We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding Stay at the Marriott Riverwalk” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk
Ranked #43 of 353 Hotels in San Antonio
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Outstanding Stay at the Marriott Riverwalk”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

Spent several days at the Marriott Riverwalk for our 49th anniversary. Our stay in terms of service and quality of our room was exceptional from check in to check out. The room overlooked the Riverwalk and downtown San Antonio providing outstanding views. The check in reception was very timely and will organized.

After checking into our room we went for a walk to view the local attractions and upon return to our room found that Marriott had provided complimentary fruits, cheese, and chocolate strawberries honoring our anniversary. Thank you Marriott for very kind and welcome services.

Our overall satisfaction with Marriott's facilities and service has been very good over the years and this particular experience was one of our finest moments.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ron D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick M, Guest Relations Manager at San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Ron D,
Thank you for your lovely review. I’m very pleased we had the honor to serve as your host for your 49th anniversary. Our staff is amazing and they truly take an interest in creating an outstanding hotel experience and it sounds like they came through for you. We appreciate your loyalty to Marriott and we look forward to hosting you again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,141 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    357
    438
    224
    89
    33
See reviews for
200
241
35
520
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (373)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
Level Contributor
130 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

This hotel is positioned beautifully on the riverwalk and if you are lucky to get a large room with a super large balcony overlooking the riverwalk as we did you will enjoy your stay. From the start, the staff, especially the valet, were friendly and professional. The room we had was overlarge and despite being near the elevator was quiet. The room and bathroom were clean. The bar a friendly place to meet. Having a Starbucks in the lobby is a great plus too. Room service was prompt. The weakest link in our stay was that the bathroom was large, there was not bathrobe and the towels were nearly threadbare. But overall we were happy and would go there again.

Room Tip: High floor because you can still hear the traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank florabella59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
42 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

I stay at this hotel as part of the Romance Writers of America national conference. The hotel staff were friendly and the food in the bar/restaurant was fabulous. The best thing was the bed was sooo comfortable. The room was quiet and faced away from the river walk so the view wasn't much to see which was fine since I was only in the room at night with the drapes closed.

Room Tip: If you want a view ask for the riverside. The higher the floor the less noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terri R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed here for a weekend trip to riverwalk. The location is very nice, close to everything around the riverwalk. Parking is probably a common disadvantage for a properties around this area, so you may need to look around for cheaper self parking locations.

The hotel staff was friendly, helped us find a room facing riverwalk. It gets noisy at night, but we enjoyed the view.

Tripadvisor says this hotel has free-wifi. When we stay there it was only free at the lobby. In-room wifi was priced around 11 bucks.

We can tell it's an older but generally well-kept hotel. The elevator took forever to come to your floor if you are going down. We always ended up taking elevators going up and wait until it goes back down to the lobby.

As long as the rate is right, we will stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeff L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Spent 5 nights at the Marriott Riverwalk hotel for a recent conference. Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful from valets to bell service. We had a room overlooking the river walk. The rooms however are in need of a redo. The carpet was very worn - furnishings were cumbersome - closet was small. The desk in the room was arranged so that if one person was using the desk, you could not walk between the desk and the bed, so we did some rearranging as this got annoying very quickly. The bed linens were nice but the pillows were all super soft so I needed to use 3 of them to get the height of one good pillow. Since the sister hotel - Marriott RiverCenter is right across the street and was the site of most of the conference activity - I would think Marriott would find a way to connect these two hotels so you did not have to go outside to get from one building to the other. Location is super convenient with direct access to the river walk.

Room Tip: Get a room on an upper floor as street noise can be loud.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenMat117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick M, Guest Relations Manager at San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear KarenMat117
Thank you for sharing your experience and comments regarding the staff. We take great pride ensuring our guests are provided with the best hotel experience possible. We are excited our upcoming rooms renovation scheduled to begin in September will address some of the challenges you shared. When your travels bring you back to our area following our renovation, I hope you will stay with us again; I’d like to know what you think of our new rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

I always love the marriott, they are always beautiful, friendly hotels and this one was great. The staff was warm and friendly. The rooms were nice and clean but a little on the older side. The toilet seat was very crooked and I had no hot water the first night. Other than that it is close to everything thing you want to see.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Margaret K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Providence, New Jersey
Level Contributor
44 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

I recently stayed here in late July for a convention. Hotel is conveniently located; staff is pretty nice. Rooms seemed a little shopworn (grout in bathroom tile looked suspiciously dark). The rugs and furniture seemed a little "lived in." However the bed was nice and my sleep quality was terrific. I hear they are renovating the rooms soon; they really need it. My balcony overlooked the River but it was so crummy on the balcony I just never ventured out. Overall, I would only stay here again if it was for business and my company was paying.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JenEndyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Patrick M, Guest Relations Manager at San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear JenEndyB,
I’m sorry to hear you didn’t feel comfortable venturing out to the balcony. Our balcony rooms are very popular and often requested. We are anxiously awaiting our rooms renovation to begin for a brand new look. If business or pleasure bring you back to San Antonio after the renovation is complete, I hope you will stay with us again; I’d like to know what you think of our new rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Antonio hotels
Downtown
Grand Hyatt San Antonio
Grand Hyatt San Antonio
#19 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,023 reviews
East Side
Hilton Palacio del Rio
Hilton Palacio del Rio
#14 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,632 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
East Side
The Westin Riverwalk, San Antonio
East Side
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
Hyatt Regency San Antonio
#20 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,789 reviews
Hotel Contessa
#10 of 353 in San Antonio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk

Property: San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk
Address: 889 E Riverwalk, San Antonio, TX 78205-3915
Region: United States > Texas > San Antonio > East Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Spa Hotel in San Antonio
#17 Luxury Hotel in San Antonio
#43 Romantic Hotel in San Antonio
#78 Business Hotel in San Antonio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk 4*
Number of rooms: 512
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott San Antonio Riverwalk Hotel San Antonio
San Antonio Marriott Riverwalk Texas

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing