We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Karen at front desk”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk
Ranked #42 of 358 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Karen at front desk”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The location of this hotel is good, but the service is AMAZING! I had booked the wrong date for our stay. Karen at the front desk was professional and on top of helping us get a room at a sister property. The service from the valet, bell service and front desk can not be beat. We ended up across the street at Marriott Rivercenter.... Super clean and every employee went above and beyond to make sure our stay was perfect. I highly recommend the Marriott Brand.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KMLED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick M, Guest Relations Manager at San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk, responded to this review, 18 July 2014
Dear KMLED,
Thanks for such a great post. I’m delighted to hear you were so well taken care of at both the Rivercenter and the Riverwalk Marriott. We work very hard to welcome every guest and to create a home away from home. Thank you for allowing us to do that for you. I will be sure to let Karen know you were pleased with the service she provided you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,221 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    403
    461
    232
    92
    33
See reviews for
222
258
38
554
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (400)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We thought this place was great,good location,short walk to the Alamo and shops,bars and restaurants and right on the impressive riverwalk.Hotel is nice and staff friendly.Everthing seems to be on the doorstep.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JOHN P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pflugerville
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

Nice hotel. Great location. Front Desk personnel need some serious customer service training. You are definitely just a room number here. Will stay somewhere more attentive to customers next time I am in town.

Room Tip: 34 floor...great view of city
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick M, Guest Relations Manager at San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Brandy B,
Every guest is important to us, I’m very sorry you were made to feel otherwise. Please accept my sincere apology. We will continue to strive to ensure a warm, friendly greeting is the order of the day for everyone. Thank you for your candid feedback and we hope you will give us another opportunity to earn your trust.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Our stay at the Marriott Riverwalk was outstanding. Hotel was typical Marriott, but the staff was what set it apart from some others. Every single employee we interacted with treated us like we were VIP's and they were glad we stayed at their facility. The front desk staff welcomed us like family. Location is great and right on the River and their balcony rooms are the best. You can walk right out the door at the lower level and be right on the river walk. I understand they will refurbish next year and will be even better. Parking is expensive but it usually is around an tourist area like this.

Room Tip: The balcony rooms look out on the river walk and are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jimpoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick M, Guest Relations Manager at San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Jimpoo,
Thank you for your great review. I’m delighted you enjoyed your stay and that our wonderful staff welcomed you like family. Our staff is keenly trained to respond to cues to enable them to host you brilliantly. Thank you for letting me know how well they took care of you. Please come again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We had a room right over the Riverwalk at Christmas time! Absolutely beautiful vie of downtown and. Riverwalk. Shopping right across the street at Rivercenter Mall. Quiter rooms the further up you stay.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for Riverwalk location! With balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deanna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick M, Guest Relations Manager at San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Deanna H,
The River Walk at Christmas time is tough to beat. I’m glad you were able to enjoy such a spectacular sight! I hope you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We spent the weekend there this week and were disappointed with our stay. The room for the price you pay is not worth it. The room was either too hot or too cold we could not regulate the temperature. We had Sunday breakfast in their restaurant I had the buffet and it was OK, but my wife ordered eggs benedict and they screwed them up twice. First time under cooked and the second time over cooked. When you pay this kind of money you expect more. We did not receive this.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rested478
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick M, Guest Relations Manager at San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Rested478,
Please allow me to apologize for your displeasure with your stay. Our goal is to create the best hotel experience possible and we failed to create that for you. I understand your disappointment when you did not receive what you were expecting. Our staff will continue to strive to be the best possible hosts for everyone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This hotel is in a wonderful location. I asked the receptionist if we could upgrade to a balcony room and she said of course, so we did. We make it to our room, and it was wonderful, smelt clean, looked clean, and then we stepped outside to the balcony. Wonderful views we were able to sit outside for about 10 min when out of nowhere, the wonderful people above us decided to dump ashes and trash down.. i figured no big deal, well then we hear them say wheres the weed.. of course i think there joking.. absolutley not, for it was so strong. So we went down to the riverwalk to eat came back and sat outside (in hopes they were all done smoking) and then not even 2 min came by and they were smoking weed again ( i have 2 toddlers so its a big deal, cause they kept wanting to go outside), so i went down to let the receptionist know and he said he would take care of it and he thanked me for letting him know ( for i did not upgrade to a balcony view so i couldn't use it and just to tease my kids) long story short, the staff did not take care of it.. they smoked it all night it seemed like cause we tried till 12am to sit outside... i would reccommend this hotel to the people who love to smoke weed, because apparently its not illegal here :) so to the families with children CAUTION!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TJPJ09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick M, Guest Relations Manager at San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear TJPJ09,
Thank you for bringing to our attention the incident you experienced. We do not condone illegal activity of any kind, at any time. We have strict procedures in place that we must adhere to and it is obvious we didn’t follow procedure. Please accept our sincere apology. If you would like to discuss this further, please call the hotel main number and we would be happy to speak to you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Downtown
Grand Hyatt San Antonio
Grand Hyatt San Antonio
#18 of 358 in San Antonio
3,392 reviews
East Side
Hilton Palacio del Rio
Hilton Palacio del Rio
#13 of 358 in San Antonio
2,890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#20 of 358 in San Antonio
3,056 reviews
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
Hotel Contessa
#7 of 358 in San Antonio
3,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

Property: San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk
Address: 889 E Riverwalk, San Antonio, TX 78205-3915
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in San Antonio
#13 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#17 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#43 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#78 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk 4*
Number of rooms: 512
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott San Antonio Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing