We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Renovations couldn't come sooner!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk
Ranked #43 of 356 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Renovations couldn't come sooner!!”
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Service is great, but this place needs a serious facelift. The furniture is extremely out-dated, walls are extremely thin and the bathroom is dark and unappealing. I hope they go all out with the make over. This place has a lot of potential given it's location.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank miss-tsaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick M, Guest Relations Manager at San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Miss-tsaki,

Thank you for your feedback. You will be pleased to know that the hotel will undergo a rooms renovation this year! With our great location right on the river walk and our brilliants hosts who excel in the art of hosting, we are an excellent choice the next time your travels bring you back to San Antonio. Thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    393
    456
    231
    92
    33
See reviews for
217
254
36
549
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

I have to stay at large convention hotels frequently. Most are geared to host a lot of guest at marginal levels...

This is NOT the San Antonio Marriott! It is excellent. The best house keeping ever; friendly, through, perfect! My experience at this Marriott was excellent. What a location!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SouthernTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
2 reviews
Reviewed 17 April 2014

As a single traveller, the compact bathroom/closet area was quite adequate. Floor to ceiling windows provided a beautiful vista. Hotel staff are excellent, especially concierge lounge attendant who could not have been more welcoming upon my arrival very near closing time on Sunday evening, and Anna, who serviced my room and went out of her way to greet me in the hall; plus, she made a delightful washcloth wrap for my toothpaste and covered toothbrush on the vanity! When one travels for work, it's these little things that make for a terrific stay. Thank you, Marriott!

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room, 29th floor.
See more room tips
Green Features: Hotel needs to add recycling containers in rooms and hallways.
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

Very noisy (windows let traffic noise in).
No attention to details, checked in via Marriott app and had to wait and check in again. Super small bathroom.
Full of noisy people all night long. Asked for bathrobe and did not get it. Room is old and carpet is stained and unhealthy. Careful with AC super noisy it will keep you up

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Umberto M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick M, Guest Relations Manager at San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Umberto M,
Thank you for posting your review. I’m really disappointed to know our staff failed to respond to your request. Please accept my sincere apology in failing to meet your expectations of the staff and hotel. However, you will be glad to know that we will be undergoing a rooms renovation later this year for a sleeker more up-to-date product. Thank you again for providing us your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014 via mobile

I just spent three nights here earlier this week. The reception area and lobby have had been redone in recent years and are attractive. The building, unfortunately, is one of the ugly '70's style, cheaply built high rises that are found all over America's big cities. The guest rooms are just obsolete. I stayed on the concierge (28th) floor. The room itself was fairly spacious, but the closet was tiny and the ugly, outdated bathroom was very cramped. In addition, the carpeting and upholstered furniture were looking grimy and worn out. The soundproofing in the room was also poor. The rooms need to be gutted and completely redone.

I agree with some of the other reviewers that the customer service is quite good. From the club lounge to the front desk, the staff were all very polite and helpful. I was also impressed with the food in the club lounge and in the hotel's restaurant. Overall the place is OK, but it really suffers from the problematic, outdated building and shabby guest rooms.

Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank LibraryHRGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick M, Guest Relations Manager at San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear LibraryHR Guy,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review and thank you for letting us know the great customer service you received. We take the art of hosting brilliantly very seriously so we truly appreciate you letting everyone know we took great care of you. I’m also pleased you found the food in the lounge and restaurant to your liking. You’ll be pleased to know we have scheduled a rooms renovation this year. We hope you will be able to stay with us after the renovation; we’d like to know what you think of the new rooms. All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

I was here for business.

First off: the staff at this hotel is outstanding. Every one was amazing, and the service was top-notch.

But, as others have said, this hotel needs an upgrade. The room was pretty good, but, this hotel really needs some work.

Also: How is it that I was here for work, and yet they charged me $15 for internet access?

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank footballfan412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buffalo Springs, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

I recently attended a conference at the San Antonio Convention Center and was a guest at this hotel. The location was great - right across from convention center and the hotel was nice and clean. The convention center is large and everything is a long walk - so it was great to be at least staying at a convenient location. It is also right on the Riverwalk and convenient to many restaurants and services. The hotel was nice and quiet, even with many of the guests being there for this conference. I also enjoyed the quick check in and out, and the quick valet service. The only problem about the location is the road construction in the area, which made it difficult to know when to turn, and the traffic congestion. Otherwise, it was an enjoyable trip and I would stay again!

Room Tip: I would ask for a room without a view of the roof and street traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dfoxsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Hilton Palacio del Rio
Hilton Palacio del Rio
#12 of 356 in San Antonio
2,842 reviews
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#19 of 356 in San Antonio
3,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Grand Hyatt San Antonio
Grand Hyatt San Antonio
#20 of 356 in San Antonio
3,292 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Hotel Contessa
#8 of 356 in San Antonio
3,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

Property: San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk
Address: 889 E Riverwalk, San Antonio, TX 78205-3915
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in San Antonio
#13 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#17 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#43 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#78 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk 4*
Number of rooms: 512
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Marriott, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott San Antonio Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing