo and got two nights for $309. I thought we would probably get a lesser room, but the price was still good. I was pleasantly surprised when we checked in and were treated like royalty. Our room was a beautiful room that looked out on the river walk. Without exception every staff member in this hotel was courteous, gracious and extremely helpful. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to San Antonio.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank c685710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie C, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Antonio, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our hotel's convenient location and friendly staff. We appreciate your comments and look forward to seeing you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

This is an older but well-maintained hotel located right on the Riverwalk about a block from the Alamo. It features an atrium and large pool surrounded by plants in the lobby and glass elevators. It has a spa, a barbecue restaurant and bar, an Einstein Bros. Bagel shop, and a nice gift shop with a variety of remedies as well as some food, postcards, scarves, t-shirts, mugs, and other souvenir items. Rooms have been updated and are comfortable. The staff is very helpful, especially if you tip them.

We had a room on the 1st floor facing the atrium and it was noisy at times at night. At one point I thought there must be a show going on in the lobby and looked out the window to see what was going on. It was just noise from Q Restaurant in the lobby. I'm told that the higher floors are better because you have an outdoor view. Even with the noise, we slept well.

Note that the parking fee for self-parking in the garage across the street is $25/night. Valet parking in the same garage is $35/night. We opted not to rent a car and were able to do everything we wanted to do on foot, although we found the nearby restaurants and drugstore very pricey. We found that we could eat breakfast at Einstein Bros.,a nearby Starbucks (about 5 blocks away on Houston Street), or Schilo's Restaurant on E. Commerce and lunch at Einstein Bros. and have healthy meals for reasonable prices.

Getting transportation back to the airport was no problem. The valet outside the front door flagged down a taxi and loaded our bags for us. Cab fair was about $27.

Room Tip: If possible, don't chose a room facing the atrium. Noise from the restaurant carries upward at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 60742Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie C, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Antonio, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us! We are glad to hear you enjoyed the hotel interior and the convenient location on the Riverwalk. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Loved this hotel. Upon arriving, we were told we could park in parking garage across the street but when we arrived-the sign said FULL. We drove up to valet and he told us follow one of the drivers and he let us in the garage. Very fast check in! Loved the rooms, most comfortable bed of our vacation. Loved access to River Walk. Secure elevators activated by keys. Had paid for room with breakfast included. Breakfast was wonderful and service was wonderful. Made to order omelets! yum! Glad I included this bc breakfast was pricey and we probably would not have eaten here. Did get Alamo view, which was fine but next time will do Atrium view. Would definitely stay here again! Loved getting up in the am and walking on the River Walk since there were only a few people out!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wpdaniel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie C, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Antonio, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2013

Thank you for this kind review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our Riverwalk property during your trip to San Antonio. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

When I first walked into this hotel, it was slammed. Tons of tourists, but the main desk was fairly helpful even if it took a long time. I was here for a conference mid-summer.

The hotel is very "cool", big, and busy - especially as it is across the street from the Alamo and connected directly to the riverwalk. There is a cool indoor atrium design, and my room was fortunate to have an indoor balcony. The room itself was the dated part. It felt just half a generation older -- not too bad to detract from the overall experience, but was enough of a sore point to cause some contrast friction between the hotel lobby interior and the room itself.

First time: I was prank called by a group of kids in the hotel. Front desk said they couldn't do anything about it, but I was mildly amused and went back to sleep. Not the fault of the hotel at all.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Albert L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2013

Upon check in, we were automatically upgraded to a high-level, beautifully decorated corner room, which afforded an interior balcony that overlooked the "emotionally cooling" water-featured lobby during the heat wave. The "really cool" glass elevators are operated by your room "key cards," which provides a security feature for keeping outsiders from gaining access to the upper floors, gym, rooftop swimming pool. This hotel is in a great central location, right ON the Riverwalk and just a block from the Alamo. From the rooftop of the hotel, where the shallow but refreshing lap pool is located, you can experience breathtaking views in practically all 4 directions. We were in town for a graduation during a spell of four of the hottest days --102, 104, 104, and 104 -- of the summer in mid August, but we were very cool and comfortable in all parts of this hotel. Because of having to be out and about very early on several mornings, were very pleased with the 6 a.m. opening of Einstein's Bagels in the hotel lobby area, where we had several delicious breakfasts. Were pleased to be able to print out our own boarding passes at the lobby Concierge Desk computer and printer. All iNote: There is structured parking across the street that is much less expensive than the valet parking.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
1  Thank Betsy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie C, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Antonio, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2013

Thank you for this great review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our property’s Riverwalk location during our summer heat wave. We appreciate your feedback and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#24 of 358 in San Antonio
4,126 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#9 of 358 in San Antonio
3,209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Contessa
#6 of 358 in San Antonio
3,347 reviews
Downtown
Grand Hyatt San Antonio
Grand Hyatt San Antonio
#22 of 358 in San Antonio
3,631 reviews
East Side
Hilton Palacio del Rio
Hilton Palacio del Rio
#14 of 358 in San Antonio
3,091 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency San Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency San Antonio

Address: 123 Losoya St, San Antonio, TX 78205-2688
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in San Antonio
#10 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#18 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#18 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#30 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: £148 - £311 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency San Antonio 4*
Number of rooms: 630
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the heart of the Riverwalk at Hyatt Regency San Antonio. We are the only San Antonio Riverwalk hotel directly overlooking the historic Alamo and on the Riverwalk, connecting two of San Antonio's top destinations through our 16 story atrium lobby. Be the center of our attention while you are in the center of the action taking advantage of our unequaled location in the heart of dining and entertainment venues surrounding our Riverwalk hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hyatt Regency San Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency San Antonio Hotel San Antonio
San Antonio Hyatt Regency
Hyatt San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing