We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk
Ranked #43 of 355 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Ok”
Reviewed 12 June 2014

There were a few things that brought my opinion of the Marriott Riverwalk from Very Good to Average. Namely, the fact that I had to pay $13 a day for internet (really?) and the décor of the rooms. While the internet may be a small charge, one wonders how much do you have to pay a night to get free internet? When paying over $250 a night I expect this to be free.

Ding #2: No refrigerator or microwave. When it is over 100 degrees outside and there are all those wonderful restaurants just steps away, it would be nice to have cold water waiting for you and the ability to take your yummy food back from the restaurant.

Ding #3: The décor. Its tired. Low, popcorn ceiling. Scratched, stained, and worn furniture and the bathroom has a very shallow tub, no fan, and no hand towel holder. Little things I know, but again, given what you are paying and the fact that this is a Marriott....

That being said, some positives:
1) The gym! It is the best, biggest gym I have ever seen in a hotel. 5 treadmills, 4 bikes, free weights, leg machines, and a cable weight system. Also, a heated pool that is half inside, half outside, ping pong tables, billiards and a nice outdoor lounge area.

2) the bar, lots of great drinks.

3) Finally, the location. Just steps away from the Riverwalk.

Ultimately, would I choose the Marriott Riverwalk again? No.

Green Features: There are none. No recycle bins anywhere, no water saving requests
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lv2rdtrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick M, Guest Relations Manager at San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Lv2rdtrip,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your valuable feedback. I'm pleased to know you enjoyed the recreation area; the pool, gym and the game tables. We try very hard to provide the best hotel experience possible. We are looking forward to begin our rooms re-do beginning the Fall of 2014 which will address some of the concerns you mentioned. As for the internet service, most full service hotels have fees for internet connectivity in the rooms, we provide it on a complimentary basis in the lobby and public spaces. Also, most full service hotels do not provide microwave in the rooms, but we do provide refrigerators upon request. Again, thank you for your post, we appreciate your honesty. All the best,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    379
    453
    227
    91
    33
See reviews for
208
253
36
539
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (388)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Burbank, California
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

We visited San Antonio in April to celebrate my wife's birthday, which coincided with Fiesta Days in San Antonio. We liked that the hotel was located right on the Riverwalk. From our room which was on one of the higher levels, we had a great view of the boats travelling along the river. We could also look out towards the downtown area. The hotel was a bit dated, however, the room was clean and spacious. It appeared that many companies use this hotel for their conferences and meetings. I would definitely stay here again, as the service was very good and all the employees we dealt with were very helpful. Especially helpful at the front desk was Felipe who took good care of us during our stay. And Warren, who assisted us with our luggage.

Room Tip: A high floor for great views of the Riverwalk and downtown San Antonio
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

My wife and I along with our two year old stayed here over the last weekend and used it as our base to explore San Antonio. The room wiht a blacony has an excellent view. The bed was comfortable and the room was very clean. THe hotel itself was well appointed and even had entrances to walk right onto the riverwalk and easy access to the Rivercenter mall. There is a ticket window right after you leave the hotel for one of the river cruise barges. They are a great way to explore the city.The location was also only a quick 20 minute drive to Seaworld. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Balcony facing the riverwalk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sshirley76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

Comfortable room, inviting lobby and friendly staff. The view of the river-walk and downtown was great. Convenience to the convention center and river walk restaurants can't be beat! Really enjoyed the balcony view of San Antonio and the wonderful sunset.
The room was smallish but clean and the amenities were first class. The bed was comfortable. The room service menu was interesting, included the usual hamburgers as well as a selection of Texmex choices. I highly recommend the fish tacos, fresh and large portions.
I appreciated the "can-do" attitude of the front desk staff and the housekeeping staff. At check-in I was assigned two double beds but really wanted a queen or king. The staff was willing and able to accommodate my request.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Anita171
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Duncan, South Carolina
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

The staff was super nice but the hotel needs an overhaul...at least the rooms. There were too many stains on furniture!! Also, The room was a little cramped because of the type of office chair chosen. It would not roll all the way under the desk!! One plus was the fitness room. Another was the speed of the valet parking service.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank FowlerBuzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick M, Guest Relations Manager at San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear FowlerBuzz,
Thank you for providing us your feedback of your recent visit. Good news! We have a rooms renovation scheduled to begin Fall of 2014. We are eagerly anticipating our new and beautiful rooms and we hope you will visit us again and let me know what you think. Thank you again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 June 2014

loved the view from my room.
you pay the price but relax and enjoy the stay.
Make sure to book in advance.
No complaints.
will stay again.
perfect hotel to stay and enjoy the trip to river-walk.
Alamo and all other attractions.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deep K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick M, Guest Relations Manager at San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear Deep K,
Thank you for your great review. I’m very pleased to know you enjoyed your visit so much. We look forward to your return visit to the beautiful River Walk.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

The Marriott San Antonio Riverwalk hotel is simple and elegant with their modern furnishings. The staff really sets the mark in regard to Customer Service and go above and beyond to ensure that their hotel guests needs are fully met. I really enjoy my stays at this hotel!

Room Tip: I must say that all the rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Glynis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
East Side
Hilton Palacio del Rio
Hilton Palacio del Rio
#13 of 355 in San Antonio
2,788 reviews
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#21 of 355 in San Antonio
2,947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Downtown
Grand Hyatt San Antonio
Grand Hyatt San Antonio
#20 of 355 in San Antonio
3,217 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#11 of 355 in San Antonio
3,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

Property: San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk
Address: 889 E Riverwalk, San Antonio, TX 78205-3915
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#17 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#43 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#78 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk 4*
Number of rooms: 512
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Hotel.de, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott San Antonio Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing