We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming hotel, great location, excellent staff and service!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Omni La Mansion del Rio
Ranked #22 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We spent two nights at the Omni Mansion Del Rio en route from San Diego to New Orleans with our two children aged 8 and 12. The hotel is eclectic and charming. What our room lacked in size was made up with its historic charm. The location of the hotel is ideally centered on the Riverwalk. The hotel's main restaurant served a breakfast brunch that pleased every member of our family. The most outstanding aspect of this hotel, however, was the service. Every staff member we encountered, from the clerk at check-in to the wait staff at breakfast to the lovely gentleman who escorted my kids and I to our room when we were turned around, went above and beyond to welcome, inform
and offer suggestions. An added bonus: movies by the pool on Saturday night with free popcorn! The kids were entertained and the parents enjoyed a delicious poolside
margarita!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SmackFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John W, General Manager at Omni La Mansion del Rio, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

Dear SmackFam:

Thank you so much for the kind comments following your visit. While it was gratifying to read your observations on the hotel's history, charm and entertainment; what really struck home was your description of our associates' service commitment. We truly enjoy serving visitors to our city, and we look forward to welcoming you back when the opportunity arises.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,920)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2,447 - 2,453 of 3,922 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014

This hotel has an awesome location on the Riverwalk! The rooms were nice and the staff was friendly. There are a few things to keep in mind before booking.
1. The Parking Garage cannot handle cars over 8'. Normally I wouldn't care of the garage capacity, but we were moving and could not park there because we had a Thule box on top of our car. In the end it saved us $$$ since we parked two blocks away for a total of $10 for 2 nights.
2. Yes the property is pet friendly, but there is nowhere on the grounds to walk the dogs. We were on the 1st floor which was convenient, but unless you have a little dog that can "do it's business" in a small section of dirt along the sidewalk by the river with tourists walking by then you will be walking 4 blocks to the nearest park. The pet fee was also nightly.
I was also amazed by how quiet the rooms were. This helped minimize barking since our pooch wasn't distracted by outside noise. The Spurs won the championship the night we were there and didn't hear anything!
Overall, we recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Great location. A very comfortable bed and quiet. good TV. Would have liked a gift shop that opened past 3:00 pm; maybe a snack bar. Restaurant staff took our order quickly but it took a long time to get our food; and equally long to provide the check. Staff was very friendly and welcoming.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Margie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The room was romantic and quiet but temperature was not as cool as I would prefer and the hallways were very hot and humid. But staff was friendly and room was very nice. The hotel is right off the riverwalk but I had no windows and I wish I would of asked for a room with a balcony to the riverwalk instead. The parking and valet were very spacious and there was a parking garage right across the street that was convenient. There is also a walgreens right around the corner which was convenient. Restaurants were very close by and convenient.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Martha V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucie A, Manager at Omni La Mansion del Rio, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Dear Martha V.,

I am so sorry the room was not to your desired temperature (or ours). We are happy that you identify our hotel as romantic, we feel the same way.

On behalf of our staff, thank you for the humbling words about our service.

Regards,
~Lucie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

Excellent accommodations, great staff & ease of getting around and out to river walk. Lovely views & outstanding directions from personnel. Attentive to needs of guests and explained when questions were asked.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Accompanied my husband on a business trip; although our group booked several rooms, it was still fairly expensive even in January during off-season. Being an Omni Hotel, I had higher expectations for the room- the furnishings and bedding needed updating and the room was very dark. There was no light-bulb in one of the main lamps and only one set of chairs for the balcony (the main attraction) which had to be shared with two other rooms. There was no refrigerator, but they brought one when we asked, along with a set of chairs for the balcony. The parking area was challenging and expensive, so we parked on the first day, kept our car in the self park and walked to any locations on the Riverwalk. We ate at the breakfast buffet one morning (it had a very limited selection) and with tip it was nearly $50. My husband asked if it was possible for us to have a late check-out since his conference didn't end until 4:00pm; they called back and said they could extend it to 1pm which seemed reasonable, no mention was made of an extra fee. Upon our return home, my husband looked at the hotel bill and they had added a $50 fee for the two hour delayed check out; this would have been fine had they told us that up front and we could have decided whether or not it was worth it. Being located on the Riverwalk with a balcony we thought it would be the perfect hotel, however, we were very disappointed.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RyliesMimi2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lucie A, Manager at Omni La Mansion del Rio, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2014

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are currently in the process of purchasing bedding to give some of our rooms a more updated look.

I am glad you had the refrigerator delivered timely and apologize that you did not receive a private balcony (we are limited on those).

I am not sure what the $50 extra charge is as that is not our practice to charge without notifying you first. Please feel free to contact the hotel directly for an explanation and resolution to that.

I regret that your stay did not go as you intended, this is certainly not the impression we want our valued guests to have.

Respectfully,

Lucie A.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This property is accurately rated at 4 to 4 1/2. I would have been a 5 star for us but there were some minor issues with the select member amenities and an issue of food ordering at the bar. Review your final bill at departure. Now the place is beautiful and a 3 night stay turned into an 8 day stay. Great room with an OUTSTANDING balcony to view the Riverwalk and people watch. Have never been attended by a more professional and excellent Front Desk staff. Thanks to Alejandra, Maria, Jeff and Lily also the Bell hops. Their staff is very well trained and Gold Medal level. The place is pricey but you pay for what you get. Will definitely be back...Rami and Rose

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts
Thank rami1234pr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Hotel Valencia Riverwalk
#5 of 358 in San Antonio
3,113 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#6 of 358 in San Antonio
3,248 reviews
East Side
Mokara Hotel and Spa
Mokara Hotel and Spa
#2 of 358 in San Antonio
1,540 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#20 of 358 in San Antonio
3,144 reviews
East Side
Hilton Palacio del Rio
Hilton Palacio del Rio
#14 of 358 in San Antonio
2,958 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni La Mansion del Rio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni La Mansion del Rio

Address: 112 College St, San Antonio, TX 78205
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#8 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#13 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#18 Family Hotel in San Antonio
#23 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range: £154 - £308 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni La Mansion del Rio 4*
Number of rooms: 338
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Omni La Mansión del Rio is ideally nestled along the historic River Walk in downtown San Antonio. Perfectly situated, you can easily explore all of San Antonio’s extensive range of tourist attractions. Located within easy walking distance to the fabled Alamo, El Mercado, La Villita Arts District, Spanish Governor’s Palace, San Antonio Convention Center and most other well-known landmarks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotelopia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Omni La Mansion del Rio reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Omni La Mansion Del Rio Hotel San Antonio
Omni San Antonio
Omni Hotel San Antonio
San Antonio Omni
La Mansion Del Rio
Omni La Mansion Del Rio San Antonio, Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing