We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place and nice view” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk
Ranked #43 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Sicklerville
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place and nice view”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

If you are planning a great trip to San Antonio, Tx, I highly recommend the Marriott San Antonio River walk. It's close to major historic places such as Los Alamos....and of course, I enjoyed the river walk during early evening...it's too hot to walk during the say time. There are plenty choices to select from when it comes to a night out. I enjoyed the local dishes and cold drinks.

Room Tip: The Henry G Gonzalez is just across the street. It's easy to get in and out of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mercedes1776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    357
    438
    224
    89
    33
See reviews for
200
241
35
520
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
174 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

in the rooms for sure. The lobby looks and feels great and you can't beat the proximityy to some of the bigger downtown and riverwalk attractions. The staff, at all levels, is great and very well trained in the "added experience".

The staff is what moves my rating up from average to very good. The rooms are NOT horrible, but they are slightly dated and worn. However, cleanliness is more important and they get high marks for this. I was pleasantly surprised with the comfort of the bed. I was on a high floor, facing the grand hyatt and freeway which was ok with me. My A/C was quiet, my room was quiet and did i say it was clean?

There is a better starbucks selection across the street at the other Marriott, and a breakfast and lunch diner just a few minutes away called Schilo's. Breakfast and drinks can be a tad on the high side, so venture out and enjoy the town.

For this visit they get a YUM YUM YUM out of 5YUMS

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yumyumguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seal Beach, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

This was a nice hotel located on the fabulous San Antonio river walk. The maid service was EXCELLENT.

But.... They have low flow toilets. I understand Texas is in the middle of a drought and I applaud their minimization of water use. But the water in the toilet bowl was so low that BM's left streaks which multiple flushings did nothing to eradicate. It was disgusting and very embarrassing when you're sharing a room with friends. And NO toilet brush! Are we supposed to call for housekeeping to clean the toilets every time we have a BM??

Also, once the toilet got clogged. One of my roomies got it unclogged by removing a wad if TP, BUT NO way I would have done that.

So beware. I suspect the rest of TX has toilets like this. Go someplace it rains a lot and where they have real toilets.

Room Tip: Pick a place that does not have low flow toilets
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Edith I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

This hotel was good but not great. For the price I was expecting a bit more. The carpeting and rooms were a bit dated but the location was everything! So close to the Riverwalk...literally steps from it. So close to restaurants, bars, shopping and even a movie theater. The location is a winner.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EVE V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte Amalie, St. Thomas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

My husband and I stayed here on a short getaway for three nights and had a wonderful experience. We found all of the hotel staff that we encountered to be the friendliest, most helpful and genuine, especially at the Front Desk and in the Cactus Flower Restaurant. Our room was clean, spacious and inviting. The bed and bedding were first class. It has a great location and underground parking, too! Yes, it is a pricy hotel, but it is a Marriott. If quality is not a concern to you....go elsewhere.

Room Tip: Pay a little more for a room with a balcony facing the Riverwalk for a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HARRIET682
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, England
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

We stayed here for six nights because we attended a convention and this place was the "official" hotel. That is, it offered a discounted rate of $154 a night (but neglected to say it didn't include State Tax, County Tax and City Tax). All in all, including a few drinks at the bar some evenings, our six nights came to $1278.63. Okay, you say, you pay for the convenience of being next to the Convention Centre. And this is a discount after all. And, I have to admit, in our month of travelling across Texas, it had the most comfortable beds and the quietest air conditioning. But, and this is a big but, for someone who has spent his life travelling around the world, that's all you get for your money. No breakfast, for example. Want something more than a bed, you have to pay for it. Want Wi-Fi access in your room? That'll be another 59¢ a minute. See that bottle of water on the dresser provided for "your convenience"? Check the small print that says "If consumed $3.50 will be billed to your room!" Fine, except that there isn't even a fridge in the room to keep it cold! Our friend said he'd ordered cocktail the first night in the hotel bar while he was waiting for us. That was $10. Having stayed in around a dozen hotels in Texas I would say that this was the most stupidly expensive while giving absolutely nothing away. If you are on a budget, stay at the Alamo Travelodge. If you are loaded, stay here and enjoy the aircon.

Room Tip: Nice rooms, just be prepared to pay
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Da5e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vancouver
Level Contributor
79 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

This is a corporate hotel that is just that, the rooms are plane but clean and a bit aged. Had to move rooms because the A/C unit was so loud but the front desk handled this very well. James on the concierge floor for breakfast/cocktail hours on the 28th floor was very friendly. The bar in the lobby is very plane but the food is good. You can take a very short walk to the River walk for a drink and beverage also. At the bottom of the stairs just outside of the hotel take the Rio San Antonio Cruise down on the river, it is only $8.25 and lasts around 25 minutes EXCELLENT they give you a lot of info about San Antonio and the history in a fun way. The Alamo is just a few interesting minutes walk away ... a must see. The convention centre is just out the front door and across the street.

Room Tip: If the A/C is loud ask for another room a couple of us did and got much quieter units. Facing the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VancouverCraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Downtown
Grand Hyatt San Antonio
Grand Hyatt San Antonio
#19 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,021 reviews
East Side
Hilton Palacio del Rio
Hilton Palacio del Rio
#14 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#20 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,789 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#10 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

Property: San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk
Address: 889 E Riverwalk, San Antonio, TX 78205-3915
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#17 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#43 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#78 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk 4*
Number of rooms: 512
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott San Antonio Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing