We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Right on the river, easy walking” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hyatt Regency San Antonio

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Ranked #20 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago
Level Contributor
82 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Right on the river, easy walking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

Stayed here on business with a large group and trade show at the convention center. The rooms are very nice, though a bit on the small size. My room looked toward the river walk, from inside the atrium. Nice large TV with high definition cable channels. Very nice to have a small refrigerator for my things instead of stocked with expensive drinks and candy. Very comfortable bed. From my perspective, the room had most everything you would expect and was clean. Service was good where I used it, in general I had no issues with any of the staff. This location is real good, right on the river walk. Its a great area to walk around and enjoy the sights. It did look like a hard place to have a vehicle though, so I chose not to rent a car and I'm glad I didn't. The bar has a few craft beers which is nice. I did not eat at the restaurants, so I can't offer anything there.

Room Tip: Ask for an upgrade.
See more room tips
Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Fusebuddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie C, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Antonio, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Thank you for this kind review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our property’s Riverwalk location. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,779 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,506
    836
    277
    100
    60
See reviews for
575
686
61
1,141
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (501)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Northfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
117 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

From the minute my husband and I arrived at the Hyatt Regency Riverwalk, we were amazed at the quality of staff that we encountered. This included parking attendants, check-in, concierge, bar staff, and the lovely young lady who stopped by our table later in the evening at the bar to see how we were doing. Everyone was so friendly that it stood out to us.

We had a room overlooking the river (#210). It should be pointed out that a lower floor room is the ideal location for the River view as you can look "out" at the view and not "down". Our room was perfect and the bed was extremely comfortable. Not one complaint other than we were entitled to a free breakfast but had to leave early in the morning to catch our flight home.

The location on the Riverwalk was excellent and close to everything. If you can, take the boat ride. It only lasts around 40 minutes but well worth it for the small price of approx. $8.00/pp and there is ramp for pickup fairly close to the Hyatt.

Depending on the day and time of year you go, it could be considered a bit pricey but well worth it in terms of service, location, etc. We would definitely return to the Hyatt Regency San Antonio Riverwalk without hesitation.

Room Tip: Lower rooms for River view allow you to look "out" rather than "down" to enjoy t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cricket59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie C, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Antonio, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
We enjoyed reading your feedback and are happy to hear you and your husband enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to your next trip to San Antonio.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

I booked the hotel via Priceline in December. Our confirmation was to be staying at the Hyatt Regency in downtown San Antonio. However, upon arriving, they stated that we had to move to the Grand Hyatt due to overbooking after I had taken all my belongings out of the truck to check in. Stated they tried calling me, but I had no phone calls from them. They also said I would be reimbursed for one night for my troubles. After moving to the other hotel, we were put in the smallest room which was not what I was expecting. They then put us in a room that had a wall bed and a couch. At this point, I was so tired and just wanted to shower and rest. We checked in around 3:30 p.m. After showering, I laid down to rest, but unfortunately for me, I could not due to the loud construction noise happening right below us. I could also hear every door slam on the floor and the person using the facilities in the next room. After being there approximately 2 hours, my family and I checked out and paid for a room at another hotel. This was the absolute worst experience I have ever had. The staff was unapologetic and really did not care that I was leaving or tried to find out what was wrong. I never expected to have this much trouble on my trip. I would never recommend staying at any of your hotels in the future. If they do not wish to honor the reservations that are made through Priceline, then do not offer the hotel. Seems to me that this is just a big scam in order to fill the hotel that no one wants to occupy because of the construction.

Room Tip: Don't book any Hyatt Hotel downtown San Antonio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lavaquerra2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie C, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Antonio, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Thank you for taking the opportunity to review your recent stay with us. Please accept a sincere apology from our team in regards to your visit. We would love to make things right and hope that you will give us another opportunity in the future to provide you with the service both you and we expect.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
178 reviews
138 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

This was my first stay at the Hyatt Riverwalk in San Antonio and I was in town for a short conference. I was upgraded to a Jr Suite and it had a balcony. It was odd because the balcony faced into the hotel atrium and not to the outside. That was disappointing and kind of useless really.

The room was comfortable and well maintained but the hotel décor was dark and bland overall. The atmosphere just seemed old and heavy overall probably because of all the dark colors and dark hallways.

The hotel is right on the riverwalk surrounded by restaurants and plenty of places to walk around. The conference space on the ballroom level is nice because it’s open air to the rest of the hotel so that makes you feel less trapped and enclosed.

If I were in the area again I probably would stay at one of the small, upscale boutique hotels which is just my personal preference.

Room Tip: Rooms with balcony face inside the hotel atrium - Not outside
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelinKenChi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie C, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Antonio, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our hotel's meeting space and convenient location on the Riverwalk. We appreciate your comments and suggestions and hope to see you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaohsiung, Taiwan
Level Contributor
61 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014

I got the room at a great price, at checkin the offered an upgrade (room with a view).. my too looked in on the Atrium... not the worst of views. The room is excellent, with an extremely comfortable bed. Two minor quibbles the phone did not work (turned out later that is was plugged in wrong) and the clock next to the bed had the wrong time (it seemed impossible to set the correct time, despite me asking several times).

The hotel is located on the river walk and you can walk out of the hotel at the river walk level and be right where all the restaurants are. The Alamo is less then 5 minutes walking. there is an Einstein Bro's agh the lobby level so you can get an inexpensive breakfast.

The staff was very friendly and was able to help with almost every question I had (except the clock). Now my biggest complained was that the parcels are handled by Fedex and Fedex is charging you by the weight. I ended up paying $135 for handling fee for 8 parcels. I am ok paying a small holding fee but I do thing this charge is excessive. Also if there are more then 2 people in a room you will be charged for the 3rd, 4th person.

At a $150 I got a great rate...

The good:
Location, facilities

The not so good:
Charges for parcels

Room Tip: If you want a view it's available as an upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mlokhorst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie C, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Antonio, responded to this review, 12 February 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our hotel's comfortable beds and friendly staff. We appreciate your comments and suggestions and look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014

Yes, THANK YOU LAUREN..!!!!!!!

We had made our reservations at this Hyatt Regency through their toll free number and requested the city view rooms, so that we could see the fireworks from our room.

Upon arrival, we were given the Alamo view which for this occasion did not suit us well, as i requested another set of rooms from this particular from desk associate, I got nothing but excuses as the hotel is sold out, maybe later he might be able to do something etc...

Well, we went to our Alamo view rooms, and we knew, NO, DID NOT LIKE IT....!!!

So i returned to the front desk, avoiding the original front desk agent, and was waited on by Lauren. In less than 90seconds, she had told me that there were two rooms coming up on the city side, and would be available in about 2hours, rooms 1076 & 1078.

True to her word, she called us and said rooms are ready....

The four of us, enjoyed watching the New Years Eve fireworks from our rooms.....

Lauren, without knowing it, made a stage 4 cancer patient very ~ very happy.....thus the reason for my posting. Yes, the hotel was busy, and yes, you had to take an elevator going up to go down, but hey, after all, it was New Years, and hotels are packed...

Rooms were clean, with a great view, room service great, and staff was great also......

BTW, This is my favorite hotel in San Antonio.....

Room Tip: City view rooms also give you a view of the Riverwalk.....ours were rooms 1076 & 1078
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve-DogerBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie C, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Antonio, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the guest rooms and the great service Lauren provided. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grafton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

Great location right on the Riverwalk! Close to lots of restaurants, bars, shops, and the Alamo! Arturo, an individual from room service, went above and beyond by going to get me tea and honey upon hearing I had a sore throat.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie C, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Antonio, responded to this review, 30 January 2014
Thank you for this kind review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed our property’s Riverwalk location. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Omni La Mansion del Rio
#22 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,373 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Hotel Contessa
#10 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#13 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,812 reviews
East Side
Hilton Palacio del Rio
Hilton Palacio del Rio
#14 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,629 reviews
Downtown
Drury Inn & Suites San Antonio Riverwalk
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency San Antonio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency San Antonio

Property: Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Address: 123 Losoya St, San Antonio, TX 78205-2688
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in San Antonio
#7 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#12 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#18 Business Hotel in San Antonio
#18 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#34 Family Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency San Antonio 4*
Number of rooms: 629
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the heart of the Riverwalk at Hyatt Regency San Antonio. We are the only San Antonio Riverwalk hotel directly overlooking the historic Alamo and on the Riverwalk, connecting two of San Antonio's top destinations through our 16 story atrium lobby. Be the center of our attention while you are in the center of the action taking advantage of our unequaled location in the heart of dining and entertainment venues surrounding our Riverwalk hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hyatt Regency San Antonio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency San Antonio Hotel San Antonio
San Antonio Hyatt Regency
Hyatt San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing