We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Wyndham Riverside Suites(San Antonio)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Riverwalk Vista(San Antonio)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Omni La Mansion del Rio(San Antonio)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Mokara Hotel and Spa(San Antonio)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Menger Hotel(San Antonio)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (3,351)
Filter reviews
3,351 results
Traveller rating
1,864
955
334
124
74
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,864
955
334
124
74
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat locationthe river walkq baralamo viewrooftop poolself parkinglobby barbeautiful hoteleasy accessconvention centerroom keyriverwalk areahotel restaurantrivercenter mallper dayconferenceatrium
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,315 - 2,320 of 3,351 reviews
Reviewed 7 May 2014

This hotel has a great location, beautiful lobby and nice rooms but.... I expected more for my money and the hotel's reputation. My biggest complaint is that you are not able to control the temperature in your room. Every time you want to change the air conditioning, you have to call the desk for maintenance to come change it for you. We called 4 times but every time the temperature went back to the previous temperature setting. The coffee maker is located in a place where there is no socket to plug it into so you have to move it with few choices of plug locations. Then the coffee was full of little white specks and had to be dumped out. If you don't have an Iphone or Ipod to plug into the docking station, then you can't see the time on the alarm at night since it didn't light up. I thought it was odd that we were given no information about the hotel at check in and I had to call to find out where the pool was and if there was a fitness room. There was no hotel info in the room other than room service menus. Of course parking is $25 a day, not that unusual for a downtown location, but you also had to pay for internet. I find it odd that cheaper hotels offer free internet, breakfast and you control your own thermostat. Although I enjoyed the stay at this beautiful hotel, I will choose a different hotel on the riverwalk next time. And be sure to ask for the complimentary cold water bottles at the check in desk since the bottles in the room cost $5.00 each. Wish I would have know these were available before check out but again we weren't given any info at check in.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank denisekt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie D, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Antonio, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Hi Denise, thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We apologize that the hotel's services were not to your standard, and we will take this information into consideration for future updates. Once again, we apologize and hope you will give Hyatt Regency San Antonio a second chance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

This hotel is situated right on the Riverwalk, which was fun and convenient. There are innumerable sidewalk cafés and restaurants just steps from the hotel. The conference center is an easy 10 minute walk, and it was nice to stay outside of the hustle and bustle of the Hyatt by the conference center. The Alamo is also just across the road from the hotel. We had a lovely, spacious corner room with a balcony that looked out across the hotel atrium to the Riverwalk. Big downside is that the noise from the atrium and bar below come right up and into the room. For light sleepers like me, it is a big negative that required ear plugs. Didn't bother my husband at all. If you need a quiet place, this is probably not a good choice.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank Cheriedoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie D, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Antonio, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Hello, thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and will certainly take this information into consideration for future guestroom updates. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This hotel, one of 3 Hyatt hotels we noticed in the city, has great location on the River Walk, and in San Antonio, which is otherwise just a typical slightly worn southern city, that is a huge positive factor. From the gorgeous lobby, you go down one floor to a small commercial area and walk directly out to the River Walk on the NE corner of the "horseshoe" portion of the river. From the street side you enter into the lovely huge lobby, which reaches up in the center of the hotel the full 11 floors as a soaring atrium. The front desk had very friendly staff and there was a very friendly, energetic concierge, where we received good information about activities and restaurants, but misinformation about where to catch the #5 bus to the airport, which if you’re interested is on Navarro at Houston, not Navarro at Crockett. The building is actually an old hotel lovingly updated. The interior is a nice blend with mixed materials, modern colors, interesting art, good lighting and well kept up carpet. The first room we received in our 3-night stay was on the 10th floor looking into the atrium. Although rooms on this side have been described as noisier, I think that may only be if there is late night bar activity, which we did not experience, and the room was quiet. However, you have to enjoy looking inward on the atrium and the room feels definitely darker than those that look outward. Also, you always have to be careful with the curtains, since all rooms look at each other. We did not like the inward looking feeling so we asked if we could switch and they very congenially, since they were not full on Saturday and Sunday nights, agreed to move all of our packed up luggage to a 6th floor outside-looking room for 2 nights facing out to the Alamo. That also meant we were able to see the fiesta parade. There is a little “water element” from the hotel toward the Alamo, which makes the view in this easterly direction probably the best. But, this room facing the street was very noisy the first night from all night fiesta activity near the Alamo. The AC is quiet so it does not cover noise and in both rooms, although the controls are quite minimal, it is impossible to tell if the temperature is moving in the direction you have indicated. In addition, this is an older structure so the walls are not in any sense soundproofed and you can easily hear conversations next door and in the hall, and your discussions, even in normal tones can be heard as well. Both rooms are tightly laid out since rooms in older hotels are always a bit smaller, but the layout stays open in the center, which gives a feeling of adequate space, except in the bathroom. The bathroom does not follow the pleasant modern convention of a separate toilet area, which usually includes the shower. Instead, in one small room there is one sink, a toilet, a shower/tub combo with a rounded curtain for a little more space and nice large fluffy, white towels. There is enough space on the vanity counter surface for toiletries and a wood shelf under the sink for extras. The usual amenities like a hair dryer and iron/board are present. There are nice products including shampoo, conditioner, scented lotion, soaps and toothpaste. The closet is small with adequate hangers. There is one dresser with 4 large drawers on one side and a small fridge in the other side. The fridge had no coolness settings, and in one room it was just barely cool enough for our groceries and wine. The room feels welcoming and is very clean with nice dark wood furniture, well finished, textured neutral tan wall paper, a comfy chair, a desk with desk chair, and a small decorative but essentially non-functional circular table with a coffee maker. There are only 2 small pieces of art on one wall. There is no mini bar and no pay-as-go snacks (which I don’t like and always find a bit insulting), but each of 2 water bottles cost $5, so get your own from the CVS just 50 yards away down the river. Like many older structures there are slightly limited and awkwardly positioned outlets. They have a fabulous week day happy hour in the "Q bar" from 3-6 PM with lovely fresh made guacamole and warm chips for $3 (usual price also $3) and add a little salsa plus chips for $1 (usual price with more chips and 3 different salsas is $7). Tap beer costs $4 instead of $6. The bar has seating that overlooks the River Walk. WiFi is fast, stable and reliable BUT you pay for it in rooms unless it is pre-arranged as a conference or group perk. The question to me in the expensive hotels with a charge for WiFi is WHY???. WiFi is free in several areas such as the lobby and because the normal WiFi is excellent, don't pay for "premium" WiFi unless you have very high bandwidth needs. Each room has a modern flatscreen TV controlling WiFi and lots of "pay-as-you-go" options, but has Starz with free older movies each night. New release movies are around $15. Neither remote TV controller in either room worked, and we didn't stumble onto the fact that you could control the cursor on the TV screen with the attached keyboard until the very helpful IT "help desk" person, who's available 24/7 told us. There were actually 2 fixes that the IT guy tried, first to put in new batteries (both controllers had dead batteries -- why not have housekeeping check this), and the remarkably stupid issue with the controller sensor on the TV which is a small plug-in attachment that sits loose on the TV base and if it and its cord are moved behind the TV, it can't sense the remote! The IT people had to spend 30 minutes one night rebooting our TV (what a complex age we live in) before we could watch a movie. The pool and surrounding area on the roof is lovely. There is a good size exercise room but some of the equipment including both upright bicycles did not function and toe clips were missing. It is clearly not one of their priorities so if you like to exercise, hit the River walk in the early morning. It's stunning. Breakfast places are numerous along the river and in the city center, or there is a small but excellent Einstein's Bagels in the Hyatt. The closest Starbucks are 4 blocks away in opposite directions. Dinner can be had anywhere nearby along the River Walk where you have the crowds, the waiting times, the slightly higher prices, and occasional marginal quality but lovely ambience. There is a “Q restaurant” with a good reputation and surprisingly reasonable prices on the Hyatt premises. The charges for parking make it moderately expensive. A shuttle costs $19 per person plus tip to or from the airport and can take 20-35 minutes. A taxi is $24-$30 plus tip depending on the time and route and takes 15-30 minutes. The bus #5 to or from the airport costs $1.20 per person (no change made, but they take $1 bills), has a stop 2-3 blocks from the front door of the Hyatt and takes approximately 40-45 minutes. We had a special group rate during the final days of fiesta week and paid $179/night while prices for all of the other hotels on or near the River Walk were $200/night or more. For a splurge in a fabulous location, pick a weekend when there is not a fiesta and see if you can get a room for a price lower than this, and enjoy the splurge.

Room Tip: We preferred the rooms looking outward even though the views are not always that stunning. The higher you can get, the better.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DaveW43323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie D, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Antonio, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Hi Dave, thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and suggestions and will certainly take this information into consideration. We hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This hotel is amazing, located right on the river with a portion of the river running through the lower level of the atrium. The service is excellent as well as the food. There is easy access to all of the festivities on the river, with dining and dancing to be had. Our room not only had a view of The Alamo but the San Antonio River as well. This was a short romantic vacation for me and my husband and thanks to the Hyatt Regency it was everything we expected and more. We will be back and have nothing but high remarks for this wonderful, beautiful hotel / resort. Thanks for the wonderful vacation full of beautiful memories.

Room Tip: Request a higher floor with either The Alamo or River view.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie D, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Antonio, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Hi Stephanie, we enjoyed reading your feedback and are happy to hear you and your husband enjoyed your stay with us! We look forward to having you during your next trip to San Antonio.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

This hotel is really special because of the way it brings the Riverwalk inside with a beautiful water attraction that gives the illusion of connecting with the river, with water tumbling over stones, and a bridge just before the door that opens onto the Riverwalk. The hotel atrium is 16 stories high with many vantage points where guests can look down and view other public spaces: lobby, bar, meeting spaces, great for people-watching. There was a high-school prom on-site the first night I was there and it was wonderful to see the colorful gowns and the young ladies so nicely dressed! My room faced the interior atrium so I could enjoy all of this activity from the privacy of my room. The rooms are nicely appointed and include a fridge and coffee maker, and Starbucks coffee pods were an extra bonus. It was one of the better hotel rooms I have stayed in, for sure! I would rate this hotel 4.5 stars if I could. The only issue that made me withhold a "5" was the malfunctioning thermostat in the room. I tried to lower the temp from 69-70 to 65 or 66 at night, since I have trouble sleeping unless the room is very cool. After the first night, I called the front desk to request a fix for the problem. They sent someone up while I was at a meeting for the day. The temp had been lowered by 1 degree when I returned to the room! I have experienced this in other hotels so I suspect that in an effort to save energy, hotels are limited the temperature range of thermostats in guest rooms.
Other positive features:
* an Einstein Bagel shop on the lobby level if you are looking for a really good, affordable breakfast
* Parking directly across the street: $25/day self-parking $35/day valet parking
* Location, location, location! Prime spot on the Riverwalk! I did not use the hotel's bar or restaurant since there is so much available just steps away!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the atrium! No street noise and a novel view!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travelswithlabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephanie D, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Antonio, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2014

We enjoyed reading your feedback and are happy to hear you enjoyed our hotel's Riverwalk location and guest room amenities. We appreciate your comments and suggestions and look forward to having you during your next trip to San Antonio!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews